Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    235

    Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Check out my Audiogon review of the Townshend Platforms.

    Townshend Seismic Isolation Podium Platform Review: | Audiogon Discussion Forum

    ozzy

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    408

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I'm sure the relative performance of the Townsend Seismic Platform and Gaia footers depends largely on the floor they are isolating the speakers from. You don't mention what your floor is made from in the review. This would be very helpful to any readers who may be considering this platform
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    235

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    The Floor is concrete with a thin carpet over it. You can also check out my system on the Members Systems page.

    ozzy

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The Land Downunder
    Posts
    230

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    I'm sure the relative performance of the Townsend Seismic Platform and Gaia footers depends largely on the floor they are isolating the speakers from. You don't mention what your floor is made from in the review. This would be very helpful to any readers who may be considering this platform
    Having experimented with springs tempered to the weight of my speakers at 80 kg & also having tried the Townsend Seismic Bars on both wooden & carpet covered concrete floors I can advise your assumption is not correct. Using springs made a significant improvement to the sound top to bottom similar to that experienced by Ozzy. In our experiments we were able to place a wooden "chock" under the speakers to negate the spring's effectiveness in a matter of seconds allowing for genuine comparisons of with & without springs.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I agree with all of the observations Ozzy made in his review. I use custom sized podiums for my BeoLab 5 speakers and the positive differences across base, midrange and high frequencies are evidently clear: especially bass and midrange lock in beautifully.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    birmingham uk
    Posts
    583

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    i had townshend stella under my martin logan summit X . it made a HUGE improvement to the bass and overall sound

    003 by , on Flickr
    1]bel canto pre 3 vbs / F5 monoblocks . BC cd2, modright modded jolida dac tannoy eaton legacy 2]bel canto c5i pre ,arcam a85 , black ice modded dac
    modded dac , marantz sa8005, reference fidelity impulse Ta`us horns

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    106

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I can also attest that on my Meridian DSP8000SE speakers the Townshend Seismic platform does a profound difference to the clarity across all frequencies. Highly endorsed.

    Also no contest against other brands/platforms. These isolate the best from the floor. Have had wooden floor and now. Carpet/concrete.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Greenville SC
    Posts
    537

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Great review, Ozzy!

    I can also vouch for the absolute and amazing effectiveness with a huge return on investment using the podiums under my near 300-pound Legacy Valor. The effects in total frequency range, 12 Hz - 35 kHz improvement, imaging and rendering of total space is well beyond my best hopes.

    Incredibly effective and like one post above, readily verifiable through simple tests.

    Two Legacy Aeris customers and 1 Whisper XDS report the same. Additionally, a Magico M6 and an MBL Extreme user I consulted prior to purchase said the same.

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk
    Legacy Audio VALOR with Wavelet V2, Legacy i.V4 ULTRA 4ch amp, HDPlex 300W LPSU, RevAudio Labs Passage Cryo-silver DC Umbilical,Ghent Audio DC Umbilical, Esoteric Grandioso P1 & D1s, Cybershaft Premium Ltd Type2 OP21A 10 MHz Clock, Esoteric C-02X Preamp, SHUNYATA TRITON v3, TYPHON QR & ALTAIRA SG hub & cables, AfterBurner8 duplexes, CSP Inc Q4B, S2B IEC support plates, Shunyata OMEGA CLOCK-50s, AQ Firebird 48 HDMIs, Elrod Master Series Diamond & Masters Series Statement Gold Power cords, Elrod Statement Gold XLRs, Diamond XLRs & Master Diamond XLRs, Shunyata OMEGA QR-s power cable, Shunyata Anaconda Z-tron XLR, Elrod Statement Gold speaker cables, Adona AV45CS3, AV45CS2 & AV45CS1 and Multi-Element platforms, Composite Audio CF-2010, HRS DPX Damping Plates, Stillpoints Ultra SS w/Ultra Bases

    Audio/Rip Travel Setup: Apple MacBook Pro 15” 2019, 6-core i9, 32 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Audirvana+ v3, iTunes, REW for MacOS, dbPowerAmp, DVD Audio Extractor

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Townshend Seismic Platform Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •