Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    323

    Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Check out my Audiogon review of the Townshend Platforms.

    Townshend Seismic Isolation Podium Platform Review: | Audiogon Discussion Forum

    ozzy

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    541

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I'm sure the relative performance of the Townsend Seismic Platform and Gaia footers depends largely on the floor they are isolating the speakers from. You don't mention what your floor is made from in the review. This would be very helpful to any readers who may be considering this platform
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    323

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    The Floor is concrete with a thin carpet over it. You can also check out my system on the Members Systems page.

    ozzy

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The Land Downunder
    Posts
    230

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    I'm sure the relative performance of the Townsend Seismic Platform and Gaia footers depends largely on the floor they are isolating the speakers from. You don't mention what your floor is made from in the review. This would be very helpful to any readers who may be considering this platform
    Having experimented with springs tempered to the weight of my speakers at 80 kg & also having tried the Townsend Seismic Bars on both wooden & carpet covered concrete floors I can advise your assumption is not correct. Using springs made a significant improvement to the sound top to bottom similar to that experienced by Ozzy. In our experiments we were able to place a wooden "chock" under the speakers to negate the spring's effectiveness in a matter of seconds allowing for genuine comparisons of with & without springs.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I agree with all of the observations Ozzy made in his review. I use custom sized podiums for my BeoLab 5 speakers and the positive differences across base, midrange and high frequencies are evidently clear: especially bass and midrange lock in beautifully.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    birmingham uk
    Posts
    586

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    i had townshend stella under my martin logan summit X . it made a HUGE improvement to the bass and overall sound

    003 by , on Flickr
    1]bel canto EIX/ F5 monoblocks . BC cd2, tannoy eaton legacy 2]bel canto pre 5 ,arcam a85 , black ice modded dac
    modded dac , marantz sa8005, Verity audio Rienzi

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    111

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I can also attest that on my Meridian DSP8000SE speakers the Townshend Seismic platform does a profound difference to the clarity across all frequencies. Highly endorsed.

    Also no contest against other brands/platforms. These isolate the best from the floor. Have had wooden floor and now. Carpet/concrete.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Greenville SC
    Posts
    691

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Great review, Ozzy!

    I can also vouch for the absolute and amazing effectiveness with a huge return on investment using the podiums under my near 300-pound Legacy Valor. The effects in total frequency range, 12 Hz - 35 kHz improvement, imaging and rendering of total space is well beyond my best hopes.

    Incredibly effective and like one post above, readily verifiable through simple tests.

    Two Legacy Aeris customers and 1 Whisper XDS report the same. Additionally, a Magico M6 and an MBL Extreme user I consulted prior to purchase said the same.

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk
    Legacy Audio Valor+Wavelet v2, Esoteric S-02 Amps HDPlex 300W, RevAudio Labs DC Umbilical, Esoteric Grandioso P1, P1PSU & dual D1 DACs, Cybershaft Prem Ltd OP21A 10 MHz Clock, Esoteric C-02X, Shunyata Everest 8000 & Altaira SG-NR hubs, Sigma SGC/CGC ground cables, VTX-Ag ground tails, AfterBurner8 duplexes, CSP Inc Q4B, S2B IEC plates, Shunyata Omega CLOCK-50 cables, Tubulus Concentus HDMI, Elrod Master Series Diamond SE & Masters Series Gold Power cords and Statement Gold XLRs, Diamond XLRs & Master Series Diamond XLRs, Shunyata OMEGA QR-s power cable, Anaconda Z-tron XLR, Elrod Statement Gold speaker cables, Adona Zero GX3, GX2, GX racks, Composite Audio CF-2010, Townshend Audio Podiums, HRS DPX Damping Plates, Stillpoints Ultra SS w/Ultra Bases, pArtScience 64-well, 2D QRD 3-inch SpaceArray Diffusors

    Travel/Rip: Apple MacBook Pro 16” 2023 M2 Max, 12-core CPU, 38-core GPU, 32 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD for Audirvana+ v3, iTunes, REW Audio Analyzer, dbPowerAmp, DVD Audio Extractor

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Nice read. I was always curious about these.

    I have Magico Q3s weighing about 120kg a piece so I wonder how on earth I could get them on there without breaking myself or scratching / damaging the podiums.

    And I see that at this weight it's just on the border of the E and F load capacity, so which one's best?

    Does anyone have any tips?

    Thanks!
    Vitus Audio MP-L201 or Zanden 3100 with Soulution 511 / Grimm-audio MU1 music server with Roon core / Magico Q3 loudspeakers / Esoteric K-03XD SACD player / Kimber Kable Select KS6063 speaker cables / Ansuz A2 Digitalz interlink / Kimber KS1136 XLR analog interlinks / Nordost QB8 powerblock & 2x Qv2 / Kimber Kable PK10 Gold power cables / Bassocontinuo Accordeon XL4 MC Edition audiorack
    Soon for sale: Marantz TT1000 mkII turntable with SME V-series magnesium tonearm + Goldring Excel cartridge with van den Hul tip

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    37

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Hi, they will customize it to your speaker weight. I got the podium pair done to support my Rockport Avior which weigh 100 kg each!
    Just call them
    Cheers
    Sujay

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Auburn, Washington USA
    Posts
    418

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Quote Originally Posted by pietpara View Post
    Nice read. I was always curious about these.

    I have Magico Q3s weighing about 120kg a piece so I wonder how on earth I could get them on there without breaking myself or scratching / damaging the podiums.

    And I see that at this weight it's just on the border of the E and F load capacity, so which one's best?

    Does anyone have any tips?

    Thanks!
    It was demonstrated to me by Peter MacKay of Magico when he was kind enough to fine tune by A3's in my room that the sealed aluminum speaker of Magico should not be anchored or isolated like wood or other types of speakers. The energy form the cabinets need to travel to the floor by the included spikes or Apods. I was using Giai II under them at that time. So, I would not consider going to a platform. What are you trying to solve from your speakers?
    Speakers: Magico S3 (23')
    Integrated:Gryphon Diablo 300 plus DAC
    Streamer: HiFi Rose RS150b
    CD/DVD: Oppo 205
    Cables: Cardas-Shunyata-AudioQuest-Supra
    Roon Core: sonicTransporter i7 powered with HDPlex 200w linear PS, running AudioLinux for Roon--Tidal and Qobuz with iPad Pro

    Time is just a tool humans created to measure movement and record events

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Thanks guys,

    I also heard about Magico saying that Magico's best being coupled to the floor.
    I had my doubts created for a couple of reasons.
    One is that Magico themselves sell Apods or Mpods etc. which do some coupling magic, so they might just say that so there's more chance you'll buy their solution. Aka marketing.
    Secondly, I heard many good things about all kinds of solutions other than spikes, like the iso-acoustics and Townshend. Also from people with Magico's.
    Thirdly, and maybe the foremost reason, when I just installed the Q3s they were still on wheels, so somewhat higher and not anchored to the floor like a spike would. I expected that the SQ would improve when I'd place then on the spikes. But the contrary was true, was my impression. The stereo image reduced, especially loosing on height of the stage and I experienced no improvement in the lower end, for example.
    So that made me wonder... should I just raise the speakers again or buy Apods or something similar. I find the Apods disproportionately expensive here in Europe (€5500) which I'm not willing to pay without being able to try them out (and dealer here don't do home demoes).
    So, looking for more affordable solutions came to mind and Townshend has very good reviews.
    Whence my interest here.
    I'm also still wondering if a more simpel large block of granite would be what I seek.

    (My floor is wood on concrete, btw)

    Cheers!
    Vitus Audio MP-L201 or Zanden 3100 with Soulution 511 / Grimm-audio MU1 music server with Roon core / Magico Q3 loudspeakers / Esoteric K-03XD SACD player / Kimber Kable Select KS6063 speaker cables / Ansuz A2 Digitalz interlink / Kimber KS1136 XLR analog interlinks / Nordost QB8 powerblock & 2x Qv2 / Kimber Kable PK10 Gold power cables / Bassocontinuo Accordeon XL4 MC Edition audiorack
    Soon for sale: Marantz TT1000 mkII turntable with SME V-series magnesium tonearm + Goldring Excel cartridge with van den Hul tip

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Auburn, Washington USA
    Posts
    418

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    When I bought the A3's I used the included spikes. And a month later the Apods were available from Magico. At that time they sold for $1500 for the eight. My first thought was is Magico just now coming out with these to make more money? So, I did some research and the Giai II were available for 1/2 the price. No one had any reports as to which performed better. I went cheap and got the Giai II. Used them until Peter setup my speaker with them and then we removed the Giai II and went back to the spikes. The sound and sound stage just anchored itself. I then bought the Apods for the A3's and noticed a noticeable improvement. Again the energy from a sealed aluminum speaker like a Magico needs to send the energy to the floor.
    Speakers: Magico S3 (23')
    Integrated:Gryphon Diablo 300 plus DAC
    Streamer: HiFi Rose RS150b
    CD/DVD: Oppo 205
    Cables: Cardas-Shunyata-AudioQuest-Supra
    Roon Core: sonicTransporter i7 powered with HDPlex 200w linear PS, running AudioLinux for Roon--Tidal and Qobuz with iPad Pro

    Time is just a tool humans created to measure movement and record events

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2024
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Quote Originally Posted by swedegoingwest View Post
    I agree with all of the observations Ozzy made in his review. I use custom sized podiums for my BeoLab 5 speakers and the positive differences across base, midrange and high frequencies are evidently clear: especially bass and midrange lock in beautifully.
    What is the size of podiums that you use for the BeoLab 5?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Greenville SC
    Posts
    691

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    Quote Originally Posted by pietpara View Post
    Nice read. I was always curious about these.

    I have Magico Q3s weighing about 120kg a piece so I wonder how on earth I could get them on there without breaking myself or scratching / damaging the podiums.

    And I see that at this weight it's just on the border of the E and F load capacity, so which one's best?

    Does anyone have any tips?

    Thanks!
    With a good friend and some calm planning, I was able to readily get a pair of Legacy Valor (mine as built are 298 lbs each) on Townshend podiums. If you go this route, feel free to write me; happy to explain the methods used on a short call.

    If your speakers are at the top of load rating for category E, then I suggest the next category up.

    Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk
    Legacy Audio Valor+Wavelet v2, Esoteric S-02 Amps HDPlex 300W, RevAudio Labs DC Umbilical, Esoteric Grandioso P1, P1PSU & dual D1 DACs, Cybershaft Prem Ltd OP21A 10 MHz Clock, Esoteric C-02X, Shunyata Everest 8000 & Altaira SG-NR hubs, Sigma SGC/CGC ground cables, VTX-Ag ground tails, AfterBurner8 duplexes, CSP Inc Q4B, S2B IEC plates, Shunyata Omega CLOCK-50 cables, Tubulus Concentus HDMI, Elrod Master Series Diamond SE & Masters Series Gold Power cords and Statement Gold XLRs, Diamond XLRs & Master Series Diamond XLRs, Shunyata OMEGA QR-s power cable, Anaconda Z-tron XLR, Elrod Statement Gold speaker cables, Adona Zero GX3, GX2, GX racks, Composite Audio CF-2010, Townshend Audio Podiums, HRS DPX Damping Plates, Stillpoints Ultra SS w/Ultra Bases, pArtScience 64-well, 2D QRD 3-inch SpaceArray Diffusors

    Travel/Rip: Apple MacBook Pro 16” 2023 M2 Max, 12-core CPU, 38-core GPU, 32 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD for Audirvana+ v3, iTunes, REW Audio Analyzer, dbPowerAmp, DVD Audio Extractor

  16. #16

    Re: Townshend Seismic Platform Review

    I have my 100 lb. speakers on Townshend Podiums. They are on a second story carpeted suspended wood floor. Needles to say I consider them an essential component since they cleaned up some bass resonance frequencies transmitted by the floor. Improvements were a better soundstage, imaging and elimination of some ugly bass nodes. I bought some one inch adhesive floor sliders and attached them to speakers so I could fine tune their placement on the Podiums without damaging / scratching the Podiums.

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Townshend Seismic Platform Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •