Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    mauidan
    Guest

  2. #2

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    Thanks for posting this review. Greatly appreciated!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,494

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    Welcome to the forum Mercman, thank you for joining.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Luxman 590AX Mark II, Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2, Misho Myronov Wooden pre.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), First Watt F7, Job 250 Monos, Valvet E2se, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, Audio Mirror Tubadour III NOS R2R Tube Dac w/ SE upgrades.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,899

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    Wow, quite a review. I really respect the quality of Hi-Fi News' reviews. It sounds like the Alexia 2 basically closed to nearly eliminated the gap between the Alexia and Alexx. I heard the Alexia 2 at RMAF last October on the Nagra HD system and I was quite impressed. It was one of the best sounding rooms at the show. I preferred it to the Alexx system I heard at Axpona with the DCS stack and two pairs of bi-amped D'Agostino M-400's. I've historically not been a big Wilson fan but the Nagra/Alexia 2 system made me rethink my position.

    Best,
    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases, Femto 33 Clock, Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  5. #5

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    By the way, Jose Victor Henriques is a Portuguese reviewer.
    He has is own blog

    http://www.hificlube.net

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    613

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review


  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    613

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review


  8. #8
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    26,060

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    Apologies if this one was already posted....

    https://positive-feedback.com/review...-loudspeakers/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, TechDAS/AirForce Turntables, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    134

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review


  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    443

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by TechnicalPie View Post
    TechnicalPie thanks for the video. I've heard the Alexia 2 on a friend's system who is a member here at AS. It is an excellent speaker - great sound stage, musical, and very involving. I'm going back soon to listen to it again. Wilson Audio is a good and respected brand.
    Sincerely,


    Joe

    “Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." – William Bruce Cameron

    Amps: Pass X260.8s *** Pre-Amp: Pass XP22 *** Headphone Amp: Pass HPA-1 *** Speakers: Magico A3’s *** Magico A3 Grills *** Headphones: Focal Utopia *** Digital: Luxman D-08u SACD *** Aurender ACS10 CD Ripper & N100 Streamer *** Power: Shunyata Hydra Alpha A12 Power Conditioner *** AQ NRG Edison 20 *** Cables: Shunyata *** Rack: Bamboo SVT Quadrasphire *** Accessories: Herbie's Audio Lab Giant Titanium Cone Decoupling Gliders *** Russ Andrews Cable Elevators

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    zürich
    Posts
    362

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    this speaker is pure enjoyment. happyness. final destination!!
    nagra cd & tube dac with psu , audionet humboldt, alexia2,
    odin, hms definitiva, padoge reference, harmonix
    office: hp envy, marantz pm10, wilson tunetot

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    zürich
    Posts
    362

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    thx for all the likes. surprises me as there is basicly no wilsson coments here at audioshark for a year or two.

    i dont own the alexia for a long time already, but know them well since release. 2 close friends own them, at my dealer i could try them with all kind of amps such as ar, dag, t&a, pass...heard them at shows in different configurations/room. cut the long story short, i always liked them but couldnt afford. in europe 70k euro vs 56k dollars in usa. now you can find periodically 2nd hands for 35k.
    thats what makes the alexia2 really interesting.

    alexia1 in 2013, series 2 in 2017.....can we expect series3 next year?
    nagra cd & tube dac with psu , audionet humboldt, alexia2,
    odin, hms definitiva, padoge reference, harmonix
    office: hp envy, marantz pm10, wilson tunetot

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    WA, USA
    Posts
    346

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    You have a great system. And that Humboldt is one of the best integrated amplifiers in the world to drive the Alexia.
    Caelin Gabriel
    President
    Shunyata Research

    http://shunyata.com

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    I just sold my Alexias. Mine were the original series which I owned for 5 plus years. A wonderfully musical transducer.

    I went in a different direction with my new speakers; however, the Alexia 2s are fantastic. Terrific matching with D’Agostino and Constellation. Have not heard them with Audionet but that is a top line of electronics.
    _______________

    Mike

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    zürich
    Posts
    362

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    yes, a lot of incredible products around us. i have followed your mbl way. madness!
    to me the alexias sound better with the humboldt than any other amplification i have heard the with. i wonder whether i suffer from too much subjectivity. my alexia-friends will come over soon to verify
    nagra cd & tube dac with psu , audionet humboldt, alexia2,
    odin, hms definitiva, padoge reference, harmonix
    office: hp envy, marantz pm10, wilson tunetot

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    All that matters is that you are happy! And, you have a top tier system. Enjoy the music!
    _______________

    Mike

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,867

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritmo View Post
    All that matters is that you are happy! And, you have a top tier system. Enjoy the music!
    +1


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Source Analog: Kuzma Stabi R with 4point 11 arm & Kuzma 50 Cartridge
    Source Digital: Aurender N10 | Brinkmann Nyquist MK II
    Amplification: Dan D’Agostino Momentum Pre Amp and Monos | Boulder Phono 508
    Speakers: Wilson Alexias
    Cabling: Nordost Valhalla 2/Odin: power, interconnects & speaker | Ansuz: C2 power & interconnect | Audioquest Diamond RJ45’s
    Power: Nordost QRT series | CAD GC1 | Furutech FP55SN cable from 20 amp breakers to Furutech GTX D NSF packages | Keces P3 & P8 | ADD POWR full series | Environmental Potential EP2050
    Other: HRS M3X | Stillpoints Ultra 6, SS & Mini | Nordost Sort Cones TC & BC | AQ Vox SE switch | etherREGEN | Gigafoil v4 | Vicoustics | Audio Desk Systeme - Gläss








  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    426

    Re: Alexia Series 2 Review

    I never heard the Alexias , but are sure they are great. Have only heard Sabrina - Yvette - Sasha 2 , which all are great. For me it would be realistic with Sabrina at some point maybe even Yvette.
    Flemming

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Alexia Series 2 Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •