Do you prefer SS or tube? Why?

I'm a newb getting back into high end audio after a 40+ year hiatus. Just wondered if there's a clear cut favorite? I'm especially interested to hear why one is chosen over the other.

Are tube amps generally considered superior or do they just sound different? It seems to me that high end audiophiles prefer tubes. But I've also read that there have been many improvements to SS amps making them the relative equals of tube amps.

For pure sound enjoyment, I prefer all tubes in my amp and preamp. I usually default to a tube preamp and solid state amp for convenience. Tubes require more maintenance but some of the newer or more advanced tube gear have protections built in for aging and failing tubes.

Tubes are a little sweeter and can have a little more air and three dimension. Solid state is usually rock solid reliable. If you are a set and forget kind of guy, solid state is easier to use. Every amp and preamp sounds a little different and depending on speakers, you need to pick what sounds best to you.

Like Joe I would prefer all tubes but in the end the heat from higher powered tube amps is too much so I end up with tube pre-amps and SS or Hybrid amps.

All tubes. But admittedly, solid state today is kicking ass and taking names.

I guess I still find tubes still win out for ultimate organic sound.

Love tubes on my guitar amp too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Going from SS to tubes at the moment, enjoy tweaking the sound characteristics by rolling tubes, different flavors from the same amp! As has been said, many circuits are designed to minimize wear on the tubes so they can last a long time.

Forgot to mention I use both tube and SS preamps for recording. I use the tube pre (Universal LA610) for vocals and bass and I use a SS pre (Millennia HV-3C) that's specifically designed for acoustic instruments) for acoustic guitar, banjo, and mandolin.