Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,369

    Magico M6 Review

    https://www.magico.net/images/Review...oBEDkB-TmquW2w

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    I think the M6 is the best speaker Magico has made so far.

    After I heard them in Munich, I was ready to leave the show, because anything I heard afterwards became a bit so what.

    I like how Alan Sircom puts it: The usual test-track listing just becomes a collection of music you played during your most recent listening session [because the M6 plays everything very well].

    There’s also a nice jab at the end, that this a high end loudspeaker which does not need to look like an oil rig to play well. The design is great, not always a given even within the core family.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Brinkmann Edison mk2 phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist mk2/ Audionet Humboldt/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,044

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    200,000 gbp = $279,000 usd.
    Speakers: Magico M3, Q3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and YG Acoustics Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair)

    On the wish list: Esoteric Grandioso D1X. Shunyata Research Everest.

  4. #4

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Here is an incredible video of an M6 system in the US. Soulution electronics + DCS + Synergistic Research cabling.

    Even on a good pair of headphones sounds incredible.

    MAGICO M6 SPEAKERS + SOULUTION 701 MONO's + SOULUTION 725 PRE + SYNERGISTIC RESEARCH SRX - YouTube

    Jay has his work cut out for him :-)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,044

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    I think that owner found the end of the rabbit hole. Half his luck, many don't get there.
    Speakers: Magico M3, Q3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and YG Acoustics Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair)

    On the wish list: Esoteric Grandioso D1X. Shunyata Research Everest.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    147

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by brodricj View Post
    200,000 gbp = $279,000 usd.
    You can save some coin - there's a pair on Audiogon!
    Christian

    south: Mark Levinson No. 52 pre, Bricasti M28 amps, Lumin A1, Oppo BDP-205, Pioneer CT-43, Sony SS-AR1 Speakers, Audioquest Dragon PCs, Audioquest speaker cables, Iconoclast OCC interconnects, HB Power Design Powerslave Star Galaxy power distributor

    north: Marantz PM-10, Marantz SA-10, Lumin X1, Sony TC-KA3ES, Harbeth 40.2, Iconoclast OCC interconnects, Audioquest speaker cables, Furutech Nanoflux NCF power cables

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,044

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    There was a pair in Australia that sold for much much less than that, in a deceased estate. Unfortunately I didn't learn of it until after the fact.
    Speakers: Magico M3, Q3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and YG Acoustics Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair)

    On the wish list: Esoteric Grandioso D1X. Shunyata Research Everest.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    111

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    magico m6 is like big foot... you hear about it everywhere, but how many of you all have actually seen it in person??? not many...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    111

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by mdp632 View Post
    Here is an incredible video of an M6 system in the US. Soulution electronics + DCS + Synergistic Research cabling.

    Even on a good pair of headphones sounds incredible.

    MAGICO M6 SPEAKERS + SOULUTION 701 MONO's + SOULUTION 725 PRE + SYNERGISTIC RESEARCH SRX - YouTube

    Jay has his work cut out for him :-)
    I agree it sounds great, but there is something about soulution that just doesnt seem to grab me. Maybe i need to actually own it to really understand its strengths.
    One of the questionable things about soulution is the reliability... not the best in the industry..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,172

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay's Audio Lab View Post
    magico m6 is like big foot... you hear about it everywhere, but how many of you all have actually seen it in person??? not many...
    I spent two days auditioning it.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    111

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpinist View Post
    I spent two days auditioning it.

    Ken
    and you didn't buy it?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    459

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by mdp632 View Post
    Here is an incredible video of an M6 system in the US. Soulution electronics + DCS + Synergistic Research cabling.

    Even on a good pair of headphones sounds incredible.

    MAGICO M6 SPEAKERS + SOULUTION 701 MONO's + SOULUTION 725 PRE + SYNERGISTIC RESEARCH SRX - YouTube

    Jay has his work cut out for him :-)
    They never play a simply string quartet or concerto. That would be more revealing through these videos, IMO. I will say there is a lot going on in that video.
    Link to my system thread: https://www.whatsbestforum.com/threa...l-sound.32867/
    Analog: Micro Seiki SX 8000 II, 2 NOS SME 3012R tonearms, 2 vdH Colibri Grand Cru, Colibri XPP
    Electronics: Lamm LP2.1 Deluxe, Lamm LL1.1 Signature, Lamm ML2
    Speakers: Vitavox CN-191 corner horns
    Cables: Stock SME phono cables, DIY ICs and speaker cables, Ching Cheng power cords, custom rack and amp stands

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,172

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay's Audio Lab View Post
    and you didn't buy it?
    The M6’s are wonderful speakers. Super transparent, robust bass and maybe the best imaging I’ve ever heard. Plus they can really scale. We’re talking about reproducing a symphony at full concert levels. After looking and listening to them for two days, I came to the conclusion that they would both visually and acoustically overwhelm my listening room. The Vandersteen 7 Mk2’s are a much better fit for my room plus I really love their organic presentation.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,044

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    And about $100K cheaper too.
    Speakers: Magico M3, Q3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and YG Acoustics Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair)

    On the wish list: Esoteric Grandioso D1X. Shunyata Research Everest.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,172

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by brodricj View Post
    And about $100K cheaper too.
    And there’s always that little detail.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  16. #16

    Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay's Audio Lab View Post
    magico m6 is like big foot... you hear about it everywhere, but how many of you all have actually seen it in person??? not many...
    You appear to be quite full of yourself IMHO. Heard them at Munich High-End, before you did btw.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Brinkmann Edison mk2 phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist mk2/ Audionet Humboldt/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,748

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay's Audio Lab View Post
    magico m6 is like big foot... you hear about it everywhere, but how many of you all have actually seen it in person??? not many...
    Chk ....! Been there ....

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    111

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Kuoppis View Post
    You appear to be quite full of yourself IMHO. Heard them at Munich High-End, before you did btw.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    I guess what I said came out the wrong way. I was simply trying to say that the M6 isn't everywhere. It isn't a speaker that most dealers have on the floor. Most people have to wait for a show to hear them and see them. That's what I mean.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,748

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Kuoppis View Post



    After I heard them in Munich, I was ready to leave the show, because anything I heard afterwards became a bit so what.

    Irony

    u appear to be quite full of yourself IMHO.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Hahaha

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,748

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay's Audio Lab View Post
    I guess what I said came out the wrong way. I was simply trying to say that the M6 isn't everywhere. It isn't a speaker that most dealers have on the floor. Most people have to wait for a show to hear them and see them. That's what I mean.
    Jay ..,

    Why M6 over WA or an MBL for eg , what about the M6 makes them stand out at the pointy end to you ..?


    Regards

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    111

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    M6 was a curiosity on my end. I chase what becomes available to me. I also was oversaturated with Wilson Audio sound. It was time to hear something else. I also don't feel that mbl is the speaker to review gear with due to their inefficiency. I needed a speaker that wasn't too easy or to hard to drive. Today it is the M6 and then next week i could be with another wilson.
    Right now, as of today, i am curious about the XLF and the von schikert ultra 9. That said, that level of speaker requires the same level of attention as my M6.
    One thing i can say right now is that the M6 needs premium fuel. If you take shortcuts, it will make you pay for them.

  22. #22

    Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay's Audio Lab View Post
    I guess what I said came out the wrong way. I was simply trying to say that the M6 isn't everywhere. It isn't a speaker that most dealers have on the floor. Most people have to wait for a show to hear them and see them. That's what I mean.
    Sure, that sounds different Magico M6 Review.

    And agree, it’s a very expensive high-end speaker, unlikely to be ordered in bulk just to collect dust at audio dealers.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Brinkmann Edison mk2 phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist mk2/ Audionet Humboldt/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Magico M6 Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •