Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    2,028

    Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    343

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Hi Peter, thanks for the link, I have a question. I want to buy the X1 power supply for my A1, as I see the cable that connects the inputs are different, that is A1 has an 8-pin input and the 9-pin X1 source, in this case how will the connection be? Thank you very much.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    2,028

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    If purchased as an upgrade for S1 / A1 / T1 / U1, the X1 power supply upgrade package comes with a special DC cable meant for S1 / A1 / T1 / U1.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  4. #4
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    26,051

    Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Congrats Lumin!! Nice review. Woot!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, TechDAS/AirForce Turntables, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    343

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by wklie View Post
    If purchased as an upgrade for S1 / A1 / T1 / U1, the X1 power supply upgrade package comes with a special DC cable meant for S1 / A1 / T1 / U1.

    Perfect. Thanks Peter

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,432

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    I used an X1 power supply on my S1 for 2-3 months, and it was a great upgrade. Made the S1 sound even better. Then I bought the X1, and it was an even better upgrade.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for preamp, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    343

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    I used an X1 power supply on my S1 for 2-3 months, and it was a great upgrade. Made the S1 sound even better. Then I bought the X1, and it was an even better upgrade.

    Thanks for commenting BlueFox, I read a lot about the power supply of X1, so I decided to make this purchase.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Yet another very positive review of the Lumin X1. I concur, it is a terrific unit.
    _______________

    Mike

  9. #9

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Only issue I have with that review is that they only really listened to female artists, and one King Crimson track that sounded so so, I'd have preferred it if they'd listened to a wider range of material and genres.

    I suppose that's why we hear so much of the same music at hifi shows, it's one the easiest to get right.

    PS: I still like the Lumin kit and if I could afford one I would buy one Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    343

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyb View Post
    Only issue I have with that review is that they only really listened to female artists, and one King Crimson track that sounded so so, I'd have preferred it if they'd listened to a wider range of material and genres.

    I suppose that's why we hear so much of the same music at hifi shows, it's one the easiest to get right.

    PS: I still like the Lumin kit and if I could afford one I would buy one Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Thank you for your comment, I am already sure that I want the power supply of the X1, my only problem is to bring to Argentina, because there is no official distributor of Lumin (for now)

  11. #11

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by Andik777 View Post
    Thank you for your comment, I am already sure that I want the power supply of the X1, my only problem is to bring to Argentina, because there is no official distributor of Lumin (for now)
    Good luck in your quest.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    I have compared the X1 with other DACs costing 2 to 3 times more. The Lumin X1 does very well.
    _______________

    Mike

  13. #13

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritmo View Post
    I have compared the X1 with other DACs costing 2 to 3 times more. The Lumin X1 does very well.
    Are you able to comment on which dacs you compared the X1 with, and your impressions of how they compared?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Sure, at my home MSB and Esoteric. At dealer, the same MSB and a Lampi. The MSB bested the X1 but it was not a night a day difference and it was much more expensive.

    Ultimately, I decided to buy the X1 based on sound, ease to setup and use, looks, support and cost. Yes, one can do better but it would cost a heck of a lot more.
    _______________

    Mike

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,432

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritmo View Post
    Sure, at my home MSB and Esoteric. At dealer, the same MSB and a Lampi. The MSB bested the X1 but it was not a night a day difference and it was much more expensive.

    Ultimately, I decided to buy the X1 based on sound, ease to setup and use, looks, support and cost. Yes, one can do better but it would cost a heck of a lot more.
    Thatís good information. Thanks.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for preamp, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    532

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritmo View Post
    Sure, at my home MSB and Esoteric. At dealer, the same MSB and a Lampi. The MSB bested the X1 but it was not a night a day difference and it was much more expensive.

    Ultimately, I decided to buy the X1 based on sound, ease to setup and use, looks, support and cost. Yes, one can do better but it would cost a heck of a lot more.
    Mike, which MSB and which Esoteric?

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

    MSB Premier, Lampi Pacific, Esoteric K-05, Lumin S1 and X1. My favorites of that group were the MSB Premier and Lumin X1.
    _______________

    Mike

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Lumin X1 - Audiophile Style review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •