Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,198

    Stereophile Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Larry Greenhill of Stereophile just did a follow-up review of the Revel Salon 2, eleven years after his original review. To cut to the chase, the Salon 2 remains his reference loudspeaker.

    The Salon 2 has withstood the test of time as well as almost any speakers I can think of. Brilliant design!

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,422

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    The Salon2/Studio2 speakers, IMHO, are absolutely worth every penny and continue to impress like few speakers can. I wish I had kept my Studio2 for another system. Still one of the best tweeters to my ears.

    Ken,

    Thank you for posting about the follow up. I’d like to read it.
    Fleetwood Deville by Oswald Mills Audio, Vienna Acoustics Haydn Jubilee, Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated. Luxman L-595a, Enleum AMP-23r (new/improved Bakoon 13r equivalent) on order. https://enleum.com/

    NAD C 658 streamer.

    First Watt SIT-3, Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,198

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Quote Originally Posted by joeinid View Post
    The Salon2/Studio2 speakers, IMHO, are absolutely worth every penny and continue to impress like few speakers can. I wish I had kept my Studio2 for another system. Still one of the best tweeters to my ears.

    Ken,

    Thank you for posting about the follow up. I’d like to read it.
    You’re welcome, Joe. I’ll post the link when it becomes available.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    744

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Quote Originally Posted by joeinid View Post
    The Salon2/Studio2 speakers, IMHO, are absolutely worth every penny and continue to impress like few speakers can. I wish I had kept my Studio2 for another system. Still one of the best tweeters to my ears.

    Ken,

    Thank you for posting about the follow up. I’d like to read it.

    Joe, I pay the not very exaggerated amount of 10$ for a Stereophile subscription... per year!
    (Digital).
    Vivid Audio - Burmester - Hegel - Marantz - Oppo - Pioneer 60" - Wireworld

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    1,479

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    This follow-up review was in the May issue which was out mid-April, and I recall that the online review was previously posted.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,198

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Quote Originally Posted by audio.bill View Post
    This follow-up review was in the May issue which was out mid-April, and I recall that the online review was previously posted.
    Actually two different reviews by two different individuals. The first review on this link is by Jim Austin and the second review is the one by Larry Greenhill, the original reviewer back in 2008. A lot of love for the Revel Salon 2 from Stereophile!

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,635

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    +1

    Plus, in 2019, they almost became 'affordable'. One of the very best value-for-money hi-end speakers on the market.
    Adam

    Speakers: Magico M3
    Amp: Dagostino Momentum Stereo
    Digital: Lampi Pacific + Lampi DSD Komputer
    Cables: AQ WEL Signature IC / Synergistic Research Foundation / AQ Hurricane PCs

  8. #8
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,715

    Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    I loved mine when I owned them. I had the Studio 2’s as well. Only caveat is that they really need subs. Still one of the best tweeters in the game. Like the B&W 800/802/803D3’s, the Salon 2/Studio 2’s are one of the best values in the game - still today.
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Bakoon Audio, Berkeley Audio Design, Block Audio, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,317

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    I had Salon 2s. A great speaker. Always wondered what the Salon 3s would look and sound like.
    _______________

    Mike

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    392

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritmo View Post
    I had Salon 2s. A great speaker. Always wondered what the Salon 3s would look and sound like.
    As long as it keeps winning listening tests I don't expect them to change. They've sounded different in every system i've heard them in so I vote active. Stuff a couple ML amps inside them and call it a day.
    KEF Blade, Hegel h360, rega jupiter, roon nucleus, revox tuner. Meridian dsp8000 se upgrade, meridian 218 zone controller

  11. #11

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Hello everybody,
    New here (first post actually),
    just wanted to inform that LG's followup was added to the original review a while ago, it's now the last page.
    This site won't allow me to include a link until I have 10 posts, but you can go to Stereophile and check it out.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,422

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Welcome to the forum Lucidear, sorry about the banning, was an accident.
    Fleetwood Deville by Oswald Mills Audio, Vienna Acoustics Haydn Jubilee, Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated. Luxman L-595a, Enleum AMP-23r (new/improved Bakoon 13r equivalent) on order. https://enleum.com/

    NAD C 658 streamer.

    First Watt SIT-3, Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  13. #13

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Thank you Joe, All is good.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,422

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    Welcome!
    Fleetwood Deville by Oswald Mills Audio, Vienna Acoustics Haydn Jubilee, Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated. Luxman L-595a, Enleum AMP-23r (new/improved Bakoon 13r equivalent) on order. https://enleum.com/

    NAD C 658 streamer.

    First Watt SIT-3, Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    392

    Re: Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

    This issue KR builds a 5.1 with the studio 2's as fronts.
    KEF Blade, Hegel h360, rega jupiter, roon nucleus, revox tuner. Meridian dsp8000 se upgrade, meridian 218 zone controller

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Stereophile Does Follow-Up Review of Revel Salon 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •