Gryphon Mojo S Review
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 64
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,057
    Post Thanks / Like

    Gryphon Mojo S Review

    https://www.soundstageultra.com/inde...s-loudspeakers


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Does anyone have any experience of these? Any owners out there who can describe their virtues/drawbacks? My room is 12' x 24' and I'm on the cusp of getting a pair in for demo' on my Diablo 300 - which may change to Essence pre/power next year. Pantheons had too much bass emphasis - not boom, just a bass that seemed disconnected from the rest of the spectrum and drew attention from it. Lastly, do orange ones sound better than black ones?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Quote Originally Posted by eagle3333 View Post
    Does anyone have any experience of these? Any owners out there who can describe their virtues/drawbacks? My room is 12' x 24' and I'm on the cusp of getting a pair in for demo' on my Diablo 300 - which may change to Essence pre/power next year. Pantheons had too much bass emphasis - not boom, just a bass that seemed disconnected from the rest of the spectrum and drew attention from it. Lastly, do orange ones sound better than black ones?
    I have.
    These are some of the best speakers in the world! For not very large rooms. And these are not completely shelf speakers. These are full speakers.
    With the Diablo 300 it's almost an ideal tandem!
    Be sure to listen!

  4. Thanks joeinid thanked for this post
    Likes joeinid liked this post
  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like

  6. Likes owldiscourse liked this post
  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Diablo 300.
    But it is Pantheon's sound)

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zjRMSJcjN0&t=187s

  8. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    16,847
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Thank you for posting.
    Joe

    Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M, JBL 590.

    Job INTegrated, Naim Supernait 2 w/ HiCap-DR.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2, Misho Myronov Wooden pre.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (X2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, Valvet E2se, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos.

    Lumin U1 mini, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, Audio Mirror Tubadour III NOS R2R Tube Dac w/ upgrades.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  9. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Thanks TP. Couple questions for you. I had the Pantheons for a week. The Mojo has the same mid-range set up. I found the tweeters could be a bit hot compared to Esotar 2 in my Dynaudio Contour 60's. Any observations? Otherwise detail, separation and realisation were staggering. But, per above, I also found the bass a bit spotlit and separated - do you find this with Mojo? Lastly, I found Pantheon's presentation to be incredibly dense; very full-bodied 'in the air'. I've read of this with Mojo in some reviews. It's what people tend to mention when they're saying how they sound more like floorstanders. But I found this to be a bit wearing on my ears after an hour. The Dyn's I can listen to for hours with no issues. But they don't put the musicians in front of me the way Pantheon did and I expect Mojo would. Do you get fatigued? I tried new Confidence 30 but I think the 300 is voiced to match Gryphon's speaker topology because the Pantheon was dynamic in a way the Confidence wasn't. Latter didn't wear me out though.. Thanks a lot.

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    This is a signature feature of crossover tuning, when the bass is a little detached.
    In all speakers Gryphon. This feature of the fourth order.
    I know this since I own Trident speakers.

    I was at the Gryphon factory and talked there with an engineer who does crossover tuning.
    In general, this is Duelund's legacy!


    Mojo's sound signature is the same as the Pantheon.
    As Rasmussen said, he does not make bookshelf speakers, he makes speakers that are designed exclusively for your room size!

    Tweeter (AMT) is more airy than Esotar2. There are more details in the sound. More scene depth. There is a clear localization of musical instruments.
    Esotar2 is a great driver. Here the high frequencies are more dense. This is the main plus!

    I did not listen to Confidence 30. But I make a test of the new Confidence 20. There is already a new Esotar 3. You can compare.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2pJ6GzdxHE


    By the way, in a week I will be at the Dynaudio factory. Then I can post my report here.



    Quote Originally Posted by eagle3333 View Post
    Thanks TP. Couple questions for you. I had the Pantheons for a week. The Mojo has the same mid-range set up. I found the tweeters could be a bit hot compared to Esotar 2 in my Dynaudio Contour 60's. Any observations? Otherwise detail, separation and realisation were staggering. But, per above, I also found the bass a bit spotlit and separated - do you find this with Mojo? Lastly, I found Pantheon's presentation to be incredibly dense; very full-bodied 'in the air'. I've read of this with Mojo in some reviews. It's what people tend to mention when they're saying how they sound more like floorstanders. But I found this to be a bit wearing on my ears after an hour. The Dyn's I can listen to for hours with no issues. But they don't put the musicians in front of me the way Pantheon did and I expect Mojo would. Do you get fatigued? I tried new Confidence 30 but I think the 300 is voiced to match Gryphon's speaker topology because the Pantheon was dynamic in a way the Confidence wasn't. Latter didn't wear me out though.. Thanks a lot.

  11. Likes GSOphile, AJR, Golum liked this post
  12. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Quote Originally Posted by TechnicalPie View Post
    This is a signature feature of crossover tuning, when the bass is a little detached.
    In all speakers Gryphon. This feature of the fourth order.
    I know this since I own Trident speakers.

    I was at the Gryphon factory and talked there with an engineer who does crossover tuning.
    In general, this is Duelund's legacy!


    Mojo's sound signature is the same as the Pantheon.
    As Rasmussen said, he does not make bookshelf speakers, he makes speakers that are designed exclusively for your room size!

    Tweeter (AMT) is more airy than Esotar2. There are more details in the sound. More scene depth. There is a clear localization of musical instruments.
    Esotar2 is a great driver. Here the high frequencies are more dense. This is the main plus!

    I did not listen to Confidence 30. But I make a test of the new Confidence 20. There is already a new Esotar 3. You can compare.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2pJ6GzdxHE


    By the way, in a week I will be at the Dynaudio factory. Then I can post my report here.





    Thanks very much for the observations TP. On the bass - it's good to know I'm not going mad! The denseness may be too dense for my ears! It's a great sadness for me that I have tinnitus following ear syringing by a vicious nurse and my ears are super-sensitive; though my hearing is exceptionally good. I'll be very interested to read your thoughts on the Confidence 30 or 50. I will buy Mojo S or one of these. I find with Dynaudio I have to play at loud volume before they really shine and engage me, emotionally. I believe this is a Dyn' trait.

  13. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    114
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Gryphon Mojo S Review

    Yes you are right!
    The speakers of Dynaudio always sounded great at high volume. And for this, a powerful amplifier was needed.
    At Moscow audio shows (for example), the distributor often connected Ayon Audio to Dynaudio. The sound was always muddy!
    But the new speakers (I think so) have changed that. The main thing is to choose the right amplifier!
    But Dynaudio is not a Gryphon.
    Gryphon is a real author’s audio project and an author’s vision of sound reproduction.
    It’s like the violins of the great Italian masters!
    Alex

    Quote Originally Posted by eagle3333 View Post
    Thanks very much for the observations TP. On the bass - it's good to know I'm not going mad! The denseness may be too dense for my ears! It's a great sadness for me that I have tinnitus following ear syringing by a vicious nurse and my ears are super-sensitive; though my hearing is exceptionally good. I'll be very interested to read your thoughts on the Confidence 30 or 50. I will buy Mojo S or one of these. I find with Dynaudio I have to play at loud volume before they really shine and engage me, emotionally. I believe this is a Dyn' trait.

 

 
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast