Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: N30 Review

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    N30 Review

    A good review of the new flagship N Aurender.

    If in Korean, just select translate ...

    High-end Internet - HIFICLUB - ???? ???? ????? ?? ?? Aurender N30 ?? ???
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,092

    Re: N30 Review

    Itís amazing how both chassis are almost completely full. The power supply must be significantly improved over the N20. How much SSD storage will the N30 hold and what will be the MSRP?

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases, Femto 33 Clock, Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000ís with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpinist View Post
    Itís amazing how both chassis are completely full. The power supply must be significantly improved over the N20. How much SSD storage will the N30 hold and what will be the MSRP?

    Ken
    As far as price all I have seen is 25k. Iím not sure how accurate that is ... It seems rather high IMO.


    Aurender latest N20 & N30 music server coming soon @ X Audio - Classifieds - Commercial - StereoNET Asia
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: N30 Review

    I wonder if Aurender will offer longer cables to connect the two units of the N30 together. If I get one I'd like to skip a shelf between the units placing a ACS10 between them. I guess I could go with another brand ...
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    138

    Re: N30 Review

    25K would make the N30 more expensive then the W20SE, which is strange as the W series is the top of the Aurender range.
    Moon 700i V2, YG Acoustics Hailey, Aurender N10, dCS Rossini, Oppo BDP103D (audiopraise board), Ansuz Mainz 8 D2

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by imprezap2 View Post
    25K would make the N30 more expensive then the W20SE, which is strange as the W series is the top of the Aurender range.
    It is reported by CKKeung on another forum that the reviewer of the Korean N30 review has sold his own W20SE and bought the N30. So, there may be a new boss in town.
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  7. #7
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    26,947

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    It is reported by CKKeung on another forum that the reviewer of the Korean N30 review has sold his own W20SE and bought the N30. So, there may be a new boss in town.
    This will be an interesting shoot out! I canít wait to get our N30. The W20SE however remains unique in that it operates on battery power. Thatís a huge advantage. But a separate power supply might be right there with it. We shall see.

    I thought the N30 might be priced below the W20SE, but I could be wrong.
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, EMM Labs, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    This will be an interesting shoot out! I canít wait to get our N30. The W20SE however remains unique in that it operates on battery power. Thatís a huge advantage. But a separate power supply might be right there with it. We shall see.

    I thought the N30 might be priced below the W20SE, but I could be wrong.
    Needless to say I'm very interested in this shootout.

    Will Aurender offer longer cables to connect the two pieces of the N30 together? If purchased I'd like to place the electrical supply two shelves below the N30 unit with the ACS10 between them.
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  9. #9
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    26,947

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    Needless to say I'm very interested in this shootout.

    Will Aurender offer longer cables to connect the two pieces of the N30 together? If purchased I'd like to place the electrical supply two shelves below the N30 unit with the ACS10 between them.
    I havenít heard whether they will or not or how long the stock umbilical cord is.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, EMM Labs, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    I havenít heard whether they will or not or how long the stock umbilical cord is.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    I'm just going by the length of the ones in the photos. They are short. But that is probably just to present a clean look for the photos ...
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    beautiful winter
    Posts
    632

    Re: N30 Review

    the ones in the photos seem to be long enough to place an asc10 inbetween. not sure how much sense that would make as the asc10 would be for ripping only?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    beautiful winter
    Posts
    632

    Re: N30 Review

    the n30 looks great to me and dont really think batterys are superior in general.
    i had a battery driven ps with the nagra. it was better than theyr normal ps. then they released a ps with supercaps (classicv psu) and it was just better than the battery thing.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: N30 Review

    I have a bad back. So I desire the player on top (visibility) and the ripper immediately below it. There is no reason to have the N30 Elec Supply high on the shelf; the bottom shelf better fits my needs. ...

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    beautiful winter
    Posts
    632

    Re: N30 Review

    ok, agreed.
    and this aurander trio would look great.
    the question is more like why would you need the asc10 in the system?
    personally i would rip all cd s into the n30 and then remove the asc10 out of the system.

  15. #15
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    26,947

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by u-sound View Post
    ok, agreed.
    and this aurander trio would look great.
    the question is more like why would you need the asc10 in the system?
    personally i would rip all cd s into the n30 and then remove the asc10 out of the system.
    ACS10 is ripper, backup, storage, etc. itís a purposely built music content server designed to replace the computer (for ripping) and NAS (for backup and storage).

    The N30 will be limited to whatever the largest size SSD drive is (8TB at present). If you set it up as 16TB, youíll have no backup. If you set it up as 8TB youíll have backup, but half the storage. The ACS10 is brilliant for those with large libraries and wanting the best ripping experience, including bulk ripping.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, EMM Labs, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    beautiful winter
    Posts
    632

    Re: N30 Review

    nice to have indeed

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    138

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    It is reported by CKKeung on another forum that the reviewer of the Korean N30 review has sold his own W20SE and bought the N30. So, there may be a new boss in town.
    I am not sure about that, difference in build quality between N20 and W20SE is still considerable, N30 casings look to be more like N20 quality.
    Anyway, we will see soon enough I guess. :-)
    Moon 700i V2, YG Acoustics Hailey, Aurender N10, dCS Rossini, Oppo BDP103D (audiopraise board), Ansuz Mainz 8 D2

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,092

    Re: N30 Review

    While the W20SE probably has a slightly lower noise floor than the N30, the increased instantaneous current that can be delivered through the N30ís upgraded power supply, compared to the W20SEís battery power, may more than offset that. When you see the number of capacitors in the Taiko Extreme, for example, you get the picture.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases, Femto 33 Clock, Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000ís with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tampa FL
    Posts
    198

    Re: N30 Review

    I have had so many problems with interactions between my home network modem, Roon and the MSB DAC Roon Renderer, I've decided to go in a different direction: I am going to install a music server that stores all files in my room and connect to the Select II via USB. The N30 looks like the perfect solution. I will be watching this thread closely.

    I don't think the Renderer is at fault here. Every time the modem resets, Roon can't find my MSB. No amount of reboots and power recycles helps. Then in a few days the problem magically heals itself. This FRUSTRATES me. I have pleasant memories of my time with an Aurender W20 so I feel good about another model from that manufacturer.

    Eric
    MSB Select II DAC
    MSB M500 Monoblocks
    Magico M3 Speakers
    Magico Q-Sub 15 subwoofers
    Transparent Opus Gen5 speaker cables and interconnects
    Shunyata Everest power conditioner

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,092

    Re: N30 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Cincy2 View Post
    I have had so many problems with interactions between my home network modem, Roon and the MSB DAC Roon Renderer, I've decided to go in a different direction: I am going to install a music server that stores all files in my room and connect to the Select II via USB. The N30 looks like the perfect solution. I will be watching this thread closely.

    I don't think the Renderer is at fault here. Every time the modem resets, Roon can't find my MSB. No amount of reboots and power recycles helps. Then in a few days the problem magically heals itself. This FRUSTRATES me. I have pleasant memories of my time with an Aurender W20 so I feel good about another model from that manufacturer.

    Eric
    Hi Eric,

    What specific server are you currently using to deliver Roon? Also, which MSB digital input module are you using?

    Thanks,
    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases, Femto 33 Clock, Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000ís with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

N30 Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •