Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,272

    AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    http://www.theabsolutesound.com/arti...c-power-cords/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    745

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    I was afraid of this. Just as I was thinking of Hurricanes.

    But is the Dragon twice as good?

    Please say no...
    Small Green Computer; gigaFoil 4 Ethernet w/ Keces PS-3; Sonore ultraRendu; MBP (3) - stripped down for music only; Shunyata Alpha & Sigma USBs; AudioQuest Diamond USB 5M: ISO REGEN w/short Curious USB links; Berkeley Alpha USB; AQ Diamond AES - 3M; AQ Diamond Ethernet - 1.5M; Schiit Yggdrasil - fully updated; PecanPi USB dac; Ayre Codex dac - updated; Pass Labs INT-60 integrated amp; Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE-2 preamp, Quicksilver Mono 120 amps w/Tung-Sol KT150s; Wyred 4 Sound STP-750E Mk II amp w/Kimber TCX wiring & WBT binding posts; Quicksilver Mid Mono amps w/Gold Lion KT77s, Joseph Audio Perspective 2 Graphenes; Fyne Audio 703s; Symposium Svelte Plus & Ultra Platforms; REL S-812 subwoofers; Duelund DCA12GA speaker cables; AV Room Service EVPs, Stein Music Harmonizers, Duelund DCA16GA & 20GA ICs; Shunyata Denali 6000S/V2; Tripp Lite PCs; Wyred 4 Sound power cords; AudioDharma cable cooker; dedicated custom room; various GIK & ASC room treatments; etc.

    www.getbettersound.com

  3. #3
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,272

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Smith View Post
    I was afraid of this. Just as I was thinking of Hurricanes.

    But is the Dragon twice as good?

    Please say no...
    Oh yes it is.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,134

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    I love my AudioQuest Hurricanes, value engineered. And they sound terrific. No desire to upgrade.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases and Femto 33 Clock; Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus; MSB UMT V Signature Transport
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps; MSB M204 Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    113

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Hurricanes are fantastic... I have several... Recently I upgraded to Dragons on my main system. The difference is substantial (expecially on my DAC). Are they worth it? I think many people could be happy to have hurricanes for life. Just don't do an A/B test with Dragons and you will be fine. If you are seeking every little bit you can get, then Dragons are essential. Dragons definitely added that extra sparkle for me.
    Jeremy

    Speakers: Magico S3 MkII
    Power Amp: VAC 200iQ (stereo)
    Source/DAC/Preamplifier: MSB Reference DAC (Femto 77 / Dual Powerbase)
    Power: Shunyata Triton V3 / Shunyata Typhon QR / AQ NRG 20 Outlet / Dedicated 20 amp circuit
    -------------
    Power Cables: AQ Dragons to components / AQ Hurricane to Typhon QR
    Speaker Cables: MIT Heritage MI 2C3D - Level 1
    Interconnects: MIT Heritage MI 2C3D - Level 1 (XLR)
    Ethernet: AQ Vodka > Aqvox SE > AQ Diamond > MSB Reference DAC
    Racks: Critical Mass Sotto Voce with Black Platinum shelves

  6. #6

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Has anyone A/B the Dragon with Nordost Odin 2 powercords?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    143

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Alectiong View Post
    Has anyone A/B the Dragon with Nordost Odin 2 powercords?
    Maybe Jay did that on his YouTube channel last year? I have some recollection of watching a demo of a few power cables on his channel and those could be 2/3.
    Christian

    south: Mark Levinson No. 52 pre, Bricasti M28 amps, Lumin A1, Oppo BDP-205, Pioneer CT-43, Sony SS-AR1 Speakers, Audioquest Dragon PCs, Audioquest speaker cables, Iconoclast OCC interconnects, HB Power Design Powerslave Star Galaxy power distributor

    north: Marantz PM-10, Marantz SA-10, Lumin X1, Sony TC-KA3ES, Harbeth 40.2, Iconoclast OCC interconnects, Audioquest speaker cables, Furutech Nanoflux NCF power cables

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    175

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    I now own the Dragon HC power cord. It is attached to my Audioquest Niagara 7000. It is a very special power cord for this application.

    First off it was designed by the same people and was probably voiced together as a combo unit.
    And secondly, I have owned so many power cords and the Dragon is the very best on the power conditioner. Even against the Odin.

    BTW, I had also owned a Hurricane HC that I hoped would allow me to avoid paying so much for the Dragon. The Hurricane was ok, but had a boomy mid bass and generally didn't impress me. I ended up selling it.

    So, as you can tell I highly recommended the Dragon, especially if you use it with the Audioquest power conditioners.

    ozzy

  9. #9

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Welcome to the Audioquest Club!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jeff Rowland 925 mono amps - EMM Labs DV2 - DA/Preamp + NS1 - MBL 101E MkII speakers + REL 212SE sub - AudioQuest Thunderbird ZERO/BASS speaker cables - AudioQuest Fire interconnects - Mojo Audio modded MacMini with UpTone Linear Power Supply - Audioquest Niagara 5000 Power Conditioner - AudioQuest Dragon/Hurricane HC & Source power cords - - ADDpower Sorcer 2 - Oppo 105 BluRay/Transport/Streamer - EVP HDR isolators, Marigo RHX Mystery Feet, Symposium Acoustics Platforms + Stillpoints Aperture panels
    Dealer for Purist Audio Design cables

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    175

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Wow, pretty impressive!
    But where is the plug that goes from the wall to the Niagara?

    ozzy

  11. #11

    Re: AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

    Not in the pic, but I'm also using a Dragon HC like you!
    Thanks.
    Jeff Rowland 925 mono amps - EMM Labs DV2 - DA/Preamp + NS1 - MBL 101E MkII speakers + REL 212SE sub - AudioQuest Thunderbird ZERO/BASS speaker cables - AudioQuest Fire interconnects - Mojo Audio modded MacMini with UpTone Linear Power Supply - Audioquest Niagara 5000 Power Conditioner - AudioQuest Dragon/Hurricane HC & Source power cords - - ADDpower Sorcer 2 - Oppo 105 BluRay/Transport/Streamer - EVP HDR isolators, Marigo RHX Mystery Feet, Symposium Acoustics Platforms + Stillpoints Aperture panels
    Dealer for Purist Audio Design cables

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

AudioQuest Dragon Power Cord Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •