ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,861
    Post Thanks / Like

    ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    Interesting video. Noteworthy product priced at $15K RRP.

    Mr Sanju Chiba is passionate about analogue and its calming truth. Is contactless playback the future of the vinyl turntable? I would like to think so.

    Steve

    Furutech Passive Power Filtering


    Speakeasy

  2. Thanks hoosiertom thanked for this post
    Likes hoosiertom liked this post
  3. #2
    Behavior Moderator (be nice police!)
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Lake Country, Georgia
    Posts
    4,206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    Thanks Steve!

    I would love the chance to try one and compare. Are there any reviews out ?
    Mark

    _________________
    Pass Labs X350.8 Stereo amplifier
    Classe' CP 800 preamp
    Revel Ultima Salon 2's.....again !
    REL S2 Subwoofers
    Lumin A1 Network Streamer
    VPI Avenger with Magnetic Drive
    Manley Chinook Phono Pre
    Ortofon Cadenza Black cartridge
    Klaudio Ultrasonic record cleaner
    Kimber Select 6063 speaker cables
    Kimber Select 1116 XLR IC's
    Shunyata Cobra Zi-tron,and Ansuz Ceramic power cords,
    Ansuz Mainz D8 power distributer

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    142
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve View Post
    Interesting video. Noteworthy product priced at $15K RRP.

    Mr Sanju Chiba is passionate about analogue and its calming truth. Is contactless playback the future of the vinyl turntable? I would like to think so.

    Thanks for sharing...Interesting video...

    Also, as MDP mentioned....Any recent US reviews available ???

    Tom SE MI

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1,861
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    Haven't come across any reviews yet...

    When I met Michael Fremer in Melbourne, he briefly mentioned that he just listened to a prototype laser turntable demo and was extremely impressed. I can't recall if he was referring to the Japanese ELP Corporation product but I think this was it.
    Steve

    Furutech Passive Power Filtering


    Speakeasy

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,440
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    I have a friend who has one. He bought one 2 years ago or so. It sits unused. He likes his vintage table more (not sure what model he has ... it sits in a gigatic plinth).
    Adam

    Speakers: Magico M3
    Amp: Vitus SM-103 / MSB M202
    Digital: Lampi Pacific + Lampi DSD Komputer
    Cables: AQ WEL Signature IC / Shunyata Anaconda Z-Tron SC / AQ Hurricane PCs

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    There are some owners in Australia and apart from needing dust free records they have positive feedback.If your in Sydney there is a contact on the web site with info for a demo.I would like to have one sitting next to my Clearaudio .
    Stump
    http://www.whatsbestforum.com/showth...urntable/page2

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    471
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    I like this but, lower the price or someone else make an affordable product that mitigates this dust issue. I ask the world, I know.

    If you have a laser, then why bother with flat or single "read heads?" This could be a 4 disc player with 8 lasers for each side of the disc. Integrated cleaner?

  9. Likes Steve liked this post
  10. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: ELP analogue Laser Turntable - Mr Sanju Chiba talks tech

    Looks like 3 new Laser Turntable Models just came out with new pricing.Wish our $AU dollar was still parity to the $ US.

    Laser Turntable Models | ELP Laser Turntable