Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 28 of 28
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Your opinion wanted

    Looking for suggestions for speakers to match perfectly to a Luxman L210

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    LUXMAN L-210
    SPECIFICATIONS
    Power output: 45 watts per channel into 8Ω (stereo)

    Frequency response: 10Hz to 100kHz

    Total harmonic distortion: 0.02%

    Input sensitivity: 1.8mV (MM), 160mV (line)

    Signal to noise ratio: 90dB (MM), 107dB (line)

    Dimensions: 453 x 317 x 111mm

    Weight: 6.7kg
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    1,165

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    More info Ken, room size, listening preferences, source, WAF considerations(if applicable) and the list goes on ........
    Cheers ! …. Dave

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    The Warfe and the klipsh were on my hopeful list I am glad to see you also suggest them.Thankyou for helping

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Remember, older receivers don’t do too well with lower ohm speakers. I think below 4 ohms is out of the question. 6-8 ohms would be much more comfortable for the amplifier.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    My room is approx 14x21ft
    Hard walls.....hard floors...minimal furniture
    I will be powering the speakers with a Luxman L210.....Luxman tuner L230...likely a Dual turntable yet to be found
    I am sorry I do not know what WAF is

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    WAF is Wife (or significant other) Acceptance Factor. Lots of partners don't like ugly speakers or ones placed properly in the room.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    1,165

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    My room is approx 14x21ft
    Hard walls.....hard floors...minimal furniture
    I will be powering the speakers with a Luxman L210.....Luxman tuner L230...likely a Dual turntable yet to be found
    I am sorry I do not know what WAF is
    Hi ken, WAF (wife acceptance factor)

    as for your room, it appears by your description to be on the 'bright' side, acoustic treating will be in order IMO. It's large enough for a pair of towers, what's your budget ?
    Cheers ! …. Dave

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Excellent good to know

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Well ....budget for now will have to be 600 to 900

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    WAF! Hahahaha
    Love it

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Anyone want to comment on using Klipsh R620F tower speakers matched to a Luxman L210

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    114

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    I had a pair of B&W 685 S2 speakers when I started my journey in audio back in 2014. Kept those for a couple of years and was always impressed with them. I believe they are 6 ohm nominal speakers. Paired with a set of stands, you are looking at between 800-900 dollars (US). I've never really been a fan of the B&W sound (mostly because of the overly bright tweeters), but these weren't particularly aggressive.
    Electronics: Pass Labs XP-22, Pass Labs X250.8
    Digital: OPPO UDP-205, Auralic Aries G1, Bryston BDA-3
    Analog: U-turn Orbit Custom w/ Ortofon 2M Blue, iFi iPhono3
    Speakers: Janszen Carmelita, SVS SB13-Ultra
    Other: David Laboga Custom Audio/Shunyata/Audioquest cabling, Panamax power conditioner

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    Anyone want to comment on using Klipsh R620F tower speakers matched to a Luxman L210
    Should be a great match.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    1,165

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    Anyone want to comment on using Klipsh R620F tower speakers matched to a Luxman L210
    well, you asked for opinions so here goes........ given the 'brightness' of your room(acoustically speaking) that speaker would not be on my radar. IMO, save some $$, stretch your budget and think something on the used market perhaps ?

    for the $$ value in speakers ELAC always seems to be mentioned often
    Cheers ! …. Dave

  16. #16

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    Looking for suggestions for speakers to match perfectly to a Luxman L210
    How much do you want to spend?

    My thinking is that you are trying to build a system around a component that should not be your top priority.

    IMO the top priority should be your speakers/room.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    1,165

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by nicoff View Post
    How much do you want to spend?
    check post #10

    My thinking is that you are trying to build a system around a component that should not be your top priority.
    agreed, sage advice, but if it something I think the Op already has then so be it .......

    IMO the top priority should be your speakers/room.
    agreed again !
    Cheers ! …. Dave

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    I picked up the Luxman at a great price and want to put it to good use...you are correct tho I am trying now to match a speaker set to it
    Reverse order but it is the way it is

  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    I picked up the Luxman at a great price and want to put it to good use...you are correct tho I am trying now to match a speaker set to it
    Reverse order but it is the way it is
    No problem. A fairly efficient, higher ohm speaker like you mentioned should be fine. If the room is a little bright (after sufficient break in of speakers and run in of the amp), a few wall absorbers or treatment will be just wonderful. Use what you have, enjoy the music and look forward to the future to see how far you want to take it. I bet the Luxman, if in good shape, should be excellent. Don’t over think it.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,249

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    I would give the Elac Reference Debut a listen. Either the floorstanders or bookshelf models. I heard them at an audio show last year with Andrew Jones the designer talking about them. Great sounding speaker. Also consider B&W 606, 604's, Elac UniFi's and some of the Monitor Audio Bronze and Silver series.
    My Gear- Mains System-Pass X250 amp, BAT VK-51se preamp, Luxman DA-06 DAC, Magnepan 1.6's, Thorens TD-145 TT, Dual Martin Logan Subs, Vintage Luxman T-110 Tuner, Other systems- Parasound A21 amp,Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid tube DAC and Preamp, Magnepan MMG's, Monitor Audio S1's, PSB B6's, Def Tech Pro Monitor 1000's, Velodyne sub, Adcom GFR-700 AVR, Music Hall 25.2 modified CDP, Cables by Cardas Parsec, AQ Columbia DBS 72v, Wire World.

  21. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Everyone here has contributed greatly to my quest of determining a good speaker set.That last bit of advice to not over think it....made sense.I am having a fun time learning the very basics of hi/fi systems but will let my ears be the final judge.
    Going this weekend to listen to brand new Klipsch RF3 II's.....made in the USA.Will power them with my new to me Luxman L210😁😁 to test and see if I like what I hear
    Cheers!

  22. #22
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Awesome

    Please keep us updated as to what you think about the setup.

    I don’t remember but I think the Luxman has tone controls, that might help tweak the sound a little more to your liking. But please don’t overdo it.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  23. #23
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Here’s a little video but please don’t stack components like this.


    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Great video.....once the units are home I will give thoughts although I am a newbie other than what my ears tell me.
    Hoping to hear notes and pieces to the music and albums I have never heard before with a clear and quality system

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    WA, USA
    Posts
    389

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    Well ....budget for now will have to be 600 to 900
    Go give these a listen.

    Acoustic Energy AE300
    Caelin Gabriel
    President
    Shunyata Research

    http://shunyata.com

  26. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Detroit area
    Posts
    56

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    "I am a newbie other than what my ears tell me."

    Ken, you are in an enviable position. Your mind hasn't yet been polluted by all of the audiophile-this, reference quality-that chatter. (Most of which won't necessarily apply to you and your preferences at all.)

    Keep building the system according to your budget - and more importantly, according to your ears - and you'll enjoy this hobby very much.

  27. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    I will close this thread by say thanks to everyone.
    The Luxman amp and the Klipsh RF3's are an amazing match.
    While enjoying this new journey I am on if creating a pleasing sound system to my ears I will be now on the hunt for "that " special turntable

  28. #28
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,940

    Re: Your opinion wanted

    Congratulations Ken. Very glad you are happy.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Misho Myronov Wooden preamp.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Your opinion wanted

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •