Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 43 of 43
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Magico M2 loudspeaker Measurements | Stereophile.com

    Gonna need a true muscle amp on this one , 300 -600 @4 should get you there ...


  2. #2

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
    Magico M2 loudspeaker Measurements | Stereophile.com

    Gonna need a true muscle amp on this one , 300 -600 @4 should get you there ...

    Sorry, but that comment is total bollocks. Atkinson does not state any such thing in the measurements section.

    Also, you are confusing current and power. He states the M2 demands a high level of current


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Kuoppis View Post
    Sorry, but that comment is total bollocks. Atkinson does not state any such thing in the measurements section.

    Also, you are confusing current and power. He states the M2 demands a high level of current
    I read the comment as his opinion, not a quote from the article.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  4. #4

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    I read the comment as his opinion, not a quote from the article.
    Good point, possibly. To me it looked like he made a statement, and added the link as a source.

    Whichever, hardly tenable.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    I read the comment as his opinion, not a quote from the article.
    I guess my good friend Kuoppis is confused ..

    By JA mesurement the M2 is 83db/w/M , based on the actual measured impedance curve and phase angles im suggesting this model will require at least an amp capable of 300 watts into 4 ohm to avoid clipping and better yet one capable of increased power into a 2 ohm drive for good dynamics and bass control ..

    600 watt would be my preferred choice into 2 ohm , to do so would require a lot of current , its academic dear Kuoppis ..




    Regards

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,635

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
    I guess my good friend Kuoppis is confused ..

    By JA mesurement the M2 is 83db/w/M , based on the actual measured impedance curve and phase angles im suggesting this model will require at least an amp capable of 300 watts into 4 ohm to avoid clipping and better yet one capable of increased power into a 2 ohm drive for good dynamics and bass control ..

    600 watt would be my preferred choice into 2 ohm , to do so would require a lot of current , its academic dear Kuoppis ..




    Regards
    Where does JA say this?

    Although Magico specifies the M2's sensitivity as 88dB/W/m, my estimate was slightly lower, at 86dB(B)/2.83V/m
    at 86db you certainly do not require at least 300 watt amp.
    Source: Technics SP10mk3 - Thales Simplicity II, TW Raven AC-3 - Graham Phantom, SME 3012-R, Exclusive P3,,Linn LP12 - Naim ARO
    Cartridges: Lyra Atlas Lambda SL, Lyra Etna SL, Lyra Delos, Dynavector XV-1s,Technics EPC100mk4, Ortofon A90, GM Royal, GM Classic, Denon ESC'd 103R, DL-S1, Audio Technica AT25, OC9II, Linn ESC'd Troika
    Phono Stage: Accuphase C-37,TW Acustik phono
    EQ: ​DEQX HDP-4
    Preamp: D'Agostino HD, conrad johnson GAT,
    Amps: conrad johnson teflon premier 8a's, D'Agostino Momentum S250
    Speakers: Wilson Maxx3

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    JA measured 86db/M/2.83Volts 4ohm nominal this means 2 watts, for a typical 1 watt comparison that translates to 83db.

    Hence 83db/W/M ( referencing 1 watt)

    This speaker is gonna need amplification to perform at its best...


    Regards

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    697

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Recommended power for M2s is 50-1000 watts.


    See specifications (near bottom of PDF): https://magico.net/support/M2/M2_Owner_Manual.pdf
    Sincerely,

    Calvin

  9. #9
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,214

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    A.Wayne wants 9000 watts for every speaker.

    The reality is, they are not hard to drive and quite frankly, we drive them easily with a Luxman 509 or 590. They don’t even make the 260.8 needles move in the 17 x 25 room....so, so much for measurements.
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, EMM Labs, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Leyden
    Posts
    556

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    It makes me sad the Magico is almost twice as expensive in Europe compared to the USA.
    Pre amp: Ocatve Phono Module Power amps: Octave MRE130 Turntable: SAC Girati Grande. Tonearm: Dynavector 507mkII Cartridge: Dynavector Ikeda 9TT Streamer: Aurender A10 Power Distributor: Anzus Mains D8 Speakers: Raidho X-3 Speaker Cables: AudioQuest Rocket 88 XLR Interlink: Ansuz A2, XLR Interlink: Purist Audio Design - Venustas Phono interlink: Cammino Serie 1.0 - PH 1.0s Power cables: Anzus Mains Ceramic, two Pom, Aluminium, X series Audio Rack: Rack of Silence 4 and 2.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    A.Wayne wants 9000 watts for every speaker.

    The reality is, they are not hard to drive and quite frankly, we drive them easily with a Luxman 509 or 590. They don’t even make the 260.8 needles move in the 17 x 25 room....so, so much for measurements.
    Yep those pesky measurements again ...!

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Mordante View Post
    It makes me sad the Magico is almost twice as expensive in Europe compared to the USA.
    If you get them from Sunshine sharkey , you can check them on as luggage save a bundle

  13. #13
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,214

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
    If you get them from Sunshine sharkey , you can check them on as luggage save a bundle
    No, no, no can do. US only.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, EMM Labs, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,701

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
    JA measured 86db/M/2.83Volts 4ohm nominal this means 2 watts, for a typical 1 watt comparison that translates to 83db.

    Hence 83db/W/M ( referencing 1 watt)

    This speaker is gonna need amplification to perform at its best...


    Regards
    I don't think this is what JA is saying. He equivocates 2.83v into 8 ohms - so a true 86db vs. 88db spec. He just states that Magico says it's a 4ohm impedance.

    That said, based on my slightly easier to drive Haileys (don't go below 3 ohms and without high phase angles) I still think 300+ watts is ideal. I've tried like 8 amps so far and it's been pretty obvious.
    Brinkmann Bardo w/ EMT HSD-006 cart, MSB Premier DAC --> Linear Tube Audio MicroZOTL --> Ampzilla 2000, 2nd Edition --> YG Acoustics Hailey 2.2

  15. #15

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    A.Wayne wants 9000 watts for every speaker.

    The reality is, they are not hard to drive and quite frankly, we drive them easily with a Luxman 509 or 590. They don’t even make the 260.8 needles move in the 17 x 25 room....so, so much for measurements.
    So much for everyone is sitting around listening to their system while it’s always clipping.
    Micro Seiki SX-8000 air bearing table, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, and Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    9,002

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    ...And snowing.
    ~ Bob ~
    "And it Stoned me to my Soul" Van Morrison
    ClickAudiophile Audition
    Snoopy as the Red Baron attack
    Avatar = The Alan Parsons Project - Eye in the Sky (1982 - orbiting)

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,701

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by mep View Post
    So much for everyone is sitting around listening to their system while it’s always clipping.
    It's not about clipping for me, but ease and freedom from the speaker at normal levels. Less congested events on complex music like classical, electronica, etc. Piano hammers and bass that has impact. Feeling the strength of Johnny Cash's vocal pipe. (and sure, playing the Tron reboot soundtrack in the mid-90s helps too)

    Lots of stuff "can work" but isn't ideal. Yoav Geva says 60 watts minimum on YG- I recently tried a Pass XA25 (80 into 8ohms, 130 into 4) and it was anemic. For sealed box speakers I've found 400 watts into 4 ohms the line of demarcation in my amp journey last year, but as always YMMV.
    Brinkmann Bardo w/ EMT HSD-006 cart, MSB Premier DAC --> Linear Tube Audio MicroZOTL --> Ampzilla 2000, 2nd Edition --> YG Acoustics Hailey 2.2

  18. #18

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithR View Post
    It's not about clipping for me, but ease and freedom from the speaker at normal levels. Less congested events on complex music like classical, electronica, etc. Piano hammers and bass that has impact. Feeling the strength of Johnny Cash's vocal pipe. (and sure, playing the Tron reboot soundtrack in the mid-90s helps too)

    Lots of stuff "can work" but isn't ideal. Yoav Geva says 60 watts minimum on YG- I recently tried a Pass XA25 (80 into 8ohms, 130 into 4) and it was anemic. For sealed box speakers I've found 400 watts into 4 ohms the line of demarcation in my amp journey last year, but as always YMMV.
    I’m not disputing that some people have speakers that are low impedance, low sensitivity, and are hard to drive and they need very powerful amps to drive them. Just like your speakers fit that category. What I don’t agree with is a blanket statement that most people require such amps and they don’t have them and their systems are constantly clipping.
    Micro Seiki SX-8000 air bearing table, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, and Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL 'The Hammock'
    Posts
    4,517

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    A.Wayne wants 9000 watts for every speaker.

    The reality is, they are not hard to drive and quite frankly, we drive them easily with a Luxman 509 or 590. They don’t even make the 260.8 needles move in the 17 x 25 room....so, so much for measurements.
    Thank you Mike for some REAL WORLD facts.
    PassXa-30.5, W4S STP, Kef 201/2, KEF 140, Vapor Breeze, Lumin, Bryston CD, BHA-1, HD650, HD800s, Dan Clark 1.1, OPPO 203, 105.

  20. #20

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by CPP View Post
    Thank you Mike for some REAL WORLD facts.

    I am convinced that a lot of talking about technical specifications in the audio would fall apart if it was personal and accompanied by the on-site hearing.
    Despite our differences in taste, I think we all recognize when a system plays well and when the music is right (to use one expression that is not mine).

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    269

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    I characterize Magico speakers as a moderate load. Certainly not as easy to drive as some higher impedance speakers that will work with anything, and not as difficult as some speakers that are known for being a punishing load. They will work with lower powered amps, but there can be an audible improvement if you pair them with an amplifier with more drive capability, even when playing at lower volumes.
    Neko Audio
    Authorized Dealer: AC Infinity, Acoustic Zen, APC, Audeze, Bryston, Devialet, Dirac, Elite HTS, Fortress Seating, JVC, LG, LUMIN, Magico, Ortofon, Prism Sound, RME, Samsung, STAX, Trinnov, Vivid Audio, & more.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Its a difficult load , Buy Mikes or anyone’s biggest amp and thank me later ..

    Ciao

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    Recommended power for M2s is 50-1000 watts.


    See specifications (near bottom of PDF): https://magico.net/support/M2/M2_Owner_Manual.pdf
    1000 watts there crazy , even A.Wayne thinks 600 is enuff ..

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    My Magico S5 came alive when I added a second dedicated line for the amps so that each amp could reach its 1200 watts without tripping a breaker. Of course, I then managed to break each speaker, but that’s a different story.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  25. #25

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Bud, I guess you mean came alive as in started to jump around the room when you put 1200W through them... Magico M2 SP review and Measurements


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Actually, the issue was no matter how loud the speakers played they sounded good. Until they stopped.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    You found the holy grail there Bud , dynamics can be intoxicating .....


  28. #28

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    Actually, the issue was no matter how loud the speakers played they sounded good. Until they stopped.
    How many tweeters did you blow on your Magico speakers?
    Micro Seiki SX-8000 air bearing table, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, and Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Just two, one in each speaker.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    173

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    Just two, one in each speaker.
    Not sure why anyone in their right mind would drive a speaker to destruction, especially a Magico!
    Were you intoxicated or high at the time?
    Accuphase - Magico - Synergistic Research - Clearaudio - MY Sonic Lab - Symposium Acoustics - Adona - Stillpoints -
    - HRS - Kemp Electroniks - SteinMusic - KLAudio - Akiko Audio - Furutech - Wa Quantum - Acoustic Revive

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    I was trying to find out how loud they would play before they started to distort. As mentioned, they never distorted. They certainly were impressive.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  32. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canada/HK
    Posts
    292

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    You may have clipped the amp and sent some DC out. Typically, you would hear some “stress,” and not both speakers will stop at the same time.
    Try a bigger amp next time

  33. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,617

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    The right speaker died immediately. The left speaker was weakened in that it died shortly after getting the right speaker back from repair.
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  34. #34

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    I blew up 3 tweeters in one day on my Advents. The dealer said"you need a bigger amp." I learned what clipping was that day, lol. I still have two spare fried egg tweeters on the shelf, I guess I should give them to someone who needs them.

  35. #35

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by stereogeek View Post
    I blew up 3 tweeters in one day on my Advents. The dealer said"you need a bigger amp." I learned what clipping was that day, lol. I still have two spare fried egg tweeters on the shelf, I guess I should give them to someone who needs them.
    Gump!
    Micro Seiki SX-8000 air bearing table, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, and Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  36. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    In discussion today , noticed not many teaming Boulder with Magico , has anyone heard this combo ..?

  37. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by stereogeek View Post
    I blew up 3 tweeters in one day on my Advents. The dealer said"you need a bigger amp." I learned what clipping was that day, lol. I still have two spare fried egg tweeters on the shelf, I guess I should give them to someone who needs them.

    Yes clipping will destroy tweeters fast , not as easy with power, exception being those driving and crossing over tweeters too low in the bandwidth, music power will destroy those fast at high levels ...


    Regards

  38. #38
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    42

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Hi the input of 50w to 1000w seems a hell of a gap surly will sound shite with 50w and blowing tweeters at 1000w, never seen specs like this before, and do not believe it to be true, IMHO,

  39. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    2,604

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    The 1000 watts is dynamic peaks or music power not rms ..

  40. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Leyden
    Posts
    556

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Not entirely related but I was afraid I had blown my tweeters a while back. I use XLR interlinks between my pre and power amps. However I sold my XLR cables. These we 6 meters and I need just 3 meters. However I did not have pair of XLR cables I could use. But I did have some no-brand RCA cables. So I plugged them in. Flip the switch to RCA output on my amps and played some music.

    That was when I found out that the RCA output is at 100% and not managed by my volume control. Luckily I only have 100ish watt mono blocks.
    Pre amp: Ocatve Phono Module Power amps: Octave MRE130 Turntable: SAC Girati Grande. Tonearm: Dynavector 507mkII Cartridge: Dynavector Ikeda 9TT Streamer: Aurender A10 Power Distributor: Anzus Mains D8 Speakers: Raidho X-3 Speaker Cables: AudioQuest Rocket 88 XLR Interlink: Ansuz A2, XLR Interlink: Purist Audio Design - Venustas Phono interlink: Cammino Serie 1.0 - PH 1.0s Power cables: Anzus Mains Ceramic, two Pom, Aluminium, X series Audio Rack: Rack of Silence 4 and 2.

  41. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canada/HK
    Posts
    292

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    Quote Originally Posted by Mordante View Post
    Luckily I only have 100ish watt mono blocks.
    Luckily you had at least '100ish watt' so your amp did not clip. Powerful amps don't burn tweeters, heavy hand on the volume do, regardless of how powerful the amp is. But you do have better chance to survive with a powerful amp. It is counterintuitive, but that is how it usually works.

  42. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Northern California outside SF
    Posts
    630

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    need the Professor to chime in as he has used these speakers for some time. Jock what is needed?
    Nick



    Main system :TAD CR1 speakers, Viola Labs Symphony amp,Pass XP-20 preamp., MSB Discrete DAC with twin power supplies and V2 Renderer module, Gigafoil V4 inline ethernet filter with uptone LPS-1 power supply with Ghent audio Gotham 2.1mm to 2.5mm cable and AG diamond ethernet cable, Sonicorbitor Roon Audiophile 6 TB network server-player , MG Audio Design Planus III jumpers & speaker cables, Zitron Cobra power cords, Shunyata Hydra AV, and acoustic zen absolute copper IC,. Room treatment ASC tower traps, Vicoustic absorber premium cinema wall and ceiling panels, and MSR acoustic trifusser side wall panel

  43. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast / N. Texas
    Posts
    3,223

    Re: Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

    I have found that the M2s are fairly easy to drive. Especially for a sealed box speaker.

    The key is to only turn it up as loud can go without clipping/distorting. If that's loud enough for you - great. If it's not, then you need more power.

    I sometimes turn the stereo on and listen 3 rooms away, thus playing them sometimes very loud and have no problems. I have 140w per channel.
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Naim ND555/2PS, Naim 552, Naim 500, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Magico M2s, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Lumina IC/SC, Shunyata Everest and Omega PCs.

    Workshop: Naim ND555/2 PS, VAC Master Pre, VAC Sig 200iQ, Border Patrol pre/power, Avant Garde Duo Mezzo XD, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Shunyata IC/SC, Shunyata Typhon QR/Triton V3/Sigma PCs.

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Magico M2 SP review and Measurements

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •