Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,070

    TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Robert Hartley raved about the Everest and Omega. While our AS contributor and friend Puma Cat (Stephen) wrote a “remarkable” review of the Sigma NR V2.

    Congrats to Caelin and the Shunyata team!
    _______________

    Mike

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    st.moritz
    Posts
    598

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    is there any link to it?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,070

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Not yet. I received the hard copy last week.
    _______________

    Mike

  4. #4

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Digital issues become available after print issues; if memory serves, they become available to digital issue subscribers around the 4th or 5th of the month for the specific issue. So, in this case, as this is the December issue, they should be available for download around Dec. 5th.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    st.moritz
    Posts
    598

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    thx you two.....and yes, the everest is outstanding

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    93

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    I wish someone would compare the Sigma V2 interconnects against the original V1

    ozzy

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    970

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    If Caelin sends me a set of Sigma V2's I'd be happy to do just that!
    Speakers: Magico M3, Q3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and YG Acoustics Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair)

    On Order: Extra isolators for the amp stands

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    93

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    brodricj,
    Do you think that is possible?

    ozzy

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    970

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Considering they won't sell me stuff I'm happy to pay for, the chance of them giving me stuff is zero.
    Speakers: Magico M3, Q3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and YG Acoustics Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair)

    On Order: Extra isolators for the amp stands

  10. #10

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Hi Gang,
    I just got a notice today that the digital version of the December 2020 issue of TAS is now available for subscribers for download. Robert Harley's review of Everest is on page 126.

    And, I just noticed in my Instagram feed today that Everest won a TAS Product of the Year award for Power Product of the Year.

    Login • Instagram

    In my experience, Everest is a "breakthrough" product; congrats to Caelin and the gang at Shunyata Research.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    93

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    I am using a Audioquest Niagara 7000 on a dedicated line for most of my Audio equipment. A 1200 on another dedicated line for my 2 JL Fathom F-113 subs. And a 1000 on a 3rd dedicated for my Home theater equipment.
    I wonder how that would compare to the Everest?

    ozzy

  12. #12

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy View Post
    I am using a Audioquest Niagara 7000 on a dedicated line for most of my Audio equipment. A 1200 on another dedicated line for my 2 JL Fathom F-113 subs. And a 1000 on a 3rd dedicated for my Home theater equipment.
    I wonder how that would compare to the Everest?

    ozzy
    While these power conditioners will reduce noise on the AC mains, they use lots of chokes/coils/inductors to obtain noise reduction (NR), but do so at the expense of dynamic transient current delivery (DTCD), which impacts the dynamics, ability to scale and immediacy of music. Everest obtains zone to zone noise reduction >60dB with no impact on DTCD.

    Everest also has a massive Shunyata QR/BB subsystem, which adds a great deal to the "lifelikeness" of the presentation, the new CMode filter, and the GP-NR ground plane noise reduction system first introduced in the Typhon 3.

    Read Harley's review of it in the current issue of TAS. He described it in his 2020 Golden Ear award description as "mind-blowing".

    Which is the experience I had when I first heard it.

  13. #13

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    I'm confused.. Do you plug your amps into Everest or not? If not, what other component can possibly benefit from dynamic transient current delivery?
    Serge

  14. #14

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by TheOctopus View Post
    I'm confused.. Do you plug your amps into Everest or not?
    Yes.

    And, the other components, specifically the preamp, DAC, and phono stage also really benefit from the QR/BB and Cmode subsystem functionality.

  15. #15

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    I thought I saw a post about tube amps and not plugging in big SS amps? Never mind. It doesn't matter to me. Not enough cowbell for $8K... I'll just let my poor power supplies rectify AC to DC all by themselves...
    Serge

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    93

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Puma Cat,
    Thank you for your reply. I do feel my mono block amps sound better dynamically into the Niagara than into the wall. Not sure about the Shunyata however. Past experience with Shunyata units indicated no.
    Have you ever been able to compare the 2 units personally? The reviews always seem to leave out obvious comparable equipment. I guess so they don't offend the advertisers.

    Has anyone compared them?

    ozzy

  17. #17

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy View Post
    Puma Cat,
    Thank you for your reply. I do feel my mono block amps sound better dynamically into the Niagara than into the wall. Not sure about the Shunyata however. Past experience with Shunyata units indicated no.
    Have you ever been able to compare the 2 units personally? The reviews always seem to leave out obvious comparable equipment. I guess so they don't offend the advertisers.

    Has anyone compared them?

    ozzy
    Hi Ozzy,
    No, I've not compared the two different makes of power distributors. I've been using Shunyata power distributors exclusively since I bought a Hydra 4 many years ago. A local dealer lent me a Power Plant Premier for about a month, but even the entry-level Hydra 4 sounded better. From there it was a Hydra 8, then a Triton v1, which I had for the better part of a decade. The upgrade to the Denali V2 from that was a big step up in performance; the QR/BB device in Denali v2 really brings unique improvements to the presentation. Everest is a yet another and very signficant step up in performance over Denali V2; its QR/BB device is 3X the size of Denali V2, and it also has the benefit of the CMode noise reduction subsystem.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    USA Michigan
    Posts
    93

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Puma Cat,
    So are you plugging power amps into the Everest?

    ozzy

  19. #19

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    I have one power amp and, Yes.

    The power amp really benefits significantly from the QR/BB device in Everest.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    121

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    I have an Everest coming soon. My current power distributor is Synergistic Research PowerCell 12 SE. This will be interesting to compare. The power cord for the Everest is the Sigma EF, as I could not get a Sigma XC in time with my Everest, whatever my dealer had in stock (Shunyata continues to be backed up 3-4 weeks with all v2 stuff). I will give an update here when it arrives.
    B&W 803 D3 | T+A PA 3100 HV | Esoteric N-01XD | Esoteric P-05X | Shunyata Sigma v2 & Alpha v2 | Shunyata Everest

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Greenville SC
    Posts
    356

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Stephen,...great reviews all along and in this issue!
    Legacy Audio VALOR, Legacy Audio i.V4 ULTRA 4ch amp, Legacy Wavelet with HDPlex 200W LPSU & Revelation Audio Labs Passage Cryo-Silver DC Umbilical, Esoteric P-02, D-02, Legacy i.V4 ULTRA, Cybershaft Premium Limited Type2 OP21A 10 MHz Clock, SHUNYATA TRITON v3 & TYPHON QR, Avatar Acoustics AfterBurner8 duplexes, Elrod MASTER SERIES Statement Gold Power cords, Elrod Statement Gold Power cord,, Elrod Statement Gold XLR, Elrod Diamond XLR, Shunyata SIGMA AES/EBU 110ohm, Shunyata SIGMA CLOCK-50, Shunyata SIGMA XLR, Shunyata Anaconda Zitron XLR, Elrod Statement Gold speaker cables x 2, Adona AV45CS4, AV45, Composite Audio CF-2010, HRS DPX Damping Plates, Stillpoints Ultra SS w/Ultra Bases


    Computer Audio/Rip Playback: Apple MacBook Pro 15” 2019, 6-core i9, 32 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Audirvana+ v3, iTunes, REW Audio Analyzer for MacOS, dbPowerAmp, DVD Audio Extractor

  22. #22

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by SCAudiophile View Post
    Stephen,...great reviews all along and in this issue!
    Thanks, Mark.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    491

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    If my experience serves you, I'll tell you that I have a Constellation 1.0 amp. He's not a beast, but he's not shy either: 200 watts. at 8 ohms and 400 watts at 4 ohms, and 240,000 microfarads in the Power Supply. Well, with both my previous Denali V2 and my current Everest, the connection to the wall is worse than the Shunyata conditioner.
    Francisco.
    Aries Cerat Kassandra Ref. MKII / Melco N1ZH60-2 / Audio Research Ref. 5 SE / Constellation Inspiration 1.0 Estéreo / Rockport Atria I / Göbel XLR and RCA cables / Göbel Ethernet and USB cables / MIT Magnum MA Speakers cables / Shunyata Everest 8000 / Shunyata Omega XC, Sigma NR V1 (3) and Alfa NR V1 (2) / Paul Hynes SR7T for Uptone EtherREGEN Switch and Sonore Optical Module / Farad Super3 for IPS Modem-Router / Entreq Olympus Infinity (4) / Entreq Eartha Olympus Infinity Cables (8) / Entreq Everest (8).


  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    121

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by thyname View Post
    I have an Everest coming soon. My current power distributor is Synergistic Research PowerCell 12 SE. This will be interesting to compare. The power cord for the Everest is the Sigma EF, as I could not get a Sigma XC in time with my Everest, whatever my dealer had in stock (Shunyata continues to be backed up 3-4 weeks with all v2 stuff). I will give an update here when it arrives.
    Here is a quick update: the Everest is stunning. Completely transformative! Not exaggerating. I cannot believe what the Everest brings to the table! I was hoping it would be an improvement, but never imagined the extent of it. Astonishing! I find myself so looking forward to coming back from work and listening.

    And I cannot help but be thrilled on the possibility of improving it further. My dealer only had the Sigma EF power cord for it in stock, and I did not want to wait 4 or more weeks. So I will get the Sigma XC v2 later.
    B&W 803 D3 | T+A PA 3100 HV | Esoteric N-01XD | Esoteric P-05X | Shunyata Sigma v2 & Alpha v2 | Shunyata Everest

  25. #25

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by thyname View Post
    Here is a quick update: the Everest is stunning. Completely transformative! Not exaggerating. I cannot believe what the Everest brings to the table! I was hoping it would be an improvement, but never imagined the extent of it. Astonishing! I find myself so looking forward to coming back from work and listening.
    Yup...I know.

    And, congrats! Now, you...understand. It's the kind of product where you have to hear it...to get it.

    It's been the biggest improvement I've made to my system in a decade.

    And as you say, the operative word is...transformative.

    And, the Sigma XC will take it to another level altogether.

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    121

    Re: TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

    Quote Originally Posted by Puma Cat View Post
    Yup...I know.

    And, congrats! Now, you...understand. It's the kind of product where you have to hear it...to get it.

    It's been the biggest improvement I've made to my system in a decade.

    And as you say, the operative word is...transformative.

    And, the Sigma XC will take it to another level altogether.
    Thanks!

    I wouldn’t say in a decade for me, but right up there, equivalent to a component upgrade, like to a better Amp, or to a SOTA DAC. And that is a lot to say in my book.
    B&W 803 D3 | T+A PA 3100 HV | Esoteric N-01XD | Esoteric P-05X | Shunyata Sigma v2 & Alpha v2 | Shunyata Everest

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

TAS 311 Review of Everest, Omega XC and Sigma NR V2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •