Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.

Lumley M100 Fuse Blows

Help! I'm a newbie and I know nothing about tube amplifiers or vintage electronics.

I recently picked up a pair of lumley M100 monobloc amplifiers. I was able to hear them play before I bought them and they sound incredible on a pair of big Bozak speakers. I decided to buy them without the tubes because I wanted to source my own and make sure I knew what I was buying and where I was buying it. So I bought a quad matched set of Mullard KT 88's and just install them.

No I really don't have a good set of speakers because my Polk lsi25s or modern and have a built-in amplifier for the low end.

I decided to bring my Cerwin Vega D9s down from storage, even though they don't work very well and probably need some service. I know they're not exactly the most sophisticated speakers, but they didn't crank in the 80s when I was in college so I figured it was a reasonable match for testing until I get something truly awesome.

After warming up the tubes and slowly bringing the bias up to about 1.5 on the meters, I brought up the volume on my Sunfire theater grand preamplifier and then my right shuttle failed.

The main power light on the lonely amp remained on, meter went dead on both tubes when selecting by us, but the tubes remain lit , The other channel continue to function perfectly.

I then found what I believe to be a blown fuse? But the fuse seem small and I don't understand why the amp would have power with a blown fuse? I've always known fuses to cut power, but maybe the fuses on the output side going to the speakeror maybe the fuse is in between the power source which is AC 120, but why would the light for main power remain on? The meter was dead on both sides.