My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well) - Page 3
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,569
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingrex View Post
    I have lots of Qubuz freezing issues. It hangs up and shutting it down does nothing. It goes right back to the track that hung it up in the first place. Qobuz support is nonexistent. Have no idea Tidal support. Never needes it. Still, I use Qobuz.
    Rex, that sounds like Network issues.

    Before I updated my network, and increased speeds I had issues with Tidal when playing MQA files.

    Since then over a year ago, zero issues!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Source Analog: Kuzma Stabi R with 4point 9 arm & Kuzma 40 Cartridge
    Source Digital: Aurender N10 | Brinkmann Nyquist MK II
    Amplification: Dan D’Agostino Momentum Pre Amp and Monos | Boulder Phono 508
    Speakers: Wilson Alexias
    Cabling: Nordost Valhalla 2/Odin: power, interconnects & speaker | Ansuz: C2 power & interconnect | Audioquest Diamond RJ45’s
    Power: Nordost QRT series | Furutech FP55SN cable from 20 amp breakers within a grounded sub panel to Furutech GTX D NSF packages | Keces P3 & P8 | Surge Guard at Main Panel | ADD POWR series | Environmental Potential EP2050
    Other: HRS M3X | Stillpoints Ultra 6, SS & Mini | Nordost Sort Cones TC & BC | AQ Vox SE switch | etherREGEN | Gigafoil v4 | Vicoustics | Audio Desk Systeme - Gläss








  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    east of Seattle
    Posts
    499
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    I use both Tidal and Quboz; both work flawlessly. high rez from Qudoz can be very good; Tidal MQA a step below but still good. 16/44 from Quboz mostly better than MQA from Tidal.

    I do have a robust network infrastructure and great server and dac with fiber optic cable both on my network and between my dac and server.

    all that said my files on the PCIe drives on my server are the best digital source I've yet heard. streaming sounds wonderful and I love the access to all the music, but for performance files rule at the top of the digital food chain.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Seattle Washington USA
    Posts
    827
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Not network. Its to clean and fast. More likely Windows 10 with AO is interfering. Plus, my system is made to operate very low power. Qobuz uses almost 40% of my resources. I do t upsample, but if I did I am suppose to convert my files beforehand and save them to an internal drive as Mike is noting and play them. I am not to on the fly upsample.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Lavigne View Post
    I use both Tidal and Quboz; both work flawlessly. high rez from Qudoz can be very good; Tidal MQA a step below but still good. 16/44 from Quboz mostly better than MQA from Tidal.

    I do have a robust network infrastructure and great server and dac with fiber optic cable both on my network and between my dac and server.

    all that said my files on the PCIe drives on my server are the best digital source I've yet heard. streaming sounds wonderful and I love the access to all the music, but for performance files rule at the top of the digital food chain.
    I am in agreement with your sentence in bold and I suspect some who drank the MQA Kool-Aid will find what you said to be controversial. Not only do I find that many 16/44.1 files sound better than the MQA versions, this also applies to "hi-rez" files as well. And I put hi-rez in quotations because we don't know the provenance of the files and whether or not they were truly made from the master tape or whether the "hi-rez" files are just upsampled 16/44.1 files.

    The interesting thing here is that we have completely different systems, servers, and DACs and yet we agree that just because a file says "MQA" or "24/192" doesn't mean it will sound better than the 16/44.1 version. To the contrary, many will sound worse unless your bias clouds your hearing. I strongly suspect that in an effort to remove tape hiss from digital files, they are run through some sort of a notch filter. With digital files that at some point in their life originated from an analog tape, you should be able to hear the noise floor of the tape in quiet moments. When you don't, it means other information was stripped out along with the tape hiss. I find it reassuring when I play a file that I know was originally an analog tape recording and I can hear the noise floor of the tape. It usually means I'm going to hear a good to great recording. Coincidentally, I find that happens more on 16.441 files than "hi-rez" files.
    VPI Avenger with 12" 3D arm, Technics SP-10MKII table in custom plinth with custom power supply made by Peter Noerbaek of PBN, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, pair of Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  5. Thanks EmiLiuZ thanked for this post
    Likes EmiLiuZ liked this post
  6. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingrex View Post
    Not network. Its to clean and fast. More likely Windows 10 with AO is interfering. Plus, my system is made to operate very low power. Qobuz uses almost 40% of my resources. I do t upsample, but if I did I am suppose to convert my files beforehand and save them to an internal drive as Mike is noting and play them. I am not to on the fly upsample.
    Windows based servers have issues because they run Windows and Windows always has 1,000 things running in the background. And as long as your Windows server is connected to the internet, you need to have security updates turned on to prevent malware and viruses. I don't know how many times over the years when I was running a Windows server that I had to reboot the server before I could play any files. Sometimes it was because of updates and sometimes just because the computer locked up.

    Since I purchased the Roon Nucleus+, I no longer have those issues. I have never had a file glitch on either Quobuz or Tidal.
    VPI Avenger with 12" 3D arm, Technics SP-10MKII table in custom plinth with custom power supply made by Peter Noerbaek of PBN, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, pair of Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  7. Thanks joeinid thanked for this post
    Likes Mike, Alpinist liked this post
  8. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,599
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Until Qobuz can get sufficient subs and a bigger library, I'm not switching over. I also have a Tidal family account and my girlfriend enjoys her own playlists, albums, etc. Qobuz doesn't have this feature yet.

    I'm really hoping Spotify goes CD quality and I'll move there in an instant. Amazon went, so perhaps not far behind.
    Brinkmann Bardo w/ 47 Labs MC Bee cart, MSB Premier DAC --> Music First Baby Reference v2 --> Audio Research Ref 75SE --> DeVore Fidelity Gibbon X

  9. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithR View Post
    Until Qobuz can get sufficient subs and a bigger library, I'm not switching over. I also have a Tidal family account and my girlfriend enjoys her own playlists, albums, etc. Qobuz doesn't have this feature yet.

    I'm really hoping Spotify goes CD quality and I'll move there in an instant. Amazon went, so perhaps not far behind.
    Me neither. I'm keeping both of them.
    VPI Avenger with 12" 3D arm, Technics SP-10MKII table in custom plinth with custom power supply made by Peter Noerbaek of PBN, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, pair of Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  10. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    west Michigan
    Posts
    485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Has anyone ever considered that these "stutters and freezes" are manufactured to simulate skips and other anomalies as present in vinyl records?
    My System:
    A trusty old Pioneer PD-65 as a Transport, Lumin A-1, a Merrill Heirloom T.T. as sources. A Lampizator DAC to Teo Cables to a SP-14 Tubed PreAmp, Pass XA30.5 , Fusion speaker cables, AudioKinesis Zephryn 46 Speakers. pair Rythmik F-12 subs, EP2050, Kaplan Power cables, Cerious Tech Graphine XT P.C., Hydra power conditioner, Two dedicated 20Amp power lines. DIY corner traps and Acoustic Geometry Curves for room treatment.

  11. Likes UltraFast69 liked this post
  12. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    Quote Originally Posted by jadedavid View Post
    Has anyone ever considered that these "stutters and freezes" are manufactured to simulate skips and other anomalies as present in vinyl records?
    That’s a funny joke.
    VPI Avenger with 12" 3D arm, Technics SP-10MKII table in custom plinth with custom power supply made by Peter Noerbaek of PBN, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, pair of Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  13. Likes Tubes liked this post
  14. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Milford, MI
    Posts
    3,197
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My Switch from Tidal to Qobuz (Roon content as well)

    I have yet to find a MQA version that sounds worse than either a 16/44 version I have or a non MQA Tidal version. There are some that probably sound the same.
    Jim

    D'Agostino Momentum M-400's & HD Pre-amp
    Wilson Alexandria X2 Series 2 speakers
    Digital: dCS Vivaldi DAC, Clock & Upsampler
    Analog: SME 20/3 with Esoteric E-03 Phono
    Transparent Opus Speaker Cable & Interconnects & Opus Power Cords
    Power Cords on Digital: Shunyata

 

 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast