Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    France
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    I was always using the Lumin app on iOS to control my ND8006 (and some Sonos) enabled as openhome renderers by a Bubbleupnp server. I had problems recently with the Lumin app freezing and not recognizing the players if I don't use my iPhone or my iPad for a while.

    Can you please Lumin users confirm that with a Lumin renderer, you do not have this issue, ie the Lumin renderer disappearing after a while making it necessary to kill the Lumin app on iPhone or iPad and reoppening it again?


    All the best.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    77
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    I haven't tried using the Lumin app to interface with the ND8006 via any combination of software. I've only tried using the ND8006 from an iOS app with HEOS and AirPlay. With the Lumin app and the Lumin players, it sometimes takes a few seconds to wake up again if the player is asleep and I haven't used the Lumin app in a while, but that's about it.
    Neko Audio
    Authorized Dealer: AC Infinity, Acoustic Zen, APC, Audeze, Bryston, Devialet, Dirac, Elite HTS, Fortress Seating, LUMIN, Magico, Ortofon, Prism Sound, RME, STAX, Trinnov, & more.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    199
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    Hi skbe, I have been using streamer Lumin for a long time with the Lumin application. Very rarely it happened to me that the application closes, and that you have to touch again to return to normal, this I do not think is so annoying, I had previously other streamers and the applications of each had their problems.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    France
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    Quote Originally Posted by Andik777 View Post
    Hi skbe, I have been using streamer Lumin for a long time with the Lumin application. Very rarely it happened to me that the application closes, and that you have to touch again to return to normal, this I do not think is so annoying, I had previously other streamers and the applications of each had their problems.
    Great news, thank you

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Posts
    166
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    I have found with the Lumin app and many others that closing the app and a reboot of the iPad will usually solve the problem.
    MAIN SYSTEM - Classe Sigma 2200i Integrated Amp, dCS Debussy DAC, dCS Network Bridge, PS Audio P3 Power Plant, Focal Sopra No. 1 Speakers, JL Audio F112 Subwoofer, Synology 20TB NAS, AcousticZen Matrix Reference XLR Interconnects, Audioquest CV-8 Speaker Cables, TimberNation Audio Rack, TimberNation Isolation Platforms, Small Green Computer i5/1TB running Roon

    HOME OFFICE SYSTEM - NAD M10 Integrated Amp/Streamer/DAC, Oppo BDP-103 SACD, KEF LS50 Speakers

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    France
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    Quote Originally Posted by Projectman View Post
    I have found with the Lumin app and many others that closing the app and a reboot of the iPad will usually solve the problem.
    Thank you. You mean that with a Lumin renderer, you still have this problem of the app freezing? In fact, I know that restarting the app solves the problem but this is really annoying.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Posts
    166
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    I have very rarely see the Lumin app freeze on my iPad. I fact I can't remember the last time this happened. I believe it is an iPad or network problem as opposed to a problem with the Lumin app.
    MAIN SYSTEM - Classe Sigma 2200i Integrated Amp, dCS Debussy DAC, dCS Network Bridge, PS Audio P3 Power Plant, Focal Sopra No. 1 Speakers, JL Audio F112 Subwoofer, Synology 20TB NAS, AcousticZen Matrix Reference XLR Interconnects, Audioquest CV-8 Speaker Cables, TimberNation Audio Rack, TimberNation Isolation Platforms, Small Green Computer i5/1TB running Roon

    HOME OFFICE SYSTEM - NAD M10 Integrated Amp/Streamer/DAC, Oppo BDP-103 SACD, KEF LS50 Speakers

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    France
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    I wonder what are the best network settings in order to make this work properly over time.
    I disabled upnp on my router settings. I tried to put my renderer on a 8888 DNS (as I read somewhere in the forums).
    For now nothing is really improving

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    62
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Behaviour of the Lumin app using Lumin renderer

    When things are unstable on iOS like this, I always think it's best to do a restore on the iOS device using iTunes.
    I've had various apps seem to be faulty at times, but always fixed by a restore.
    [Associated with LUMIN]