Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

HT vs Home Audio System

Do most here keep their home theater and home audio systems separate (I do), or do you integrate them? For me, listening to music and listening to/watching HT are two very different things. Also, the cost of a top notch HT system with high quality components is often significantly higher (i.e. the need for subs, a lot more cables, etc.).

And, as a musician, I want my music and system two channel and at the highest quality I can afford. With all the components of a multi, multi, multi-channel system there is more chance for introducing noise to the system and for degradation of the signal. However, I will admit there is a good bit of speculation in this assessment. My two cents.

Re: HT vs Home Audio System

I use to use my Magnepans in a 3.1 system for HT and 2.1 for music. I gave up my HT and just run separate speakers and receiver for TV. My music system is totally separate.
    My Gear- Mains System-Pass X250 amp, BAT VK-51se preamp, Luxman DA-06 DAC, Magnepan 1.6's, Thorens TD-145 TT, Dual Martin Logan Subs, Vintage Luxman T-110 Tuner, Cables-WW Platinum 7 USB, Cardas Parsec XLR, AQ Columbia DBS 72v XLR, Belden 8402 XLR.

Quote Originally Posted by bluegrassphile View Post
    Do most here keep their home theater and home audio systems separate (I do), or do you integrate them? For me, listening to music and listening to/watching HT are two very different things. Also, the cost of a top notch HT system with high quality components is often significantly higher (i.e. the need for subs, a lot more cables, etc.).

And, as a musician, I want my music and system two channel and at the highest quality I can afford. With all the components of a multi, multi, multi-channel system there is more chance for introducing noise to the system and for degradation of the signal. However, I will admit there is a good bit of speculation in this assessment. My two cents.