Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC - Page 2
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Nipomo, CA
    Posts
    3,408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    By far, your best way of storing data for playback is internal within the computer/server. The question of transporting the data becomes moot since at the worse SATA does not have any issues and at the best M.2 drives connect directly to the motherboard similar to RAM. The only use of USB in this case is to transport between the server and the DAC. Definitely no issues doing this for short runs. Additionally, some USB re-clockers have also shown to have positive affects going between the server and the DAC.
    Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2 | T+A AMP 8 | T+A DAC 8 DSD | Falcon Northwest PC | Roon & HQPlayer | W4S Recovery | U-Turn Orbit Special w/ Ortofon 2M Blue | SimAudio 110LP v2 | Record Doctor V | McIntosh MR7083 | Oppo BDP-105 | KEF R700 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3010 | AudioQuest Niagara 1000 | Furman Elite 15i | Burmester Auto System | Astell&Kern AK240 | Audeze LCD-i4

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    135
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Thank you NekoAudio. This is what I was hoping to read. I use the memory playback function provided by jriver 25. So, the music storage hard drive loads data at the start. Do you have any experience with the large number of USB add on devices to improve USB performance?
    Main System: Analog - Linn LP12, Origin Live DC motor and Controller, SME V arm, Benz Ruby H 2 cartridge, Wright Sound preamp. Digital - Intel NUC I-7, 16 gig ram, Jriver media center 24, Wyrd4 Sound 2V2 SE Dac, Fathom Hard Drives.
    H-Cat Version 9 preamp, ARC Reference 75 amp, Custom line source speakers - 10 SB Acoustics midwoofers, 10 Fountek ribbon tweeters. JL Audio Fathom f112 Subs
    Wire - T G Audio, Siltech, Audioquest, Teo, Lewis silver foil.

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike B. View Post
    Thank you NekoAudio. This is what I was hoping to read. I use the memory playback function provided by jriver 25. So, the music storage hard drive loads data at the start. Do you have any experience with the large number of USB add on devices to improve USB performance?
    I'm not 100% sure and it's probably best to ask on the JRiver forum, but having JRiver load all the data into memory just means the full audio data is in RAM on your computer (where JRiver is running). That's different from having the full audio data in memory on your playback device. Old iPods would do this too, because it minimized hard disk spin time to save battery life.

    If your computer is then connected to a DAC over USB for playback, you're using USB Audio for that communication.

    In the majority of cases you shouldn't need any USB reclockers or isolators or similar devices. You could always try one, especially if your environment is noisy or if your computer isn't so great or if your DAC exhibits sensitivity to the USB connection/data, since there are some cases where it might help. But the first thing I'd recommend trying, out of anything, is to use a USB cable with ferrite rings to see if that makes any difference.
    Neko Audio
    Authorized Dealer: AC Infinity, Acoustic Zen, APC, Audeze, Bryston, Devialet, Dirac, Elite HTS, Fortress Seating, LUMIN, Magico, Marantz, Ortofon, Prism Sound, RME, STAX, Trinnov

  4. Likes aKnyght liked this post
  5. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by NekoAudio View Post
    ...In the majority of cases you shouldn't need any USB reclockers or isolators or similar devices. You could always try one, especially if your environment is noisy or if your computer isn't so great or if your DAC exhibits sensitivity to the USB connection/data, since there are some cases where it might help. But the first thing I'd recommend trying, out of anything, is to use a USB cable with ferrite rings to see if that makes any difference.
    +1

    a few months ago i experimented with a USB cable used with a professional, ultra-high-resolution film scanner which has ferrite rings at both ends... wow!! night and day results with a HUGE drop the noise floor. it is not coming out of the system.
    kanjiroba yak + roon rock > t+a dac 8 dsd > almarro a318b > viking acoustics berlin r mk-ii | alp-tone audio alp.wE cables


  6. Likes NekoAudio liked this post
  7. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    971
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by NekoAudio View Post
    I'm not 100% sure and it's probably best to ask on the JRiver forum, but having JRiver load all the data into memory just means the full audio data is in RAM on your computer (where JRiver is running). That's different from having the full audio data in memory on your playback device. Old iPods would do this too, because it minimized hard disk spin time to save battery life.

    If your computer is then connected to a DAC over USB for playback, you're using USB Audio for that communication.

    In the majority of cases you shouldn't need any USB reclockers or isolators or similar devices. You could always try one, especially if your environment is noisy or if your computer isn't so great or if your DAC exhibits sensitivity to the USB connection/data, since there are some cases where it might help. But the first thing I'd recommend trying, out of anything, is to use a USB cable with ferrite rings to see if that makes any difference.
    I too use JRiver as my playback software. I have it set to load the entire track into RAM first then start to play. Works GREAT!
    George
    -----------------------

    Custom C.A.P.S. Reference Music Server with UpTone Audio JS-2 External Linear Power Supply > Aqua La Voce S3 R2R Ladder DAC > Pass Labs XP-20 Preamp > Pass Labs XA160.5 Class A Mono Blocks > Martin Logan Summit X Speakers

    Powered By 2X BPT 3.5 Signature Plus Ultra Isolator | Shunyata Research Hydra Triton + Typhon | UpTone Audio JS-2 LPS | CyberPower Sinewave UPS


  8. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by aKnyght View Post
    +1

    a few months ago i experimented with a USB cable used with a professional, ultra-high-resolution film scanner which has ferrite rings at both ends... wow!! night and day results with a HUGE drop the noise floor. it is not coming out of the system.
    I wouldn't be putting any ferrite cores on any cables used for audio. Ham radio, yes, but not audio (stereo).

  9. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by Puma Cat View Post
    I wouldn't be putting any ferrite cores on any cables used for audio. Ham radio, yes, but not audio (stereo).
    YMMV ...but why not?

    the SQ was nicely improved when i tried a usb cable with ferite rings - confirmed with a simple blind a/b test on a family member. there seems to be a well established noise reduction property to them.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferrite_bead
    kanjiroba yak + roon rock > t+a dac 8 dsd > almarro a318b > viking acoustics berlin r mk-ii | alp-tone audio alp.wE cables


  10. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    294
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by aKnyght View Post
    YMMV ...but why not?

    the SQ was nicely improved when i tried a usb cable with ferite rings - confirmed with a simple blind a/b test on a family member. there seems to be a well established noise reduction property to them.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferrite_bead
    Anything along the lines of ferrite cores, inductors, chokes, etc., used for noise reduction impact dynamics, both macro and micro-dynamics.

    Take at look at the very best USB cables on the market e.g. Audioquest, Shunyata, Nordost, Crystal Cable, Wireworld, etc. They are built to provide absolute best performance regardless of cost. Virtually none of them use a ferrite core on the cable.

  11. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by Puma Cat View Post
    Anything along the lines of ferrite cores, inductors, chokes, etc., used for noise reduction impact dynamics, both macro and micro-dynamics.

    Take at look at the very best USB cables on the market e.g. Audioquest, Shunyata, Nordost, Crystal Cable, Wireworld, etc. They are built to provide absolute best performance regardless of cost. Virtually none of them use a ferrite core on the cable.
    fair enough ...but, given my empirical experience with ferrite cores positively impacting dynamics, i would not dissuade anyone from giving them a try -- and, i think that is all that is being suggested here.

    one can always resort to a $2k USB cable if unhappy with the results.
    kanjiroba yak + roon rock > t+a dac 8 dsd > almarro a318b > viking acoustics berlin r mk-ii | alp-tone audio alp.wE cables


  12. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Nipomo, CA
    Posts
    3,408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Question about using USB for data input and out to DAC

    Quote Originally Posted by NekoAudio View Post
    In the majority of cases you shouldn't need any USB reclockers or isolators or similar devices.
    I have used a Wyred 4 Sound Recovery unit since they were released. I actually grabbed one from EJ a couple of days before they started shipping their first batch ever. I would not say that it is 100% necessary, but I also say it has made a nice improvement. My computer and my USB cables are both very solid. In my view, no matter what level equipment you have the Recovery makes a nice improvement and for its price you simply cannot go wrong. By the way, I use AudioQuest Coffee USB cables. The only real down fall that I have seen is that two USB cables are required, therefore, with good cables this can get a bit pricey . I also recommend an iPower power supply for the unit.
    Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2 | T+A AMP 8 | T+A DAC 8 DSD | Falcon Northwest PC | Roon & HQPlayer | W4S Recovery | U-Turn Orbit Special w/ Ortofon 2M Blue | SimAudio 110LP v2 | Record Doctor V | McIntosh MR7083 | Oppo BDP-105 | KEF R700 | ELAC Debut 2.0 SUB3010 | AudioQuest Niagara 1000 | Furman Elite 15i | Burmester Auto System | Astell&Kern AK240 | Audeze LCD-i4

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2