The Front End Digital Foundation - Page 8
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 108
  1. #71
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,169
    Post Thanks / Like

    The Front End Digital Foundation

    Quick path update.

    P8 > Arris Modem 12v > AQ Diamond > Eeros Router > AQ Diamond > AQ Vox SE > 15M Belden 1303 Catsnake Cat 6/Ghent > P3 > Gigafoil > AQ Diamond > Aurender N10

    Note: Two other A/V home systems are also connected to the AQVoxSE bringing awesome results in sound and in picture quality - running all similar cable has its benefits, the Diamonds are killing it!

    Then I went from the AQVox SE > AQ Vodka > to a cheap Netgear switch powered by LPS.

    There are a few cameras and the video game room on this switch.

    Honestly I could care less about this path, but then I ran a second 6 gauge solid copper grounding cable and the difference was not subtle, and now Iím talking the whole enchilada. Whatís the whole enchilada? I mean everything in the house that is connected with Cat 5/6.

    I may be off but Iím thinking plugging into the Netgear from the AQVox SE provided the benefits stated up in my previous comments, but the signals are going both ways bringing back noise contamination to the AQVox SE for a lack of better term, and component grounding the Netgear out despite receiving electrical ground from the LPS closed yet another loop.

    The audio background became darker than dark, no loss to detail or sound quality on the 2 channel and all the TV blacks are blacker and other colors sharper.

    This does not even make sense, but I can clearly hear and see the difference and not Iím imagining or wanting change, and there are no drugs or drink used in this experiment, conducted strictly out of being curious.

    Takeaway:

    As I said before run a 6 gauge copper grounding wire to your switch, flatten one end using a press or simply beat it with a hammer and drill a hole assuming the switch has a grounding port. Run it to the main water pipe and connect with a brass connecting clamp (both available at a hardware store) unless you can get outdoors to a rod in earth - so easy to do, and for those that are not clear this is passive, so itís not running with hot and neutral wire, two different types of ground.

    Cost is less than a dollar per foot, the return is at 100 times, you can also use less gauge but not sure the quality path you will get.

    And remember, for those of you that are half assed tinkerers like me, you get the self satisfaction of the Hobby part of this crazy thing we call Audio!

    Enjoy Your Sound, Enjoy Summer!
    Source Analog: Kuzma Stabi R with 4point 9 arm & Kuzma 40 Cartridge
    Source Digital: Aurender N10 | Brinkmann Nyquist MK II
    Amplification: Dan DíAgostino Momentum Pre Amp and Monos | Boulder Phono 508
    Speakers: Wilson Alexias
    Cabling: Nordost Valhalla 2/Odin: power, interconnects & speaker | Ansuz: C2 power & interconnect | Audioquest Diamond RJ45ís
    Power: Nordost QRT series | Keces P3 & P8 | Furutech GTX D NSF package | Dedicated 20 amp with Surge Guard | ADD POWR series
    Other: HRS M3X | Stillpoints Ultra 6, SS & Mini | Nordost Sort Cones TC & BC | AQ Vox SE switch | Gigafoil v4 | Vicoustics






  2. #72
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    649
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingrex View Post
    I have a HDplex linear PS on it's way to me. Should have it in a few days. It does 19v and 12v so perfect to address my router and modem. Thanks for all the encouragement Ed.

    We need to compare the HDplex and Keces. I will bring it by one day. It will be a couple weeks before my schedule opens up.
    Kingrex,

    Did you ever compare the HDPlex and the Keces? If so, which particular models?
    Anthony
    Analog: VPI CLASSIC 3/Ortofon A95> Nordost Valhalla XLR> ASR Basis Exclusive> Wireworld Gold XLR--->

    Digital: Mac Mini (for now)> WW Plat Ethernet> CARY DMS-600>> WW Plat XLR-->

    ===> Cary SLP-05>> WW Gold XLR> Bryston 28B-SST2>> WW Silver> MARTIN LOGAN SPIRES

    [Shunyata/Furutech/Blue Circle/SRA/Adona/ Stillpoints/Track Audio/GIK Acoustics]

  3. #73
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Seattle Washington USA
    Posts
    716
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Never compared. But I definitely hear an improvement with the HDplex on my router and modem. They make a difference.
    Right now its only on one. I forget which. I was having drop outs. Not sure why. Could have been the utility. All was fine on both for a week. Could be I was maxing out the 100 watt PS. I might go back to both and see.

  4. #74
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    174
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    For a few months, I used a Keces P3 to power the Att Arris Modem. (And a Topaz iso transformer was in front of the Keces)

    A few weeks ago, the modem went bad. An Att tech deduced that the Keces killed it and charged me for a new modem and service call.
    Reason given: "wrong amperage for the modem."

    I was out of town at the time, but having just returned, I see that the Keces output is 3 amp and does in fact match the 3 amp input of the modem.

    I'm going to challenge Att on this, but just wondering if I could be overlooking anything beyond the obvious?

    Thanks
    Source: Taiko Audio Server, Cisco 2960 Switch, Gigafoil, Lampizator Pacific Dac. Amp: Luxman 300q power amp Speakers: AvantGarde Duo Mezzo XD, Cables: Alan Maher Designs Power, Duelund Speaker, Shunyata Sigma IC's Audioquest Diamond ethernet. Room Treatment Vicoustic.

  5. #75
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    24,280
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Sounds like ATT is trying to place the blame on someone else. No issues here.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Constellation Audio, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, JL Audio, Keces Power Supplies, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, SRA, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  6. #76
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Seattle Washington USA
    Posts
    716
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    I don't believe the Keces power supply had anything to do with the failure of the modem. Modems and routers fail all the time. Especially a combination modem router. They have too much to do and they just can't handle it.
    '
    Legally it's a completely different story. You have altered the power supply and that alone would negate any implied warranties.

    I don't know how a Keces is design, but I gather switch mode power supplies always output a constant "voltage". I have heard linear power supplies voltage can swing based upon the load. I don't think that is a problem with keces. I believe it is a regulated voltage but who knows, there could be something to that.

  7. #77
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    174
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingrex View Post
    I don't believe the Keces power supply had anything to do with the failure of the modem. Modems and routers fail all the time. Especially a combination modem router. They have too much to do and they just can't handle it.
    '
    Legally it's a completely different story. You have altered the power supply and that alone would negate any implied warranties.

    .
    Thatís what I was afraid of. That Att can just say you put an unauthorized power supply in front of our modem whether or not it meets specs.

    Something tells me Iím in for a lot of frustration if I try to fight them on this...
    Source: Taiko Audio Server, Cisco 2960 Switch, Gigafoil, Lampizator Pacific Dac. Amp: Luxman 300q power amp Speakers: AvantGarde Duo Mezzo XD, Cables: Alan Maher Designs Power, Duelund Speaker, Shunyata Sigma IC's Audioquest Diamond ethernet. Room Treatment Vicoustic.

  8. #78
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,796
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingrex View Post
    Modems and routers fail all the time. Especially a combination modem router. They have too much to do and they just can't handle it.
    Bullshit. They can handle their function just fine without being overloaded processor or logic wise.

    More likely, is a brown out condition or multiple brown outs in the A/C feed (ala storm activity) that killed the AT&T device.

  9. #79
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,169
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Quote Originally Posted by Willco View Post
    For a few months, I used a Keces P3 to power the Att Arris Modem. (And a Topaz iso transformer was in front of the Keces)

    A few weeks ago, the modem went bad. An Att tech deduced that the Keces killed it and charged me for a new modem and service call.
    Reason given: "wrong amperage for the modem."

    I was out of town at the time, but having just returned, I see that the Keces output is 3 amp and does in fact match the 3 amp input of the modem.

    I'm going to challenge Att on this, but just wondering if I could be overlooking anything beyond the obvious?

    Thanks
    Here is what the P8 is doing, the higher amperage is the modem, the lesser, the switch both running 12V and together about 1.1 amp.







    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Source Analog: Kuzma Stabi R with 4point 9 arm & Kuzma 40 Cartridge
    Source Digital: Aurender N10 | Brinkmann Nyquist MK II
    Amplification: Dan DíAgostino Momentum Pre Amp and Monos | Boulder Phono 508
    Speakers: Wilson Alexias
    Cabling: Nordost Valhalla 2/Odin: power, interconnects & speaker | Ansuz: C2 power & interconnect | Audioquest Diamond RJ45ís
    Power: Nordost QRT series | Keces P3 & P8 | Furutech GTX D NSF package | Dedicated 20 amp with Surge Guard | ADD POWR series
    Other: HRS M3X | Stillpoints Ultra 6, SS & Mini | Nordost Sort Cones TC & BC | AQ Vox SE switch | Gigafoil v4 | Vicoustics






  10. #80
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Seattle Washington USA
    Posts
    716
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Front End Digital Foundation

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeCh View Post
    Bullshit. They can handle their function just fine without being overloaded processor or logic wise.

    More likely, is a brown out condition or multiple brown outs in the A/C feed (ala storm activity) that killed the AT&T device.
    I disagree. When mine went bad I had a local computer tech company inspect my system and they told me what I relayed here. Mine started as intermittent dropping out that became so bad I finally could not connect. It was not a total failure, loss of power, wont start. They very much said a Combo modem and router is to much processing demand. They suggested I go with separates. When I did I also realized a nice bump in sound quality that was validated by a few other industry members on Audionirvana. Separated that is sound better than a combo unit.

    I agree a true brown out can cause the unit to heat up and fail. Small spikes maybe. A lightning strike yes definitely. It is my belief my 75 ohm isolator that was destroyed in our last lightning storm may have saved some of my gear. I should have remembered to disconnect my Ethernet. I guess I got lucky.
    First Sound Mark3SI preamp, Altec Lansing 1570B modded by Transition Audio Design and myself, Mojo Audio CAT Server running Win Server 2016 AO HQ and Roon, Mojo Audio Mystic 3 DAC, Linear Solution Ethernet Switch, Custom TT with Vertere Arm, Denon 103R Midas with sapphire cantilever line contact diamond, Allnic H1201 phono pre, Pure Audio Project Trio 10 with performance Solen air core chokes and Mundord Supreme oil caps, Power via 10 awg OFC cord from panel to custom distribution strip, Inakustik speaker and interconnect cables, Genesis Interconnect.

 

 
Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast