Lumin T2 - Page 25
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 25 of 27 FirstFirst ... 15 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 267

Thread: Lumin T2

  1. #241
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    24,371
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio4me View Post
    I asked this about the D2 so now I'll ask, does the T2 streaming of Tidal and Quobuz sound better than a cd?
    No. Streaming never reaches the SQ of a CD.

    CD = 10/10
    Streaming = 8/10 to 9/10 depending on a number of other factors.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Constellation Audio, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones & Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, JL Audio, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, SRA, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #242
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Quote Originally Posted by AVphile View Post
    Now that I have thoroughly "broken-in" my T2 -- and find its streaming/DAC functionality sonically outstanding -- a new problem has suddenly developed: the Lumin app will not connect with my T2.
    Please power down Lumin T2, iPad, and all network devices. Power cycle the WiFi router and all network switches / access points. Wait for 5 minutes then power up the Lumin and iPad.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  3. #243
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio4me View Post
    I asked this about the D2 so now I'll ask, does the T2 streaming of Tidal and Quobuz sound better than a cd?
    From a specification point of view, both Tidal and Qobuz offer the same class of lossless 16/44.1 CD-quality with the appropriate subscription. In addition, Tidal offers MQA for no additional cost, and Qobuz offers Hi-Res for a higher subscription price.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  4. #244
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Does an upgraded power cord for the T2 make a difference in sound quality (not sbooster discussion but the power cord itself)? If so, any suggestions?

  5. #245
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,504
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio4me View Post
    Does an upgraded power cord for the T2 make a difference in sound quality (not sbooster discussion but the power cord itself)? If so, any suggestions?
    I’ve own two Lumins - S1 and X1. In both cases, upgrading the PC has brought very good improvements. I’ve used Shunyata Alpha and Sigma with the Lumins with excellent results.

    For a more reasonable option, the Shunyata Delta is worth a try.
    _______________

    Mike

  6. #246
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    341
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    I have Lumin T1 and upgraded the PowerCord to Nordost Heimdal and that was also a very good improvement in sound.
    Flemming

  7. #247
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Peter,
    Any chance you could add a function similar to what Auralic has in their Lightning DS platform called Flexible Filter? I think it controls the general sound characteristic of the dac. Choices are Precise, Dynamic, Balance and Smooth. The reviewers seem to like the changes in sound quality it makes. I have a friend says the Smooth setting makes his Altair sound more tube like.

  8. #248
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Since Lumin does not support DSP, please try Roon DSP Engine.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  9. #249
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    Thanks Peter. It would be nice to have those settings available from within the Lumin app itself rather than having to subscribe to roon. What is it about lumin's software that does not allow it to support DSP where another vendor is able to do so. Is it possible for you to add DSP support since another vendor was able to? I think it would give Lumin another edge in the marketplace.

  10. #250
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin T2

    This has recently been discussed here from post 16 to 22:
    https://www.audioshark.org/showthrea...l=1#post283631
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

 

 
Page 25 of 27 FirstFirst ... 15 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 LastLast

Tags for this Thread