Magico M6 Review
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,287
    Post Thanks / Like

    Magico M6 Review

    http://www.theabsolutesound.com/articles/magico-m6/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. Thanks Gene, NekoAudio thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    252
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Saw this earlier. It's a great read.
    Sincerely,

    Joe



    Amps: Pass X260.8s *** Pre-Amp: Pass XP22 *** Headphone Amp: Pass HPA-1 *** Speakers: Magico A3ís *** Magico A3 Grills *** Headphones: Focal Utopia *** Digital: Luxman D-08u SACD *** Aurender ACS10 CD Ripper & N100 Streamer *** Power: Shunyata Hydra Alpha A12 Power Conditioner *** AQ NRG Edison 20 *** Cables: Shunyata *** Rack: Bamboo SVT Quadrasphire *** Accessories: Herbie's Audio Lab Giant Titanium Cone Decoupling Gliders *** Russ Andrews Cable Elevators

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    S„o Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    52
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    The same tweeter, different sound because of diffraction is very interesting.
    1. Sonore ultraRendu - Uptone ISO Regen - Mola Mola Makua - Apollon NC800 SL PRO - Thiel CS3.7
    2. Focusrite 6i6 2nd gen - Calyx Femti - Monitor Audio PL100
    3. Hidizs S8 - Audeze LCDi3

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    252
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    This paragraph is what grabbed me. Talking about high-tech:

    Looking next at the drivers, the three 10.5" woofers and single 6" midrange driver are updated versions of the graphene-infused Nano-Tech driver technology that debuted in the Q7. The motor is the same, but the cone benefits from a second-generation implementation of graphene, a wonder material that is extraordinarily strong but adds virtually no weight to the cone. According to Wikipedia, graphene is ďa two-dimensional, atomic-scale hexagonal lattice in which one atom forms each vertex.Ē That is, this form of carbon isnít a fiber or a nanotube, but a lattice structure just one atom thick. Graphene is 200 times stronger than steel by weight. To quote from my review of the Q7, which saw the debut of graphene in loudspeaker cones: ďThe combination of lightness and stiffness is the Holy Grail of driver design; the lightness allows the diaphragm to start and stop quickly by virtue of its low mass, and the stiffness prevents the diaphragm from flexing (and thus introducing distortion) under the stress of being driven by a voice coil attached near the diaphragmís center. A light diaphragm can also provide superior low-level resolution; musicís very fine details are not obscured by the diaphragmís inertia. Think about the very low-level components of an audio signalóthe most delicate musical details of timbre, microdynamics, and ambienceóapplied to two drivers, one of them with a high-mass diaphragm and a stiff surround material, and the second with a featherweight cone and very compliant surround. Itís easy to visualize how, with the high-mass cone, musicís very fine structure would fall below the driverís ability to move in response to the signal. The driverís mechanical structures set a threshold below which no information can be resolved. But the lighter the diaphragm, the more powerful and sophisticated the motor structure, and the more carefully designed the surround material and shape, the lower that threshold becomes. The result is an increase in low-level detail. Moreover, lighter diaphragms more faithfully reproduce the leading-edge attack of transient signals, which translates to a greater sense of realism and better conveys microdynamic expression.Ē
    Sincerely,

    Joe



    Amps: Pass X260.8s *** Pre-Amp: Pass XP22 *** Headphone Amp: Pass HPA-1 *** Speakers: Magico A3ís *** Magico A3 Grills *** Headphones: Focal Utopia *** Digital: Luxman D-08u SACD *** Aurender ACS10 CD Ripper & N100 Streamer *** Power: Shunyata Hydra Alpha A12 Power Conditioner *** AQ NRG Edison 20 *** Cables: Shunyata *** Rack: Bamboo SVT Quadrasphire *** Accessories: Herbie's Audio Lab Giant Titanium Cone Decoupling Gliders *** Russ Andrews Cable Elevators

  6. Likes Mike liked this post
  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Reading that review makes then M6 almost seem coloured in the way it produces music - quite different to how Magico started making speakers.
    Source: TW Raven AC-3 - Thales Simplicity II, Graham Phantom, SME 3012-R, Exclusive P3,Technics SL-1000MK3D,Linn LP12 - Naim ARO
    Cartridges: Lyra Atlas SL Etna SL, Delos, Dynavector XV-1s,Technics EPC100mk4, Ortofon A90, GM Royal, GM Classic, Denon ESC'd 103R, DL-S1, Audio Technica AT25, OC9II, Linn ESC'd Troika
    Phono Stage: TW Acustik phono, Accuphase C-37
    EQ: ​DEQX HDP-4
    Preamp: conrad johnson GAT,
    Amps: conrad johnson teflon premier 8a's, D'Agostino Momentum S250
    Speakers: Wilson Maxx3

  8. #6
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,287
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by XV-1 View Post
    Reading that review makes then M6 almost seem coloured in the way it produces music - quite different to how Magico started making speakers.
    Musically and engineering wise, they have evolved dramatically.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  9. Likes XV-1 liked this post
  10. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    I wonder how much better the M6 is than the M3 since it costs $100K more. I was at Magico a while ago and compared the S5 Mk II to the S7. While the S7 was a bit better, it didnít strike me as $25K more than the S5 better.
    Bud

    Lumin X1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for preamp, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  11. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,498
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    IMO the S7 is basicly the S5 mk 2 for bigger rooms.
    Adam

    Speakers: Magico M3
    Amp: Vitus SM-103 / MSB M202
    Digital: Lampi Pacific + Lampi DSD Komputer
    Cables: AQ WEL Signature IC / Shunyata Anaconda Z-Tron SC / AQ Hurricane PCs

  12. #9
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,287
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Elberoth View Post
    IMO the S7 is basicly the S5 mk 2 for bigger rooms.
    The S7 seems to be the forgotten child. I have to say, to me, it completely disappears and is more complete than the S5 mk2. If you can handle itís size, itís wonderful. Give it lots of power and stand back!




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  13. Likes Gene, Dguitarnut liked this post
  14. #10
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,287
    Post Thanks / Like

    Magico M6 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFox View Post
    I wonder how much better the M6 is than the M3 since it costs $100K more. I was at Magico a while ago and compared the S5 Mk II to the S7. While the S7 was a bit better, it didnít strike me as $25K more than the S5 better.
    Good question. All comes down to room size and budget. Once you get to S7 then you have to decide against M2/M3 which would not be easy to do! M3 remains my favorite for the $$ and my rooms. It filled our 20 x 25 like nobodyís business. The M2 is more happy in the 17 x 25. We donít have a room big enough to test the limits of the S7! They can fill any room!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  15. Likes Gene, Calvin, kzhtoo, apdoc2004, Dguitarnut liked this post
 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast