Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    28,975
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Block Audio, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, HiFi Rose, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tampa FL
    Posts
    271

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    This review comes as no suprise. Great company with universally great products.

    EG
    Wadax Reference DAC and Server (On Order)
    Block Audio Line Stage and PreAmp
    Woo Audio WA33 Elite Headphone Amp
    Transparent Opus Gen6 XLR interconnects
    Shunyata Sigma QR-s power cords
    Shunyata Everest power conditioner
    Audeze, Abyss, HiFiman and Stax headphones

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    293

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Thanks for posting this Mike!

  4. #4

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    I love my A3s. Thanks Mike for posting and all your help in the selection of and setting up my system.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,660

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Welcome to the forum, thank you for joining.
    Fleetwood Deville by Oswald Mills Audio, Vienna Acoustics Haydn Jubilee, Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Job INTegrated. Luxman L-595aSE

    NAD C 658 streamer.

    First Watt SIT-3, Job 250 Monos, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos. Absolute Audio Labs PCF 25 amp (improved First Watt F7 super clone)

    Topping D90, RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,531

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quite an endorsement. The A3s are quite competitive at their price point.
    _______________

    Mike

    Amplification: MBL 6010D, MBL 9008A Monos
    Analog: Kuzma R, Kuzma 4Point (11”), MSL Ultra Eminent EX
    Phono Pre: Pass XP-27
    Digital: Esoteric N01XD Esoteric K05
    Speakers: MBL 101E MKII
    Subwoofers: REL Carbon Specials
    Conditioner: Shunyata Triton 3
    Power Cables: Shunyata Sigma 1 & 2, Alpha 2, Delta and Venom
    ICs and SCs: Wireworld Platinum 8
    Rack: Artesania Exoteryc

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    293

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Now I just need to get my dealer to commit to a delivery date. I may just go over there myself with a friend and a truck and bring my A3's home . . . set them up . . . and get the dealer to come over after a few hundred hours on them.

    I don't feel that I NEED help with them. Yeah, $10,000 speakers should come with white glove delivery, and if I'm willing to wait they would. I don't really need to wait.

    What do others think??
    Sources: Naim ND555/555PS | Roon Nucleus | Naim Soltstice Special Edition turntable and phono stage
    Amplification: Naim 552/500DR
    Interconnects: Ansuz/Chord Music/Naim SuperLumina
    AC Power: Ansuz C2
    Speakers: Magico S5MkII

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    879

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Bart001 View Post
    Now I just need to get my dealer to commit to a delivery date. I may just go over there myself with a friend and a truck and bring my A3's home . . . set them up . . . and get the dealer to come over after a few hundred hours on them.

    I don't feel that I NEED help with them. Yeah, $10,000 speakers should come with white glove delivery, and if I'm willing to wait they would. I don't really need to wait.

    What do others think??
    Dealer setup after break in sounds like a good plan. Perhaps that is a better way for dealers to install.

    A3s easily fit into many SUVs. You do not necessarily need a truck.

  9. #9
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    28,975

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Go get them! They’re very manageable.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Block Audio, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, HiFi Rose, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Auburn, Washington USA
    Posts
    336

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Bart001 View Post
    Now I just need to get my dealer to commit to a delivery date. I may just go over there myself with a friend and a truck and bring my A3's home . . . set them up . . . and get the dealer to come over after a few hundred hours on them.

    I don't feel that I NEED help with them. Yeah, $10,000 speakers should come with white glove delivery, and if I'm willing to wait they would. I don't really need to wait.


    What do others think??
    Congratulations on the news.

    My dealer drove over 4 hours to deliver and setup my A3s. Tell that to you dealer.




    IMG_0262.jpg

    I made these to help with moving and setup.
    Integrated: Gryphon Diablo 300 plus DAC
    Speakers: Magico A3 with Apods and grills
    Subs: SVS1000 Pro (2)-CD/DVD: Oppo 205
    Streamer: HiFi Rose RS150b
    Cables: Cardas-Shunyata-AudioQuest-Supra
    Roon Core: sonicTransporter i7 powered with HDPlex 200w linear PS, running Roon- Tital and Qobuz with iPad Pro

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    293

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    They'll drive them over, but have other work in line ahead of me. And I'm impatient!!

    I have some sliders I can use to slide 'em around for positioning. We have hardwood flooring, so they'll live on sliders even once properly positioned.

    I bought the APODs, but don't want spikes on my wooden floor directly.
    Sources: Naim ND555/555PS | Roon Nucleus | Naim Soltstice Special Edition turntable and phono stage
    Amplification: Naim 552/500DR
    Interconnects: Ansuz/Chord Music/Naim SuperLumina
    AC Power: Ansuz C2
    Speakers: Magico S5MkII

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Auburn, Washington USA
    Posts
    336

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    I'm really happy for you. I'm also curious to hear your impressions over time. My next upgrade I plan on is the Apods. I've thought about the Gaia II for the A3s but haven't read anyone using them with the A3s. They may actually effect the height of the speaker.
    Integrated: Gryphon Diablo 300 plus DAC
    Speakers: Magico A3 with Apods and grills
    Subs: SVS1000 Pro (2)-CD/DVD: Oppo 205
    Streamer: HiFi Rose RS150b
    Cables: Cardas-Shunyata-AudioQuest-Supra
    Roon Core: sonicTransporter i7 powered with HDPlex 200w linear PS, running Roon- Tital and Qobuz with iPad Pro

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    879

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Darrel View Post
    I'm really happy for you. I'm also curious to hear your impressions over time. My next upgrade I plan on is the Apods. I've thought about the Gaia II for the A3s but haven't read anyone using them with the A3s. They may actually effect the height of the speaker.
    GAIA II's yield 2.25" from the floor to the underside of the base.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,837

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Bart001 View Post
    I bought the APODs, but don't want spikes on my wooden floor directly.
    Use brass coasters under the spikes. They work great, and spiking speakers is a big benefit for the sound.

    FE605D5B-3816-4428-8274-7197410DFBEC.jpeg
    Bud

    Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR for source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson four shelf maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    458

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Bart, I would imagine the A3s come with metal coasters for under the spikes. My advice is to pick them up from Goodwins, set them up yourself, let them break in with digital music on a loop 24/7 for one week (168 hours) or ten days and then schedule a time for Goodwins to come over and fine-tune the set up/speaker placement. It might even be fun to set them up yourself and compare that to what Goodwins does.

    It is fun to do the initial work yourself, at least when the speakers are of this manageable size. Unpack them, inspect them, move them, read the manual, etc. Use this time to get to know them as objects and appreciate the build quality. Then schedule set up with Goodwins after they are broken in.

    I don't know how exacting Goodwins is, but I am a big believer in using a laser and experimenting with all parameters: distance to front wall, side walls, toe-in, tilt, etc. The more accurate the better. Use a variety of your favorite music. I found that it took me about a month to get to settle on one position with my Q3s, as every slight movement affected some sonic attribute.

    While they break in, you should be able to locate the best spot for the listening seat based on smoothest bass response. Also play with seating height. I suggest an office chair on rollers for experimenting. Move your seat to that spot, so Goodwins won't have to deal with that unless you ask them to confirm it. It can all make a difference.

    Congratulations, and enjoy the process.
    Link to my system thread: https://www.whatsbestforum.com/threa...l-sound.32867/
    Analog: Micro Seiki SX 8000 II, 2 NOS SME 3012R tonearms, 2 vdH Colibri Grand Cru, Colibri XPP
    Electronics: Lamm LP2.1 Deluxe, Lamm LL1.1 Signature, Lamm ML2
    Speakers: Vitavox CN-191 corner horns
    Cables: Stock SME phono cables, DIY ICs and speaker cables, Ching Cheng power cords, custom rack and amp stands

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Auburn, Washington USA
    Posts
    336

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    In my picture of the sliders. Those are the coaster used under the A3s spikes. I have my A3s on a carpeted floor.

    Also Don the distance from the bottom of my A3s to the carpet is 1.5". The GAIA II also have a add on piece that goes under the GAIA for those that have the speakers on a carpeted floor. So, that would add about 1" of height. That may not be a big deal.
    Integrated: Gryphon Diablo 300 plus DAC
    Speakers: Magico A3 with Apods and grills
    Subs: SVS1000 Pro (2)-CD/DVD: Oppo 205
    Streamer: HiFi Rose RS150b
    Cables: Cardas-Shunyata-AudioQuest-Supra
    Roon Core: sonicTransporter i7 powered with HDPlex 200w linear PS, running Roon- Tital and Qobuz with iPad Pro

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    293

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Thanks Peter! My buddy will come over tomorrow morning and help me fetch them from Goodwins, and also bring my current speakers over there (I'm trading them in). Then the fun will really begin!!!
    Sources: Naim ND555/555PS | Roon Nucleus | Naim Soltstice Special Edition turntable and phono stage
    Amplification: Naim 552/500DR
    Interconnects: Ansuz/Chord Music/Naim SuperLumina
    AC Power: Ansuz C2
    Speakers: Magico S5MkII

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    458

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Bart, one more thing. During the break in process and positioning, you can use the APods with the metal coasters all on top of the vinyl sliders (from Home Depot) to facilitate easy movement. Just push the speaker gently from down low to move it short distances.
    Link to my system thread: https://www.whatsbestforum.com/threa...l-sound.32867/
    Analog: Micro Seiki SX 8000 II, 2 NOS SME 3012R tonearms, 2 vdH Colibri Grand Cru, Colibri XPP
    Electronics: Lamm LP2.1 Deluxe, Lamm LL1.1 Signature, Lamm ML2
    Speakers: Vitavox CN-191 corner horns
    Cables: Stock SME phono cables, DIY ICs and speaker cables, Ching Cheng power cords, custom rack and amp stands

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,964

    Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Bart001 View Post
    Now I just need to get my dealer to commit to a delivery date. I may just go over there myself with a friend and a truck and bring my A3's home . . . set them up . . . and get the dealer to come over after a few hundred hours on them.

    I don't feel that I NEED help with them. Yeah, $10,000 speakers should come with white glove delivery, and if I'm willing to wait they would. I don't really need to wait.

    What do others think??
    Wouldn’t think twice about it assuming you are confident in handling the speakers, no pressure just use common sense to prevent damage - read what ever they give you for unpacking and set up - I used my 12 daughter and 14 year old son to help me uncrate my Alexias a few years back trying to sneak them in before my wife got home. Funny thing she just noticed them the other day, they are almost 4 years old.

    Set up was 1 hour 15 minutes, and these came in three wooden crates screwed shut - I timed it, and placement was easy. My dealer came up after all the work spent 4 hours and his tweaking was not all that far off from what I did, your ears will tell you.

    Plus getting engaged is the “Hobby” part of things


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Source Analog: Kuzma Stabi R w/4point 11 arm | Kuzma 50 Cartridge
    Source Digital: Aurender N10 | Brinkmann Nyquist MK II
    Amplification: Dan D’Agostino Momentum HD and M400’s | Boulder 508
    Speakers: Wilson Alexias
    Cabling: Nordost Leif, Norse, V2 and Odin
    Power and Isolation: Audio-Ultra Home & Room Power Foundation Performance Package with StromTank S1000 | HRS









  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,277

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Bart001 View Post
    What do others think??
    Wait. Have the dealer deal with it in their own time.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    879

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by UltraFast69 View Post
    Wouldn’t think twice about it assuming you are confident in handling the speakers, no pressure just use common sense to prevent damage - read what ever they give you for unpacking and set up - I used my 12 daughter and 14 year old son to help me uncrate my Alexias a few years back trying to sneak them in before my wife got home. Funny thing she just noticed them the other day, they are almost 4 years old.

    Set up was 1 hour 15 minutes, and these came in three wooden crates screwed shut - I timed it, and placement was easy. My dealer came up after all the work spent 4 hours and his tweaking was not all that far off from what I did, your ears will tell you.

    Plus getting engaged is the “Hobby” part of things


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    You made your children complicit!

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canada/HK
    Posts
    312

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canada/HK
    Posts
    312

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    As good (or better) then the Giya G4 ??
    https://www.soundstageultra.com/inde...ipment-reviews

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,277

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    My 20+ year old $1000 Definitive Technology BP10 are better than Giya G4. And compared to my Magico S1, Giya 4 doesn't even come remotely close. I heard G4 (series 1) with McIntosh electronics at a dealer showroom about 2 months ago and it was simply dreadful.

  25. #25

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by brodricj View Post
    My 20+ year old $1000 Definitive Technology BP10 are better than Giya G4. And compared to my Magico S1, Giya 4 doesn't even come remotely close. I heard G4 (series 1) with McIntosh electronics at a dealer showroom about 2 months ago and it was simply dreadful.
    A vivid speaker powered by McIntosh electronics ? If so , the issue is probably with the electronics and not the speakers. Vivid like magico is a low distortion speaker. Simply conveying the electronics connected to them.

  26. #26
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    28,975

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    HIFI CRITIC Magico’s A-game — Magico Loudspeakers


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Berkeley Audio Design, Block Audio, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, HiFi Rose, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    199

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    the 10K USD speaker for 18K GBP nowadays.
    Moon 700i V2, YG Acoustics Hailey, Aurender N10, dCS Rossini, Oppo BDP103D (audiopraise board), Ansuz Mainz 8 D2

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,277

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by imprezap2 View Post
    the 10K USD speaker for 18K GBP nowadays.
    M3 is 100K GBP. What I found odd about the UK/EU HiFi market, given the very high prices, was selling used gear into that market. I thought my Q3 was very competitively priced at $13K GBP pitched to the UK market but I didn't get a sniff of interest in 3 years.
    Speakers: Magico M3,ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair) | Source: Kaleidescape Premiere

    On order: Esoteric Grandioso D1X.
    On wish list: Shunyata Research Everest.
    On sale: Everything!

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    199

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    My dealer has the M3's in his main rig now (+ TAD Reference 1 mkII), both fantastic speakers but very different.

    I think I did have an email conversation with you a few years ago regarding the Q3's (ebay), my dealer had a pair of Q3's for sale at the time too, a bit older then yours but around the same price. A bit later I decided to go for the YG acoustics Hailey.
    Moon 700i V2, YG Acoustics Hailey, Aurender N10, dCS Rossini, Oppo BDP103D (audiopraise board), Ansuz Mainz 8 D2

  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,277

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    What I struggle to comprehend is the chasm between there being no interest in used Q3 at $13K in a market where M3 sells for 100K. Having owned both there isn't that much of a leap going from Q3 to M3 to justify the price gap.
    Speakers: Magico M3,ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair) | Source: Kaleidescape Premiere

    On order: Esoteric Grandioso D1X.
    On wish list: Shunyata Research Everest.
    On sale: Everything!

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    199

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    I agree, I can not set myself in buying speakers costing more then my Lexus, for a long time I gave myself a 10K euro budget per piece of equipment to enjoy this hobby.
    Have to admit I did let that budget go a bit the last few years.

    Q3 is still a great speaker, in my mind the sweetspot in the Q range, but the M3 is a better speaker (but I can see where you come from with that price difference)
    Moon 700i V2, YG Acoustics Hailey, Aurender N10, dCS Rossini, Oppo BDP103D (audiopraise board), Ansuz Mainz 8 D2

  32. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    29

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    [QUOTE=brodricj;...Having owned both there isn't that much of a leap going from Q3 to M3 to justify the price gap.[/QUOTE]

    So why did you buy the M3?

  33. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,277

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    The M3, like everything I own, was bought unseen unheard. So I had no idea how it compared to Q3.
    Speakers: Magico M3,ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair) | Source: Kaleidescape Premiere

    On order: Esoteric Grandioso D1X.
    On wish list: Shunyata Research Everest.
    On sale: Everything!

  34. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    29

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    well then, now you know, you can sell them buy the Q3 back at a fire sale price, and enjoy the change.

  35. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,277

    Re: Magico A3 Review

    M3 is more aesthetically pleasing to my eye, so I will keep it. I have no upgrade path from M3 as M6 would be too large for my room. Plus, M6 is twice the price of M3 so that upgrade wouldn't make sense even if I had the space for it. All things considered, M3 fits the sweet spot in the whole M-series. I have an Esoteric Grandioso D1X on order which I suspect M3 would leverage better performance out of than Q3 could. I'm probably yet to discover how good M3 can sound. Again, I haven't seen or heard D1X so that purchase was another leap of faith. My M3, S-sub, D1X will be the only examples within 2000km+ from where I live. This level of gear is not available to demo, either in a show room or local private owner.
    Speakers: Magico M3,ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.4
    and Rack 1.1 amp stands (pair) | Source: Kaleidescape Premiere

    On order: Esoteric Grandioso D1X.
    On wish list: Shunyata Research Everest.
    On sale: Everything!

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Magico A3 Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •