Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,636

    New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    https://files.constantcontact.com/e7...868291bcea.pdf


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,195

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Love that Luxman gear!

    Thank you for posting the review.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Luxman 590AXII (incoming), Job INTegrated

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2, Misho Myronov Wooden pre.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), First Watt F7 (incoming), Job 250 Monos, Valvet E2se, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos.

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, Lumin U1 mini, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, Audio Mirror Tubadour III NOS R2R Tube Dac w/ SE upgrades.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  3. #3

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Drool.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Sean

    Oppo 203, Lumin D2
    Magico A3
    Shunyata PS8/Defender/Delta NR
    Venom IC/SC/PC

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    327

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Luxman makes some amazing gear. I'm enjoying my Luxman D-08u SACD / DAC immensely.

    Thanks again Mike.
    Sincerely,


    Joe
    Happiness is not a destination, so Enjoy the Journey.

    Amps: Pass X260.8s *** Pre-Amp: Pass XP22 *** Headphone Amp: Pass HPA-1 *** Speakers: Magico A3ís *** Magico A3 Grills *** Headphones: Focal Utopia *** Digital: Luxman D-08u SACD *** Aurender ACS10 CD Ripper & N100 Streamer *** Power: Shunyata Hydra Alpha A12 Power Conditioner *** AQ NRG Edison 20 *** Cables: Shunyata *** Rack: Bamboo SVT Quadrasphire *** Accessories: Herbie's Audio Lab Giant Titanium Cone Decoupling Gliders *** Russ Andrews Cable Elevators

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    496

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    I'm thinking that if I were to ever upgrade from my Gryphon Diablo 300, this would be a strong contender.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,746

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    I’ve heard this combo in Mike’s store driving the B&W 800 D3s. It looks great and sounds terrific.
    _______________

    Mike

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    649

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    This lovely combo arrived Yesterday - C-900u & M-900u






    Marcin

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Seattle Washington USA
    Posts
    919

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    So, who has a Luxman amp. I'm stil wanting a ss amp. I just like the sound of tubes. There is something to them. They seem to sing with non electronic instruments and voices. Wondering if luxman can do the same.

  9. #9
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,636

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Kingrex View Post
    So, who has a Luxman amp. I'm stil wanting a ss amp. I just like the sound of tubes. There is something to them. They seem to sing with non electronic instruments and voices. Wondering if luxman can do the same.
    Coming from the tube world, there are only a handful, a real small handful of amps that can make you ultimately forget tube amps:

    1. Pass XA.5 series
    2. Díag S250
    3. MBL 9008/9011
    4. Boulder 2160
    5. First Watt SIT-3

    There are a few other esoteric ones like the Audia Flight Strumento No. 4 PERHAPS.

    The Luxman M900ís are amazing amps, but they arenít tube amp replacements.

    Joe - any other thoughts here?
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    252

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Coming from the tube world, there are only a handful, a real small handful of amps that can make you ultimately forget tube amps:

    1. Pass XA.5 series
    2. D’ag S250
    3. MBL 9008/9011
    4. Boulder 2160
    5. First Watt SIT-3

    There are a few other esoteric ones like the Audia Flight Strumento No. 4 PERHAPS.

    The Luxman M900’s are amazing amps, but they aren’t tube amp replacements.

    Joe - any other thoughts here?
    Mike,
    The mention of the Audia Flight amp is interesting. Have you had a chance to hear the it in a good setting?
    thanks,
    Anshul

  11. #11
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,636

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by apdoc2004 View Post
    Mike,
    The mention of the Audia Flight amp is interesting. Have you had a chance to hear the it in a good setting?
    thanks,
    Anshul
    Yes. I think of it often.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,774

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Coming from the tube world, there are only a handful, a real small handful of amps that can make you ultimately forget tube amps:

    1. Pass XA.5 series
    2. Díag S250
    3. MBL 9008/9011
    4. Boulder 2160
    5. First Watt SIT-3

    There are a few other esoteric ones like the Audia Flight Strumento No. 4 PERHAPS.

    The Luxman M900ís are amazing amps, but they arenít tube amp replacements.

    Joe - any other thoughts here?
    The amps above may make you want to forget tubes, yes, but I never heard solid state sound like tubes, SS possessing a warmer sound, yes.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    Source Analog: Kuzma Stabi R with 4point 9 arm & Kuzma 40 Cartridge
    Source Digital: Aurender N10 | Brinkmann Nyquist MK II
    Amplification: Dan DíAgostino Momentum Pre Amp and Monos | Boulder Phono 508
    Speakers: Wilson Alexias
    Cabling: Nordost Valhalla 2/Odin: power, interconnects & speaker | Ansuz: C2 power & interconnect | Audioquest Diamond RJ45ís
    Power: Nordost QRT series | Furutech FP55SN cable from 20 amp breakers to Furutech GTX D NSF packages | Keces P3 & P8 | ADD POWR series | Environmental Potential EP2050
    Other: HRS M3X | Stillpoints Ultra 6, SS & Mini | Nordost Sort Cones TC & BC | AQ Vox SE switch | etherREGEN | Gigafoil v4 | Vicoustics | Audio Desk Systeme - Glšss








  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    west Michigan
    Posts
    508

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    I have been a tube guy for a LONG time.
    I currently own several of the vintage heavy hitters. I.E. Eico HF-87 (EL34) , Harmon Kardon Citation II (KT88), McIntosh MC30's (6L6) and others.
    I auditioned a Luxman M600 and a Pass XA30.5 last year. Both 30 watt class A amps.
    Ended up keeping the 30.5 and put all the other tube amps on the shelf with no intention of pulling them out anytime soon.
    The Luxman was very good but I felt the fatter bass of the Pass was more to my liking.
    Everyone has their own preferences. I find the Pass to be very enjoyable, having the rich warm seductive mids and highs reminiscent of tubes along with a more controlled (yet full) bass associated with S.S.
    My System:
    A trusty old Pioneer PD-65 as a Transport, Lumin A-1, a Merrill Heirloom T.T. as sources. A Lampizator DAC to Teo Cables to a SP-14 Tubed PreAmp, Pass XA30.5 , Fusion speaker cables, AudioKinesis Zephryn 46 Speakers. pair Rythmik F-12 subs, EP2050, Kaplan Power cables, Cerious Tech Graphine XT P.C., Hydra power conditioner, Two dedicated 20Amp power lines. DIY corner traps and Acoustic Geometry Curves for room treatment.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    496

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Coming from the tube world, there are only a handful, a real small handful of amps that can make you ultimately forget tube amps:

    1. Pass XA.5 series
    2. Díag S250
    3. MBL 9008/9011
    4. Boulder 2160
    5. First Watt SIT-3

    There are a few other esoteric ones like the Audia Flight Strumento No. 4 PERHAPS.

    The Luxman M900ís are amazing amps, but they arenít tube amp replacements.

    Joe - any other thoughts here?
    Mike, apologies for straying a little further off topic, but two questions:
    1- Does the Gryphon Antileon EVO make your list?
    2- How does the sound character of the Boulder 1160 differ from the 2160?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    252

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by GSOphile View Post
    Mike, apologies for straying a little further off topic, but two questions:
    1- Does the Gryphon Antileon EVO make your list?
    2- How does the sound character of the Boulder 1160 differ from the 2160?
    Mike,
    Do you think any of the Gryphons have a tube-like character? Also, Boulder was supposed to be clean and somewhat sterile sounding -- is the sound signature change in the latest models? If yes, have you had a chance to audition the new Boulder integrated amp?
    Thanks,
    Anshul
    Anshul

  16. #16
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,636

    Re: New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

    Quote Originally Posted by apdoc2004 View Post
    Mike,
    Do you think any of the Gryphons have a tube-like character? Also, Boulder was supposed to be clean and somewhat sterile sounding -- is the sound signature change in the latest models? If yes, have you had a chance to audition the new Boulder integrated amp?
    Thanks,
    Anshul
    Anshul
    No. They are a darker solid state sound. The new Boulder is a stark contrast from the old Boulder sound. Yes, we own the new Boulder integrated amp and itís fabulous. Wonderful. LOVE it.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

New Luxman M900u/C900u Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •