Luxman 509x Review
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    24,866
    Post Thanks / Like

    Luxman 509x Review

    https://www.stereophile.com/content/...OGv26xRBzZX.01

    I sure love mine! Amazing with Harbeth.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones & Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. Likes 'cisco liked this post
  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    16,754
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    Excellent review! Looks like a great integrated.
    Joe

    Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M, JBL 590.

    Job INTegrated, Naim Supernait 2 w/ HiCap-DR.

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2, Misho Myronov Wooden pre.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (X2 - one as backup), Job 250 Monos, Valvet E2se, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos.

    Lumin U1 mini, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, Audio Mirror Tubadour III NOS R2R Tube Dac w/ upgrades.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Saint Paul, Minnesota
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    My 590aX was pretty awesome. I expected to have it for much longer but there was a real benefit to having more power during my foray with Magnepans. Now that I have moved to high efficiency speakers I miss it. I think this would be even better. Amazing and wonderfully complete products (packaging, features, build, remote, etc.).


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Living Room System: Mac Mini > PS Audio PWD MKII/ Marantz TT-15 Turntable w/ Ortofon Cadenza Bronze> Ayre P5xe> Primaluna Dialogue Premium w/KT150s> Klipsch Forte III

  5. Likes Mike, joeinid liked this post
  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    765
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    Thanks. Just to clarify, Mike, for your Harbeth or Tannoy like speakers, the m900u is still a better choice than the 509, or does it not matter?

  7. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    Still not sure whether 509x or 590ax mkII. Having listened to 509x driving Triangle Magellan Quators left me with mixed feelings. On vinyl (Luxman PD-171A + E.A.T. Jo N°5 MC cartridge & EQ-500) sounded superb spinning a direct-to-disc sampler. One of the best I've heard, and I've heard some $$$ setups over the years.
    Switching to D-08u as a source, the sound was a bit aggressive and shrill with recessed soundstage, that was nowhere near what I remember hearing almost a year ago with 590ax mkII on my Marten Django L's, but Triangle and Marten are nowhere near in their philosophy so my comparison is way off.
    Don't get me wrong, it was a beautiful presentation but I was expecting the smooth liquid Luxman sound...
    I have to pay more visits to my dealer as phase matching and proper integration of D-08u in a system is paramount, I just plugged-in the D-08u without paying attention to any detail....
    Last edited by hellrider77; May 7, 2018 at 08:33 AM. Reason: several typos

  8. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    hellrider77-you will get the desired sound with the L-590AX MKII. It outperforms the 509X by a noticeable margin.

  9. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    GreginNH - you might be right, but I must hear them side by side on my Martens. It wont't be long until I do.

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Saint Paul, Minnesota
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like

    Luxman 509x Review

    Though it sounds like the 590aX Mk II improved upon the previous iteration in this regard, I would still expect the 509x to trounce the 590 in its transparency. Obviously the sounds of each are well differentiated and there will be compromises either way. I believe the best choice will be very system dependent. The 590 should be well suited for the Martens. Should be a fun demo!

    Edited.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Living Room System: Mac Mini > PS Audio PWD MKII/ Marantz TT-15 Turntable w/ Ortofon Cadenza Bronze> Ayre P5xe> Primaluna Dialogue Premium w/KT150s> Klipsch Forte III

  11. Thanks hellrider77 thanked for this post
  12. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    Would absolutely love to hear this amp. Just read a review which compared it to the 590aX-II. Basically described what I guessed it would...the Class A amp is warmer, richer, but with less detail and transparency. I think what is said above is correct, really different flavors and system dependent.

    The 509, however, sounds like it would be a fabulous partner for my Elipsa SE's.
    Kevin

    Home
    : VPI Aries 3/Lyra Skala/RSA XR10B, PS Audio DS DAC (networked using Roon) > PrimaLuna Dialogue Premium preamp and HP mono amps > Sonus Faber Elipsa SE's. PS Audio P5 and P10. Transparent Audio, Cardas and Audioquest cables.
    Work: Windows Laptop (Roon) > W4S 2v2SE LE > PrimaLuna Dialogue HP integrated > Sonus Faber Guarneri Memento's and Sennheiser HD800S headphones. Shunyata Hydra. Cardas cables.

  13. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Luxman 509x Review

    I have a Luxman L-509-X I am using with the Lumin X1. I have a pair of Von Schweikert Audio VR5 SE. The VSA speakers work best bi-amped. I was wondering if I can connect another amp to the Luxman and use the 509-X amp for the upper mids and tweeter module and connect another amp to the Luxman's Pre Outs (or however) and use it at the same time to power the bass module of the VR5? It would be nice to power the lower bass module with a good Class D amp(s).

    I kind of figure that probably presents issues but I have never look into any sort of setup like this

    Thanks for any input.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast