Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,879

    Lumin Amp Review

    Awesome new review!


    https://www.monoandstereo.com/2019/1...eview.html?m=1


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, TechDAS/AirForce Turntables, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    33

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Thanks mike for the post! There is one German review of the LUMIN Amp coming soon!

    LUMIN / WestminsterLab

  3. #3
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,879

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Why hasnít this product had more interest? Iíve literally had zero calls about it or inquiries. Why? It sounds really good.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, TechDAS/AirForce Turntables, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    New York City Metro Area
    Posts
    428

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Why hasnít this product had more interest? Iíve literally had zero calls about it or inquiries. Why? It sounds really good.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Mike... when I was working for Eli Lilly & Company in the US Affiliate on their brand teams (marketing), I learned a valuable lesson Iíll always remember: ďYou cannot be all things to all people.Ē

    Iím sure itís a nice amp and Iím sure if anyone can sell it youíre the man! That call will come, if and when folks re-wire their brains to associate Lumin with amplification rather than digital sources.

    Perhaps next year youíll feature it in one of your rooms @ FLAX?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    33

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Why hasn’t this product had more interest? I’ve literally had zero calls about it or inquiries. Why? It sounds really good.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Hello Mike! Not easy to convince potential customers to relate the LUMIN brand with amps. We have more and more reviews coming and I am sure more exposures and references would certainly help.

    A.

    LUMIN / WestminsterLab

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,795

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    As a repeat customer of Lumin (S1 & X1), I appreciate the quality, sound, support and looks of Lumin products. I heard the amp at AXPONA last year and it sounded terrific with the Vivid speakers. But, there are so many amp companies already in the market and for Lumin to get audiophile attention, a bit more marketing, dealer demos and more press reviews are needed. Surprisingly, Lumin was absent at FL Expo earlier this year so they missed potentially the only US audio show in the US.

    I would like to see Lumin invest in adding additional features to their players. One key area of opportunity is to add digital inputs to their players; sadly, this feature is missing. Also, a Lumin CD ripping drive would be nice.
    _______________

    Mike

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    1,439

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Why hasn’t this product had more interest? I’ve literally had zero calls about it or inquiries. Why? It sounds really good.
    I heard an in store demo of the Lumin amp and it's very impressive with an extremely refined presentation. Like others have said it's going to take some time for Lumin to gain exposure in the amplifier market.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    The Gem State
    Posts
    183

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    I’m also a repeat customer (D1 and A1). If there was a matching preamp or an integrated amp I would be interested. I like a real preamp (or integrated) with a rotary volume control and a remote. A digital volume control isn’t for me.
    Gary
    Accuphase E-650; Lumin A1; Tannoy Canterbury GR

  9. #9
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,879

    Re: Lumin Amp Review



    Lumin Amp in for evaluation.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, TechDAS/AirForce Turntables, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    The Gem State
    Posts
    183

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Mike: Looks great. Will you be using a preamp or going straight from a Lumin player to the amp?
    Gary
    Accuphase E-650; Lumin A1; Tannoy Canterbury GR

  11. #11
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,879

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Oly View Post
    Mike: Looks great. Will you be using a preamp or going straight from a Lumin player to the amp?
    Going straight from a Lumin at the moment. I miss not having a conventional remote, so maybe a pre is in order.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, TechDAS/AirForce Turntables, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,795

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Good looking piece. Heard it at AXPONA last year driving Vivids - sounded ok.

    Tough competition in that $15K price point.
    _______________

    Mike

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    33

    Re: Lumin Amp Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post


    Lumin Amp in for evaluation.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Looks great!!!! Look forward to hear your feedback!

    LUMIN / WestminsterLab

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Lumin Amp Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •