Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    628

    Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    OK Guys,

    Coming up in the next week we're going to have a video finishing up the results on our Affordable Switch Shootout.

    Following we're going to have reviews on the Paul Pang QUAD switch ($2,000), GigaFoil, a multitude of Ethernet cables/brands (currently burning in) and this photo tease of some Ethernet goodies currently burning in from price $1,000 - $7,000:

    IMG_2093.JPG
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  2. #2

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    You are considering a $1k switch to be affordable?! 😮

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    628

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by nicoff View Post
    You are considering a $1k switch to be affordable?! 😮
    Don't you?


    j/k


    Per my other post/video I did a shootout of $30-$100 switches.
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  4. #4

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelsMinute View Post
    Don't you?

    Per my other post/video I did a shootout of $30-$100 switches.
    In my book, $30-$100 for an Ethernet switch is affordable.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    lachen / sz
    Posts
    1,031

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by nicoff View Post
    In my book, $30-$100 for an Ethernet switch is affordable.
    still a lot if you were a denier not long ago?
    innuos net, ideon absolute suite, nagra hd pre, audionet heisenberg, wilson sabrina x.
    nordost odin, shunyata everest, omega and delta 2, ansuz racks, wilson pedestal full loom

  6. #6

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by u-sound View Post
    still a lot if you were a denier not long ago?
    Not sure what you mean by “denier”. If “denier” means that you don’t need to spend a thousand dollars for an Ethernet switch to get “better” sound, then I am in!

    I once owned a “managed” switch. You could prioritize what ports had priority (audio, video, gaming, etc) when facing broadband limitations. Very low latency and flexibility and only $100 bucks!
    But… It got toasted during a lightning storm and decided to go back to a normal (i.e., not-managed) switch (($40 bucks maybe?).
    YMMV

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    628

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by nicoff View Post
    Not sure what you mean by “denier”. If “denier” means that you don’t need to spend a thousand dollars for an Ethernet switch to get “better” sound, then I am in!

    I once owned a “managed” switch. You could prioritize what ports had priority (audio, video, gaming, etc) when facing broadband limitations. Very low latency and flexibility and only $100 bucks!
    But… It got toasted during a lightning storm and decided to go back to a normal (i.e., not-managed) switch (($40 bucks maybe?).
    YMMV
    In my extensive testing I found 2 of the $30 D-Links back-to-back sound much better than some of the $500-800 "audiophile" switches. Of course there are expensive switches that sound amazing as well. But you don't need to spend a lot of money to get great sound. To be fair thought there is no amount of D-Link switches that sound as good as my PPA QUAD switch which is $2K. BUT, put the 2-3 D-Links I list in my video with an AudioQuest 3 power conditioner for them and you're all in for ~$400 and it will be KILLER sound that will require considerably more be spent to better.

    I'm also going to be testing a $50-$600 Ethernet cables along with some stupid-expensive ones. Again - some of the lower prices once do quite well and some don't. As is true with the expensive one.

    So regardless of what someones budget is, they can get very good sound.

    There is a LOT I don't know about in audio. And I don't pretend to be technical by any stretch of the imagination, but I have spent hundreds of hours experimenting with switches, cables, and everything in between and I've learned a LOT.

    To think 5 months ago I wasn't sure an Ethernet cable or switch would even make a difference till I decided to ignore all the forums and start testing on my own. LOL
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    East Bay, CA
    Posts
    1,746

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    The reason that using 2-3 "good quality" consumer-grade switches back-to-back can sound better (i.e., in series) than a single "more expensive" switch is because "stacking" their clocks reduces phase noise.

    They still won't sound as good as an EtherREGEN, SOtM, or a Paul Peng, though.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    628

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Puma Cat View Post

    They still won't sound as good as an EtherREGEN, SOtM, or a Paul Peng, though.
    Yup - the ones you mentioned will all sound better than my triple switch mix. I have heard some people say the SOtM can sound rather thin though.
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    628

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    So I did about 4 hours of listening and experimenting with some new Ethernet products today. VERY nice sound upgrades that simplify the number of boxes, power supplies and cables in the system while still moving the sound forwards.

    I believe I may the first to do a video review on these in North America.

    So if you haven't already, be sure you are subscribed to the YouTube channel to be notified when these videos get posted and go live!

    Here is the link to the previous Ethernet Audio video which will be have an updated video within a week: Audiophile Streaming Tweaks for Tidal and Qobuz! PT. 2 - YouTube
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Posts
    120

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Mike-

    just watched you videos. Lots of straight forward information with no sense of any one brand "shilling."
    Thank you for taking the time to do these experiments and sharing the results.
    Can't wait for the next!

    John
    AKA J2Ordan
    McIntosh C1100/MC3500II/MR85/MCD205.
    Legacy Focus SE/VPI Classic1/Denon103R/Bryston BDP/BDA3's.
    MostlyDIYCablingDHLabs&Morgami.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    628

    Re: Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnJ View Post
    Mike-

    just watched you videos. Lots of straight forward information with no sense of any one brand "shilling."
    Thank you for taking the time to do these experiments and sharing the results.
    Can't wait for the next!

    John
    Thanks so much, John. Really do appreciate the kind words. I spend so much time producing these.

    I pretty much call things as I see them and I have a short attention span. I don't have the patience to watch videos or read reviews with a lot of "fluff", so I make my videos pretty straight to the point.

    The advantage of me not trying to fill pages with advertisements, and the fact I make zero money off my channel allows me to be honest about what I think of the gear. Having said that, I do believe just because I don't care for how something sounds (the Pass Labs was a good example), does not mean it's a "bad" piece of gear. It just means it either didn't have synergy in my system or it is not a sound I like - but others may.
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Latest Ethernet / Digital Goodies Burning in for Reviews

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •