If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    24,855
    Post Thanks / Like

    If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    I canít tell you the number of times Iíve read online how someone thinks something sounds or worse people who didnít attend a particular show, but seemingly know everything about it, each room and what the problems were.

    If people attend, they may disagree - thatís normal. But if you didnít attend, you have no opinion and one brand isnít the proverbial holy grail for all rooms at a show.

    Be careful of brand ambassadors that think their favorite brand is the cure all.

    Rant over.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Constellation Audio, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, JL Audio, Keces Power Supplies, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, SRA, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    North Central Florida
    Posts
    3,232
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    Mike.......Amen!
    Dan

    STUDIO - McIntosh C1000C/P, MC2301 (2), MR88, Aurender N10, Esoteric K-01X, Shunyata Sigma spdif digital coax,
    Sonos Connect, Stillpoints Ultra SS & Ultra Mini, PurePower 2000, Furutech Flux 50, Michell Gyro SE, Michell HR Power Supply, SME 309, Ortofon Cadenza Black, Sonus faber Amati Anniversario

    LIVING ROOM - McIntosh C2300, MC452, MR85, Magnum Dynalab 205 Signal Sleuth, Sonos Connect, Simaudio MOON Neo 260D-T, Schiit Audio Yggdrasil, Aurender N100H, Shunyata Sigma USB cable,
    Sony DAT 60ES, Nakamichi BX-300, Micro Seiki DD40 w/m505A tonearm, Ortofon Cadenza Blue, PS Audio P10, Furutech Flux 50, Stillpoints Ultra Mini, PMC EB1i, JL Audio f113

    VINTAGE - McIntosh 4300V, McIntosh MA230, Tandberg 3011A tuner, Olive 04HD, JBL 4312A

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    1,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    What if the brands name is Elixir?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    Agreed

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL 'The Hammock'
    Posts
    3,757
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    So very true.
    Chris

    (2 Chl): Kef 201/2, Pass xa30.5, W4S STP-SE Lumin D1, VPI Classic 1, Manley Chinook, Dynavector DV20x2L.exaSound e32 mk11, Marantz SA11S2. ( computer) Win7, Synology DS413 NAS ,Vincent SP-331MKII , Quicksilver LS,Vapor Audio Breeze, Rythmik F12se. Cables: Acoustic Zen, DL Labs, Blue Jean.. ,Bryston BCD-1,Timbernation Rack,

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    993
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    Yes!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Power Conditioning, Filters & Switch: Nordost QRT Power Product Line, Furutech GTX-D NCF/GTX 105D, 20 AMP Dedicated w/Surge Protection, AQVox SE switch, Keces LPS P3 & P8 w/Nordost AC power and Ghent DC cables for the Gigafoil v4, modem, routers and switches.
    Cables, Isolation, Room Treatment: Nordost Supreme Reference (Odin) Distribution, Reference Line (Valhalla 2) Components and Speakers, HRS M3X Platforms & Damping Plates. Stillpointís Ultra 6/SS and Vicoustic Room Treatments
    Power & Sound: DíAgostino Pre-Amplifier to DíAgostino Momentum Monoís driving Wilson Alexiaís
    Source and Digital: Aurender N10, Brinkmann Nyquist MKII



  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bucks County PA
    Posts
    2,376
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    This mindset would shut most other forums down and why I read most posts here.

    We get real world experience and reviews of items members have heard or owned.

    I trust what I learn here more than most other comments or reviews elsewhere.
    -----------------
    Brian

    Main System - Rotel 1072 > VAC CLA1 MKII > Couterpoint NPS-400 > Clearfield Continentals > Synergistic Cables
    Secondary
    - OPPO 93 >
    Hafler 945 Pre-Tuner > Odyssey Stratos > Dynaudio Audience 82s > Tara Labs Cables


  8. Thanks Mike thanked for this post
    Likes Mike, the professor liked this post
  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    216
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve read online how someone thinks something sounds or worse people who didn’t attend a particular show, but seemingly know everything about it, each room and what the problems were.

    If people attend, they may disagree - that’s normal. But if you didn’t attend, you have no opinion and one brand isn’t the proverbial holy grail for all rooms at a show.

    Be careful of brand ambassadors that think their favorite brand is the cure all.

    Rant over.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Agreed. Perhaps some folks just like to hear themselves talk? I’ve personally never relied on the magazine reviews to select my gear nor paid too much attention to the opinions of the masses but have relied on the ears of experienced and serious audiophiles who I was certain would offer me an unbiased opinion and have not been disappointed, on few occasions.

    Otherwise We might as well give opinions on wine and violins while being blindfolded
    Serge

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Southeast Iowa
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    I can hardly wait for the day when I can offer an opinion.....January here I come!

  11. Likes Mike liked this post
  12. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast / N. Texas
    Posts
    3,290
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: If you havenít heard it, you have no opinion

    Well said Mike!
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Lumin U1, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Gryphon Diablo 300 w DAC, Magico M2s, 2 Magico QSub15s, Shunyata Sigma IC/SC/PCs, Denali/Typhon.

    Workshop: Lumin U1/BorderPatrol custom DAC, Border Patrol Pre and Power, Avant Garde Duo Mezzo XD, Magico Q15 subs, Shunyata IC/SC, Shunyata Triton V3/Sigma PCs.


  13. Likes Mike liked this post
 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast