Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Staten Island, New York
    Posts
    583

    Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Just wish the reviewer mentioned a comparison between the Contour 60 and B&W 802 D3 and Dali Epicon 6.

    https://stereo-magazine.com/flipview...gazine-2017-8/
    Paul



    Speakers: Von Schweikert VR-5 Anniversary MK II Front L/R, LCR-35 Center, VR-1 Rear L/R Sub: JL Audio F113
    Amps: PS Audio BHK Signature 300 Mono, McIntosh MC207 Preamp: PS Audio BHK Signature and Gold Note PH-10 Phono Stage/PSU-10 Power Supply Turntable: VPI HR-X 12.7 TONEARM (2) and SDS
    Cartridges: Ortofon Cadenza Black, Lyra Helikon Mono Digital Source: Oppo UDP-205 DAC: Bryston BDA-3 Music Server: ​Aurender N100H
    SSP: Marantz AV8801 Cables: Wireworld Electra 7 (P) Wireworld Eclipse 7 (I) Wireworld Eclipse 6 and 7 Biwired (S) Wireworld Platinum Starlight 7 (USB) AC Power Regeneration: PS Audio DirectStream P15 Power Plant and Shunyata Denali 6000s V2.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    286

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    The contour 60 here sells for $10k and I like it. It looks like a sledgehammer compared to the kanta2 or persona that are about 1/2 the size for the same price. I have a larger listening room and would lean towards the C 60 if I was still shopping.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    1,453

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    The review link provided in the OP is now dead, but the review is still available in Stereo's Issue #8 2017 on pages 45 - 48.

  4. #4

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by steve59 View Post
    The contour 60 here sells for $10k and I like it. It looks like a sledgehammer compared to the kanta2 or persona that are about 1/2 the size for the same price. I have a larger listening room and would lean towards the C 60 if I was still shopping.
    I think size has nothing to do with sound...
    Triangle Magellan Concerto 2 < AQ Everest < Vitus Audio SS-010 Mk2 < AQ NRG-1000 < AQ WEL Signature XLR < Chord Qutest w UpTone JS-2 & AQ Dragon Source < SOtM tX-USBultra w 75Ohm Master Clock Input, Paul Hynes SR5-12 Turbo XL & AQ Dragon Source < AQ Diamond USB < Apple MacMini i5 w UpTone DC Conversion Kit & Squeezelite w Logitech Media Server < Gryphon PowerZone w AQ NRG-Wild < Solid Tech Hybrid < Ansuz Darkz D-TC, Darkz D2, Stillpoints Ultra SS, Omicron Harmonic Stabilizer & Gold SE < Furutech FT-SWS < Synergistic Research Blue Quantum Fuse

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    286

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by johndoe21ro View Post
    I think size has nothing to do with sound...
    I will agree size can have nothing to do with quality of sound, but in a big room a passive speaker with 2x 9.5" woofers in a large cabinet should offer advantages over a couple 6.5's in a small box? We are speaking Dynaudio not Cerwyn vega here.
    Meridian dsp8000 se upgrade, meridian 218 zone controller, VA Beethovens, , Hegel h360, rega jupiter, roon nucleus, revox tuner.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    139

    Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine



    Love my Contour 60. The quality of sound is way way above the cost.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bucks County PA
    Posts
    2,777

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    I spent some time with the 60s. Room was big and long with lots of other gear. Speakers were spaced out wider than most normal rooms, they had the Devore o93s also setup for me on the inner spots.

    Big huge wall of sound with bass and drive. I didn't demo with any females vocalists or non challenging music. I used Bela Fleck-Wooten, Special EFX, Elements (Mark Egan-Danny Gotlieb) and some Primus-Tommy the Cat.

    These speakers handled everything I threw at them effortlessly driven by the Luxman 505uxII that I was auditioning. I have always loved Dyns and the Lux woke my 82s up like I have never heard.

    When we swapped to the Devores, I was so underwhelmed and disappointed from everything I have read.

    The original post link does not work
    -----------------
    Brian

    Main System -
    Rotel 1072 CDP / Rega P3 > Luxman 505UX Mark II > Dynaudio Audience 82s > Synergistic Cables

    Secondary - OPPO 93 > VAC CLA 1 MKII Pre > Odyssey Stratos > JM Labs Tantal 509s > Tara Labs Cables


  8. #8

    Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Love my Contour 60. The quality of sound is way way above the cost.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Love the room. What are those subs?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    139

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by kzhtoo View Post
    Love the room. What are those subs?
    Thanks. REL s/812. I have (3) REL s/510 en route to complete a “3D REL set up”, as they call it, all 5 channels true full range. The 812 stack was recently added. Game changer.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  10. #10

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post
    Thanks. REL s/812. I have (3) REL s/510 en route to complete a “3D REL set up”, as they call it, all 5 channels true full range. The 812 stack was recently added. Game changer.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Very nice! 2 back channels use Contour 20s?

    Also impressed by the tidiness.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    139

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by kzhtoo View Post
    Very nice! 2 back channels use Contour 20s?

    Also impressed by the tidiness.


    Contour 30.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  12. #12

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Contour 30.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Beautifful. And nice photo, too.

  13. #13

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Love my Contour 60. The quality of sound is way way above the cost.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Phew! Friggin' gorgeous! As long-time Dyn owner, I'll bet they sound gorgeous, too. Beautiful room and excellent photo. Well done!

  14. #14

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Contour 30.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Woah, very nicely done!

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    west Michigan
    Posts
    528

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Contour 30.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Who is your little friend?
    My System:
    Lumin A-1
    Joule Electra LA150 Signature Plus
    Pass XA30.5
    Vapor Audio Cirrus Monitors
    18" Open Baffle Subs
    Cables: Teo Splash, Kubala Sosna, Cerious Tech, Fusion Audio.
    Two dedicated 20 Amp circuits. Shunyata Hydra. EP2050
    DIY bass traps and custom curved diffusors.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    1,453

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowfax View Post
    The original post link does not work
    Sorry but they keep relocating the review... I found it still available as a PDF file in their archives: https://stereo-magazine.com/archive/...ake-time-66624

  17. #17
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    26,214

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Contour 30.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Gorgeous room and system!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, Esoteric, Estelon Loudspeakers, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  18. #18

    Re: Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

    Quote Originally Posted by j3brow View Post


    Love my Contour 60. The quality of sound is way way above the cost.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Amazing room setup , congrats!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ Cardas Clear Beyond ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Dynaudio Contour 60 Review Stereo Magazine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •