Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 31 of 31
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2022
    Location
    memphis/chicago
    Posts
    167

    Best of show opinions......

    I must say, the Quintessnce room with SF/Boulder was outstanding, also the Estelon/Vitus room was extremely nice..CAT/Magico was nice but not close to the two mentioned IMO
    Burmester 911mk3 amplifier
    Burmester 077 pre-amp
    Burmester 217 turntable system
    Burmester 111 streamer
    Burmester 948 conditioner
    Master Artist Signature Full Range Towers
    Master Artist Signature Rack
    Espirit Eureka cables
    Silent Angel NX Network Switch

  2. #2
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,001

    Best of show opinions......

    Aside from our two Clarisys Audio/Hegel/Shunyata/Constellation rooms, which I really did feel sounded out of this world good and the great partners with Hegel and Shunyata, I would say I also liked:

    The new Magico S3 with CAT
    The S5 mk2/CAT room
    Rockport with Vinnie Rossi
    The new Rethm speakers
    Luxman with Magico S5

    But the show for me is so much more than the rooms. It’s seeing all my great friends and customers after 2 hellish years of Covid craziness and sharing laughs and good times.

    I cannot say enough about the awesome team of Anders, Brad and Eileen from Hegel and Caelin, Grant and Richard from Shunyata and Mike, Matt and Florián from Suncoast/Clarisys.

    And as always, great to see all our customers and discuss all things audio and life!

    What a fun show! Can’t wait for Munich.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2022
    Location
    memphis/chicago
    Posts
    167

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    ^luxman/magico was nice, i agree
    Burmester 911mk3 amplifier
    Burmester 077 pre-amp
    Burmester 217 turntable system
    Burmester 111 streamer
    Burmester 948 conditioner
    Master Artist Signature Full Range Towers
    Master Artist Signature Rack
    Espirit Eureka cables
    Silent Angel NX Network Switch

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast
    Posts
    3,419

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    I wouldn't say these were the best of show but - for one reason or another show standouts: (in no particular order, and I was there Fri and Sat, so no clue how things sounded Sunday)

    The Audio Note room - best I've ever heard them.

    Avant Garde sounded pretty good Saturday but sucked Friday

    The Carver room sounded pretty good

    The various Clairisys rooms sounded really good

    The Klipsch K-Horns sounded way better than they should have in the tiny room they were in.

    The new Magico S sounded really good - almost M like (90-95% M like) (for example - I have some M2s and wouldn't spend the extra money over the new S)

    Volti room - they always seem to get good sound at shows

    The MBL room was OK but their room with the little MBLs was really good.

    Most of the big big rooms just weren't good - I hope for their sakes since it was all of them that it was the rooms that were bad.

    The Mofi room with the Falcon LS3/5a Gold Badge 50th Anniversary sounded good

    The granite speakers - well let's just say, with all of the hype they got in Florida, they were disappointing. They were good looking tho. They were in one of the big rooms so again I assume/hope it was the room

    Vinni Rossi room was sounding good on Saturday. I think he was using Rockports but I forgot to ask to make sure

    I'm sure others will come to mind.
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Naim ND555/2PS, Naim 552, Naim 500, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Magico M2s, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Lumina IC/SC, Shunyata Everest and Omega PCs.

    Workshop: Naim ND555/2 PS, VAC Master Pre, VAC Sig 200iQ, Border Patrol pre/power, Avant Garde Duo Mezzo XD, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Shunyata IC/SC, Shunyata Typhon QR/Triton V3/Sigma PCs.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    160

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Hey Mike, you mention Luxman with Magico S5; was luxman using the M-10X amp C-10X preamp?
    Preamp; Pass Labs XP-22 with w/ Audioquest Dragon source PC (C15)
    Interconnects; Nordost Valhalla V2 XLR
    SACD Player/DAC; Esoteric K-01XD w/ Shunyata Omega QRs PC (C15)
    Music Server/Streamer; Aurender N20 w/ Shunyata Omega QRs PC (C15)
    Digital cables; Shunyata Sigma V2 Clock (50 Ω & 75 Ω), Nordost Valhalla V2 S/PDIF
    Amplifier;Westminster Lab Rei Monoblock w/ Westminster Lab Ultra PC (C15) x 2
    Speakers; Magico A5 w/Apods, Westminster Lab Ultra speaker cable
    Power; Shunyata Everest 8000 w/ Sigma XC PC (C19)
    Grounding; Nordost QKore6 w/ premium and standard grounding wires
    Master Clock; Cybershaft OP21A-D Ultra Precision OCXO 10MHz w/ UpTone Audio JS-2 Linear Power Supply
    Network switch; Nordost QNET 5 Port Network Switch w/ QNet Stand and Nordost TC SORT Kones, Shunyata Omega Ethernet

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Iowa City, IA
    Posts
    399

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Vivid with Audionet
    Avantgarde Duo (active)
    The Magico rooms were all pretty good but the big room with CAT was exceptional
    Rockport and Vinnie Rossi
    Morgan

    NEW SYSTEM UNDER CONSTRUCTION

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Iowa City, IA
    Posts
    399

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by mxk116 View Post
    Hey Mike, you mention Luxman with Magico S5; was luxman using the M-10X amp C-10X preamp?
    M-10X mono’s and c900u pre
    Morgan

    NEW SYSTEM UNDER CONSTRUCTION

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    609

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by MPW View Post
    Vivid with Audio Note
    Avantgarde Duo (active)
    The Magico rooms were all pretty good but the big room with CAT was exceptional
    Rockport and Vinnie Rossi
    Vivid was paired with Audionet electronics.
    Audio Note was their speakers and electronics.
    Buddy

    Boulder 1160 Amp, 1110 Pre-Amp
    Audio Research Ref. 3 Phono-Pre
    Vivid Audio Giya G2S2 Speakers
    MSB Reference DAC
    Innuos Statement w/Next. Gen. PS
    B & W DB1D Subwoofer X2
    Audioquest Niagara 5000 Power Conditioner
    Kronos Pro Turntable w/Kronoscope RS tonearm + SCPS-1 PS + MSL Platinum Cart.
    VPI HW-40 Turntable w/ Lyra Etna cartridge
    Jay's Audio CDT3-MK3 CD Transport
    Schiit Mjolnir 2 HPA + Audeze LCD X headphones
    Adona Equipment Rack and Amp Stands
    Furutech Outlets and Plates + NCF Booster
    Shunyata Cables
    Synergistic Research Galileo SX Ground Block, FEQ 4, Ethernet Switch UEF, Black Box + Room Acoustic treatments

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    190

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    The Magico room with the Blue S-3's was excellent. The Rockport Atria AII's/Vinnie Rossi was excellent. I also liked the YG Talus and Descent sub. Think it could have been even better with some differnt electronics. I felt the bass was a bit boomy in the Boulder/SF room, and frankly felt the Quintessence Wilson rooms were better. The Rockport Cygnus sounded amazing. Couldn't get a good feel for the PS Audio speakers due to crowds/presentation/background noise, but sounded pretty good and represent quite a value. The new small Mofi was impressive, and might find a place in my office.
    Buckeye Farmboy translocated to Boulder. Master and slave to my 10 year old twins
    System: Grimm MU1, Mola Mola Tambaqui, Accuphase C3900 pre, TARA Labs 0.8 XLR, Gryphon Essence Stereo Amp, Tara LAbs 0.8 Speaker Cables, Rockport Atria ii's

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Iowa City, IA
    Posts
    399

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio 1 View Post
    Vivid was paired with Audionet electronics.
    Audio Note was their speakers and electronics.
    Oops - you are correct!
    Morgan

    NEW SYSTEM UNDER CONSTRUCTION

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    190

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Vivid Room was playing orchestral music when I was in there. Very nice, airy soundstage, fitting for the material. I don't think I could live with the aesthetics of either the Vivid speakers or Audionet. One utterly too fantastic, and the other the exact opposite.
    The MBL room was nice. And that is about it. Nice and polite. Not sure those speakers are my cup of tea.
    Buckeye Farmboy translocated to Boulder. Master and slave to my 10 year old twins
    System: Grimm MU1, Mola Mola Tambaqui, Accuphase C3900 pre, TARA Labs 0.8 XLR, Gryphon Essence Stereo Amp, Tara LAbs 0.8 Speaker Cables, Rockport Atria ii's

  12. #12
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,001

    Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by mxk116 View Post
    Hey Mike, you mention Luxman with Magico S5; was luxman using the M-10X amp C-10X preamp?
    Yes. And I met all the reps from Luxman japan. I asked them about the infamous class A integrated. They laughed and said “if we ever did one again, it would only be for a short run commemorative edition or something.”


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    3,008

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Of the big rooms I liked CAT & Magico, Karan & Wynn Audio, Piego & BAT. The Doshi room was also good. I thought Bending Wave's room was good this year the ARC was a good match with the Gobel.

    I saw two Alta Audio rooms that were good. There was a Bel Canto room with I think Audio Vector speakers that was very good, I think what helped was their room treatments. Another smaller room I thought stood out was Unison Research with Opera speakers, 845 tubes sounding good. I heard a very impressive room with the A1's but it was Friday and I can't remember the electronics. Dr. Vinyl's room was very good Socorro TT, Magari electronics with Usher speakers. One of the Alta was with Infigo Audio, good sounding room.

    Clairisys rooms were good, I preferred them with Constellation. (Brian, Larry, Jack from PA or anyone else who used to be on AR, Florian is the same guy who used to post with us. He is a really nice guy and it's very cool to see what he has done for himself. I also ran into HarleyGuy there aka Doug.)

    Did anyone see the Orchestros speakers? I think they were the only audio room with a video monitor. The speakers had the drivers on arms. Not being able to see them I can't explain them. I do know they sounded good especially considering they were only driven with a Vincent integrated with built-in DAC. The guys were extra friendly and had quite a sense of humor.

    I also liked the MSB who was using Magico speakers, M2's. My first visit they were playing a Steely Dan track I know very well, there was so much fine detail revealed but it was in a musical way, inner woven in the performance, not at all analytical.

    I thought the Acora with VAC sounded good.

    Since my statement last year caused such a stir when I mentioned playing turntables, this year I counted and at least a dozen rooms were playing or played a
    turntable when aske considering the numbr of overall rooms not a good percentage

    I did check out some headphones, became a Dan Clark fan.

    I need to find my card so I can provide more info, I saw a anti vibration board for turntables made of wood but the top has a groove around it which fits an acrylic top. This is very reasonable and a great find for Rega, Clear Audio or others who do not supply a dust cover. The entire package is cheaper than most just covers I've price and they look like good quality.
    Aurender ACS10 w/Audioquest Diamond USB, Esoteric N05xd
    Mark Levinson #526, 534 & JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    Clarus Concerto & their Crimson cables

    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP
    Parasound P6, MBL 8006b, Artisan speakers/subwoofer

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    west Michigan
    Posts
    713

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    For my taste the Clarisys Audio speakers were the speakers I would buy if I hit the lottery.
    When you walked into the room you were enveloped in a wave of sound. Just as at a concert.
    Big, full, impactful. Totally inviting and immersive. WOW.
    My System
    Acoustic Revive RTP-4
    Innuos Pulsar
    Lampizator BALTIC4
    Cary SLP-05
    Pass XA30.5 or
    Line Magnetic 845ia
    Reference 3A Reflector's
    Pr SVS SB3000 Subs
    Cables & Tubes "subject to change without notification".
    Complete system on battery power/solar
    Core Audio Design Rack
    DIY bass traps and custom curved diffusors.

  15. #15
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,001

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by jadedavid View Post
    For my taste the Clarisys Audio speakers were the speakers I would buy if I hit the lottery.
    When you walked into the room you were enveloped in a wave of sound. Just as at a concert.
    Big, full, impactful. Totally inviting and immersive. WOW.
    Thank you. We agree!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    3,008

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Butcher Block Acoustics is the company making the turntable platform with a dust cover for turntables sold without a dust cover. I was excited to see this since my Clear Audio has no cover and the product is very reasonably priced.
    Aurender ACS10 w/Audioquest Diamond USB, Esoteric N05xd
    Mark Levinson #526, 534 & JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    Clarus Concerto & their Crimson cables

    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP
    Parasound P6, MBL 8006b, Artisan speakers/subwoofer

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast
    Posts
    3,419

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    I forgot about the CAT / Magico room. It did sound good.
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Naim ND555/2PS, Naim 552, Naim 500, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Magico M2s, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Lumina IC/SC, Shunyata Everest and Omega PCs.

    Workshop: Naim ND555/2 PS, VAC Master Pre, VAC Sig 200iQ, Border Patrol pre/power, Avant Garde Duo Mezzo XD, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Shunyata IC/SC, Shunyata Typhon QR/Triton V3/Sigma PCs.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    East Bay, CA
    Posts
    2,321

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    I’ll also add that Caelin gave a number of “seminars” on Grounding that were very informative.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    3,008

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    I forgot to mention the Aurender AP20 with Wilson Sabrina. This room sounded great. The AP20 is an all-in-one solution, just need speakers, 200x2.

    I found this amusing, Friday I wondered into the room with Westminster & VS, Horison DAC, they were playing some sleepy audiophile music, I notice the guy with the iPad inputting a song that was requested, I asked, "are you taking requests?" After this song, then he hands the iPad to my friend who I asked to input Night Verses, song Copper Wasp, energetic song with some fast kick drum in the beginning. I thought the guy running the room was going to have a heart attack, He's like can I change this and acting like the system was going to blow up or something.
    Aurender ACS10 w/Audioquest Diamond USB, Esoteric N05xd
    Mark Levinson #526, 534 & JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    Clarus Concerto & their Crimson cables

    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP
    Parasound P6, MBL 8006b, Artisan speakers/subwoofer

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    1,099

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    From a newsletter Aurender sent me they were going to be in 25 rooms that they knew of.

    Also from the newsletter regarding the AP20:

    "New Model Alert - catch a special sneak preview of Aurender’s forthcoming all-in-one model, AP20. AP20 is a bona fide ultra-high-performance Integrated Amp. However, unlike other Integrated Amps that include a DAC and support for streaming, AP20 benefits from Aurender’s industry-leading Digital Source Component audio performance and user experience. In true Aurender fashion, the power supplies, DAC, preamplifier, power amplifiers, inputs & output sections are all being done in an extremely high-end way. Come get the scoop on this exciting new product!"
    Contributor to stereotimes.com

  21. #21

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by Dizzie View Post
    ...Also from the newsletter regarding the AP20:

    "New Model Alert - catch a special sneak preview of Aurender’s forthcoming all-in-one model, AP20. AP20 is a bona fide ultra-high-performance Integrated Amp. However, unlike other Integrated Amps that include a DAC and support for streaming, AP20 benefits from Aurender’s industry-leading Digital Source Component audio performance and user experience. In true Aurender fashion, the power supplies, DAC, preamplifier, power amplifiers, inputs & output sections are all being done in an extremely high-end way. Come get the scoop on this exciting new product!"
    This sounds extremely interesting. I read an estimated price of $22k, with 200W into 8 ohms. I'll look forward to it coming out later this year.
    Kevin

    Main: VPI Aries 3/Grado Reference3, and Aurender N200 > PS Audio DS DAC. Luxman L-509Z integrated amp. Sonus Faber Elipsa SE speakers. PS Audio P10 power. Transparent Audio, Cardas and Audioquest cables.

    Bar: EAT C-sharp/Hana MH, and exaSound s82 > Luxman L-595SE amp. GolderEar One.R speakers. Shunyata power, Audioquest cables.

  22. #22
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,001

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by 4N6 View Post
    This sounds extremely interesting. I read an estimated price of $22k, with 200W into 8 ohms. I'll look forward to it coming out later this year.
    It sounded great.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bucks County PA
    Posts
    3,696

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    From their website and FB page, it looks like Vinnie Rossie no longer sells somewhat affordable gear?? I am sure these new pcs are fantastic, but so was the Lio.
    -----------------
    Brian

    Main System -
    Rotel RCD-1572 / Rega P3 > Luxman 505UX Mark II > Fyne Audio F502SPs > Synergistic Cables

    Secondary - OPPO 93 > VAC CLA 1 MKII Pre > Odyssey Stratos > Dynaudio Audience 82s > Tara Labs Cables


  24. #24
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,001

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowfax View Post
    From their website and FB page, it looks like Vinnie Rossie no longer sells somewhat affordable gear?? I am sure these new pcs are fantastic, but so was the Lio.
    True. A great topic for discussion.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  25. #25

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    It sounded great.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    In a somewhat apples to oranges thing, it would be interesting to compare the upcoming Aurender AP20 to a Lumin P1+Amp combo. Similar price and both with a streaming/DAC/amplification set-up. Something tells me that both would be terrific, simply personal preference with one's own speakers making the call.
    Kevin

    Main: VPI Aries 3/Grado Reference3, and Aurender N200 > PS Audio DS DAC. Luxman L-509Z integrated amp. Sonus Faber Elipsa SE speakers. PS Audio P10 power. Transparent Audio, Cardas and Audioquest cables.

    Bar: EAT C-sharp/Hana MH, and exaSound s82 > Luxman L-595SE amp. GolderEar One.R speakers. Shunyata power, Audioquest cables.

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Auburn, Washington USA
    Posts
    418

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    The new Magico S sounded really good - almost M like (90-95% M like) (for example - I have some M2s and wouldn't spend the extra money over the new S)

    I have to admit this speaker has sparked my interest. The A5 seems to me to more of a lateral upgrade to my listening setup. I'm looking forward to hearing this speaker in person. It isn't a cheap speaker by any means. But, with the newest technology and experience from Magico. I think this could be really worth considering. At least by me.
    Speakers: Magico S3 (23')
    Integrated:Gryphon Diablo 300 plus DAC
    Streamer: HiFi Rose RS150b
    CD/DVD: Oppo 205
    Cables: Cardas-Shunyata-AudioQuest-Supra
    Roon Core: sonicTransporter i7 powered with HDPlex 200w linear PS, running AudioLinux for Roon--Tidal and Qobuz with iPad Pro

    Time is just a tool humans created to measure movement and record events

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA , NYC
    Posts
    496

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    I loved the show honestly many great rooms
    it makes me wonder if we seem to be very diverse in loves verses dislikes who has it correct ?
    I love panels all there I felt were good to great.
    when I walked into the 3 floor sun coast it was a Throw back many years in the past for the app sound. but the Clarisys were much better then my memories of the many apps I’ve heard.
    I own a set of old Maggie’s 3.6r and I felt the 3.7 were behind mine. Am I correct or is it I have mine and are used to them.
    I can’t say any rooms were bad but clearly liked some way more.
    over the next day they or so I plan to play some 79 videos to better clarify my thoughts and will post.
    a big thanks to sun coast and all the kind reps in rooms.
    One thought auralic excuse my spelling was playing techno I hate techno lol
    but when I asked the rep to play a nice piano tune he did. The room filled
    When it was over he went back to techno and the room emptied hahaha. Maybe I’m
    Old but good piano In a small jazz club is to me
    What this hi end is about as a start.
    And when he did play some jazz honestly
    It sounded pretty good.
    TUBEZATOR

    preamp ML26
    amps ML No.33
    Infinity IRS-V speakers with Xover redone by Arie Nudell.




  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast
    Posts
    3,419

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    There definitely was a wide variety of music being played. Sometimes you just have to come back to the room and hope they have changed it up.

    Shows are a blast to go to. I never think bad about any product at a show because of its sound. Rooms are hard to get good sound out of in the short amount of time they have to set up. I heard that at AXPONA, the manufacturers could NOT start seting up their room until Thursday morning. That's a lot to do in 24 hours. If there is any hiccup at all, they don't have a chance in getting good sound.

    All that being said - it's fun to talk about which rooms sounded good and bad.



    Quote Originally Posted by Alrainbow View Post
    I loved the show honestly many great rooms
    it makes me wonder if we seem to be very diverse in loves verses dislikes who has it correct ?
    I love panels all there I felt were good to great.
    when I walked into the 3 floor sun coast it was a Throw back many years in the past for the app sound. but the Clarisys were much better then my memories of the many apps I’ve heard.
    I own a set of old Maggie’s 3.6r and I felt the 3.7 were behind mine. Am I correct or is it I have mine and are used to them.
    I can’t say any rooms were bad but clearly liked some way more.
    over the next day they or so I plan to play some 79 videos to better clarify my thoughts and will post.
    a big thanks to sun coast and all the kind reps in rooms.
    One thought auralic excuse my spelling was playing techno I hate techno lol
    but when I asked the rep to play a nice piano tune he did. The room filled
    When it was over he went back to techno and the room emptied hahaha. Maybe I’m
    Old but good piano In a small jazz club is to me
    What this hi end is about as a start.
    And when he did play some jazz honestly
    It sounded pretty good.
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Naim ND555/2PS, Naim 552, Naim 500, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Magico M2s, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Lumina IC/SC, Shunyata Everest and Omega PCs.

    Workshop: Naim ND555/2 PS, VAC Master Pre, VAC Sig 200iQ, Border Patrol pre/power, Avant Garde Duo Mezzo XD, 2 Magico Q-Sub 15s, Shunyata IC/SC, Shunyata Typhon QR/Triton V3/Sigma PCs.

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA , NYC
    Posts
    496

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Did anyone see the Orchestros speakers? I think they were the only audio room with a video monitor. The speakers had the drivers on arms. Not being able to see them I can't explain them. I do know they sounded good especially considering they were only driven with a Vincent integrated with built-in DAC. The guys were extra friendly and had quite a sense of humor.
    i did i think your comments are spot on , filled with honesty . from outside in the hall i had to go inside . it was good but did have some odd parts, but not offensive. there english was very tough for me and i did ask all the questions. it was amazing given it had optical from a laptop to the receiver and had HDMI video at the same time . i aksed him to play a cd and he did it got a little better .
    TUBEZATOR

    preamp ML26
    amps ML No.33
    Infinity IRS-V speakers with Xover redone by Arie Nudell.




  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,729

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post

    ... after 2 hellish years of Covid craziness and sharing laughs and good times.
    Retailers here made a killing during Covid. Massive profits. Stock prices soaring to record levels.

    Was Esoteric represented at the show?

    I'd like to know what is replacing G-01X and G-02X. G1X can't be its only master clock offering going forward.
    Speakers: Magico M3, ACC, S-SUB | Electronics: Esoteric Grandioso stack | Amplification: Halcro |
    Analog cables: Crystal Cable | Digital cables: Shunyata Sigma | Rack: YG Acoustics Rack 1.8
    | Source: Kaleidescape Premiere (4 x 6TB) | Power: Shunyata Typhon-QR, Everest and Denali

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    3,008

    Re: Best of show opinions......

    I saw them in one room showing with Klipsch. I was hoping to get a listen to Esoteric but I'm not sure if that was the best match for synergy. Although the sound wasn't bad it did come off a bit brighter than I prefer. I could blame the speakers but again that's sort of my impression of Esoteric.

    What got me interested was hearing a Teac DAC against supposed better DAC, the better DAC did have a bit more detail but for my listening pleasure I'd prefer the Teac.

    Quote Originally Posted by brodricj View Post
    Retailers here made a killing during Covid. Massive profits. Stock prices soaring to record levels.

    Was Esoteric represented at the show?

    I'd like to know what is replacing G-01X and G-02X. G1X can't be its only master clock offering going forward.
    Aurender ACS10 w/Audioquest Diamond USB, Esoteric N05xd
    Mark Levinson #526, 534 & JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    Clarus Concerto & their Crimson cables

    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP
    Parasound P6, MBL 8006b, Artisan speakers/subwoofer

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Best of show opinions......

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •