Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    605

    Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    One of the first reviews of the new active Duo GT:

    Take Two… - Gy8
    Buddy

    Boulder 1160 Amp, 1110 Pre-Amp
    Audio Research Ref. 3 Phono-Pre
    Vivid Audio Giya G2S2 Speakers
    MSB Reference DAC
    Innuos Statement w/Next. Gen. PS
    B & W DB1D Subwoofer X2
    Audioquest Niagara 5000 Power Conditioner
    Kronos Pro Turntable w/Kronoscope RS tonearm + SCPS-1 PS + MSL Platinum Cart.
    VPI HW-40 Turntable w/ Lyra Etna cartridge
    Jay's Audio CDT3-MK3 CD Transport
    Schiit Mjolnir 2 HPA + Audeze LCD X headphones
    Adona Equipment Rack and Amp Stands
    Furutech Outlets and Plates + NCF Booster
    Shunyata Cables
    Synergistic Research Galileo SX Ground Block, FEQ 4, Ethernet Switch UEF, Black Box + Room Acoustic treatments

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    502

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    When Gregory describes in unflattering terms "previous generation Duos", he seems to be talking about ones built long ago that have separate mid and top horn enclosures, in fact probably pre-Omega. For the last 2 versions, the Duo has the top driver built into the main enclosure and the latest XD version has DSP to allow room correction for the bass. He claims that these earlier versions lack integration between the bass and the horn section. I think he's well out of touch because every other reviewer seems to think that problem was long since fixed by Avantgarde. The XD version has incredibly versatile settings to allow a seamless transfer, even by offering numerous different crossover technologies (Butterworth, Bessel, Linkwitz-Riley) and comprehensive frequency response adjustment possibilities.

    Having said that, I find the XD software particularly difficult to use. The software doesn't offer an "auto-adjust" in the way Dirac, RoomPerfect, etc do. Perhaps the manual method is better in the hands of a professional, but it's beyond me to the extent I'm likely to make matters worse than leaving everything as Default Ė which is what I do with no concerns regarding sound quality!

    The review makes no mention of this speaker's potential to accommodate a streamer module, making it a truly great choice for anyone using digital only and not wanting to clutter up their home with a pile of single-use boxes. However this review seems to be more of a preview, after which Gregory is hoping to get a pair of GTs into his own audition rooms, hopefully for a more in depth review. Hopefully Stereophile will be reviewing them soon too.

    Reading the GT's Manual (downloadable from the AG site), it seems that its bass DSP is somewhat simpler than the complex XD software. Probably no bad thing. I'm looking forward to seeing and hearing it in the flesh. It's a lot of dosh, but could be very good value in its fully-fledged active version, including DAC, DSP on bass, amps and streamer module. If they get a good control app (hopefully they'll get a BluOS license) and it's Roon compatible, then perhaps excellent value.
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    502

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Any more news about this interesting speaker? It would be good to see a worthwhile review from a respected reviewer soon.

    Peter
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  4. #4
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    29,900

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    Any more news about this interesting speaker? It would be good to see a worthwhile review from a respected reviewer soon.

    Peter
    The prices here are going up August 1. Thatís all Iíve heard. Iím sure we will see reviews soon.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    49

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    The prices here are going up August 1. Thatís all Iíve heard. Iím sure we will see reviews soon.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Hi Mike,

    I'm intrigued by the DUO SD with the iTTRON option. When do you think you'll be receiving your pair? The iTRON frees up the floor space and cost of amps and amp stands, important for someone like me with limited space. Just curious...I read somewhere that these Avantgarde models can be positioned relatively close to the front wall. Is that true, and how close to you think the rear of the bass cabinet or edge of the horns could be?

    Would the MSB Reference be a good match for this amp? Avantgarde didn't make an impression on me at the FLAX, but I heard a lot of great horns in Munich. Never seriously considered a horn speaker before that show. Thank you, sir!
    Amps: Devialet E440's
    Sources: Innuos Zenith Mk III (Roon Core), Innuos PhoenixNET
    Speakers: Magnepan 3.7i's
    Power: Shunyata Triton V3
    Cabling: Shunyata Power, Cardas Speaker, Sablon Audio USB, Nordost & Wireworld Enet, DH Labs HDMI's
    Racks/Footers: Box Furniture Co Custom Rack, Symposium RollerBlocks, Voodoo Iso-Pods, Herbie's Audio Lab (many)
    Replaced HT Gear with a Devialet Dione

  6. #6
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    29,900

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by BobK View Post
    Hi Mike,

    I'm intrigued by the DUO SD with the iTTRON option. When do you think you'll be receiving your pair? The iTRON frees up the floor space and cost of amps and amp stands, important for someone like me with limited space. Just curious...I read somewhere that these Avantgarde models can be positioned relatively close to the front wall. Is that true, and how close to you think the rear of the bass cabinet or edge of the horns could be?

    Would the MSB Reference be a good match for this amp? Avantgarde didn't make an impression on me at the FLAX, but I heard a lot of great horns in Munich. Never seriously considered a horn speaker before that show. Thank you, sir!
    Weíve decided to focus on Magico, MBL, Clarisys, Kharma, etc. Sorry, but I wasnít ďfeeling itĒ with the new prices and active complexity. We wonít be bringing any in. Thinning the herd. I dropped a couple of others lately, including Viva (since we decided no more AG). Was a tough decision since I loved my XDís, but I spoke with several folks on this forum and they werenít feeling it either. None of our current XD owners were interested in upgrading either.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Front Row Center
    Posts
    3,398

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    Any more news about this interesting speaker? It would be good to see a worthwhile review from a respected reviewer soon.

    Peter
    Are you implying Gregory is not a respected reviewer ? Would love to see some actual measurements on them too ..


    Regards
    * An Audiophile is only as old as his latest Class D incarnation *

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    502

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Weíve decided to focus on Magico, MBL, Clarisys, Kharma, etc. Sorry, but I wasnít ďfeeling itĒ with the new prices and active complexity. We wonít be bringing any in. Thinning the herd. I dropped a couple of others lately, including Viva (since we decided no more AG). Was a tough decision since I loved my XDís, but I spoke with several folks on this forum and they werenít feeling it either. None of our current XD owners were interested in upgrading either.
    I'm sorry to hear this Mike, although I'm way outside your customer catchment area. It's a real shame that prices of these new AG systems are so much above the XD range, although with so much built into them, the prices may be justifoed.

    To be slightly cynical, could another reason be that, as a dealer, you are unlikely to be able to sell costly electronics boxes and cables to customers who had bought these new all-in-one AG speakers? With amps, DACs, DSP, streamer and no need for cables, what more could you offer apart from to vinyl customers?

    In fact I'll seriously be looking at the Duo GT when it becomes available as I'm less of a box collector than many audiophiles and just want wonderful music. If I could get this from a single purchase with no cables, equipment racks and other "clutter", I'd be more than happy!

    Peter
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,099

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post

    To be slightly cynical, could another reason be that, as a dealer, you are unlikely to be able to sell costly electronics boxes and cables to customers who had bought these new all-in-one AG speakers? With amps, DACs, DSP, streamer and no need for cables, what more could you offer apart from to vinyl customers?



    Peter

    Wow Mike - You just got called you an unethical scammy business person. I bet if you sold NAD though you'd be a hero. .
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    502

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
    Are you implying Gregory is not a respected reviewer ? Would love to see some actual measurements on them too ..


    Regards
    Not at all, but the"review" the above link sends one to is not a review so much as a preview. Also as I noted in my earlier post, Roy appeared somewhat uninformed about the XD range of AG speakers that the new G3 ones are to replace.

    I am still looking forward to a proper review from a respected reviewer, (HiFi Plus, HFN, Stereophile, etc) where the product is actually reviewed! Peter
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  11. #11
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    29,900

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    I'm sorry to hear this Mike, although I'm way outside your customer catchment area. It's a real shame that prices of these new AG systems are so much above the XD range, although with so much built into them, the prices may be justifoed.

    To be slightly cynical, could another reason be that, as a dealer, you are unlikely to be able to sell costly electronics boxes and cables to customers who had bought these new all-in-one AG speakers? With amps, DACs, DSP, streamer and no need for cables, what more could you offer apart from to vinyl customers?

    In fact I'll seriously be looking at the Duo GT when it becomes available as I'm less of a box collector than many audiophiles and just want wonderful music. If I could get this from a single purchase with no cables, equipment racks and other "clutter", I'd be more than happy!

    Peter
    Peter, trust me when I say, we donít need any one speaker brand in order to sell our world class electronics, cables, DACís, etc. The reality is, we had plenty of time since GT launch to evaluate the level of interest. It was near zero. We had time to talk to all of our existing clients (as the largest AG dealer in the country over the past 6 years, we had plenty). There was none, as I suspect, like you, most are very happy with their XDís. And we had to look at available space for large horns in the store and making the financial investment.

    I want to be clear, Iím a big big fan of Avantgarde. I loved my XDís and could argue they were the best sound I ever had in my room - especially for dynamics.

    But sometimes in business, you have to look at things and be honest with yourself. The interest just wasnít there, from either my staff, me or our customers. If Iím going to make a financial investment, there has to be the energy behind it - at a minimum from my staff and me. There are people on this forum who can attest, I called them over the past 6 months. We had long talks about AG. These are AG owners or former AG owners. They werenít feeling it either. XD was already such a big improvement over the previous generation and all our XD owners are content.

    As you can imagine, we get approached daily about brand X or brand Y. Just think of the speakers, electronics and cables that are out on the market today. Itís not always easy, but I often have to tell the reps, ďsuch and such is a great product, but we just arenít interested at this time thank you.Ē I had someone email and call me the other day and do a hard sell on Raidho. I had to bite my tongue, but I was very polite and professional. Thanks but no thanks.

    That being said, we are always on the lookout for exciting new opportunities and as I mentioned, we may revisit AG in the future. But right now, we have to focus on what we have. Allocate funds towards the products we have. Put marketing dollars and floor space for the brands we have. Hell, we havenít even got our new Magico S3ís yet! They are shipping soon though. Avantgarde Duo GT Review


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    502

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelsMinute View Post
    Wow Mike - You just got called you an unethical scammy business person. .
    Who by Micheal? Certainly not by me! Nothing whatsoever unethical or scammy in Mike's business. In fact seemingly (though I've had no direct dealings with him for obvious geographical reasons), quite the reverse. Peter
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

  13. #13
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    29,900

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    Who by Micheal? Certainly not by me! Nothing whatsoever unethical or scammy in Mike's business. In fact seemingly (though I've had no direct dealings with him for obvious geographical reasons), quite the reverse. Peter
    Thank you. Itís funny how people always think there is some nefarious reason for a business decision, but often times, it is what it is. I look at business decisions made in the industry daily, and often shake my head. Iím not sure Iíll ever understand some of the decisions some others make, but experience tells me to not spend energies even trying.

    Keep in mind, even though I have a staff, Iím still just one guy with active children and a hard working wife. With the store, used gear, the show, distribution, coaching kids hockey, playing hockey, supporting my daughter with her career (commercial airline pilot), etc., I work 7 days a week. You have to look at your personal bandwidth and evaluate where to put your energies. There has to be the interest and support from the team. If it isnít there, be honest with yourself and move on. But never close doors, always be polite and professional and keep on trucking.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classeí Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Enleum (Bakoon), Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  14. #14

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Hear Here View Post
    Not at all, but the"review" the above link sends one to is not a review so much as a preview. Also as I noted in my earlier post, Roy appeared somewhat uninformed about the XD range of AG speakers that the new G3 ones are to replace.

    I am still looking forward to a proper review from a respected reviewer, (HiFi Plus, HFN, Stereophile, etc) where the product is actually reviewed! Peter
    I get it now: "worthwhile review from respected reviewer" = subjective reviews published in magazines that increasingly are coming under fire by folks that rely on objective data for promoting snake oil .

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    502

    Re: Avantgarde Duo GT Review

    Thanks Mike - Absolutely understood that you need to represent brands that you can sell in numbers to justify the cost and effort in stocking, demo'ing, setting up and all the other activities that come with running a successful dealership.

    As an XD user myself, I'm very happy to learn that your existing XD owners are content with their speakers and not hankering for a G3 upgrade. I admire the design brief that AG have set themselves and I think that more fully active speaker systems such as Dutch & Dutch, Kii and G3 AGs will become available and, though it may take a decade, the notion of these "all-in-one" speaker systems will be accepted and appreciated increasingly by the hi-fi community. Many though will always claim better sound from their mix-and-match rack full of proudly displayed boxes from a number of different brands, but there's a lot to be said for leaving the "matching" to the design team behind a single respected brand.

    Iím rather surprised that AG seems to have dropped all of their previous offerings Ė their website is currently pretty off-putting with little worthwhile information on their new G3 models - and no reviews yet from reliable sources - and not a word about the old XD range. I wonder if anyone will actually get round to buying these new and costly beasts! What is sustaining AGís cash flow I wonder? After doing all the work that has gone into developing these slightly off-beat products, ditching their bread-and-butter range seems a rash and possibly dangerous move. But on the other hand, AG has always thrived by offering something brilliant, but a little off-piste! Peter
    Sources - NAD M50.2 (streamer, CD player, CD ripper, hard drive music store)
    Amplification - NAD M33 all-in-one, NAD M12 preamp (in reserve), Atma-Sphere Class D monos
    Speakers - Avantgarde Duo XD, Avantgarde Duo (2006) - both aesthetically modified

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Avantgarde Duo GT Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •