Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    704

    Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    My thoughts on the upgrade of my N10 to a N20. Yes the N20 is better and extracts more data, but at what cost? My N10 was like a soft warm blanket and the N20 is more like a Vegas neon light show experience. Both present you with the musical info but in a different vocabulary. Personally I like the more detailed and analytical side of the audio spectrum but the N10 is very relaxing and listenable. To me the N20 sounds more like ROON now, not that it is a bad statement to be made. I only have a day of relearning my musical library on the calendar so I am sure there will be many more surprises.
    Marty

  2. #2
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    27,715

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by nc42acc View Post
    My thoughts on the upgrade of my N10 to a N20. Yes the N20 is better and extracts more data, but at what cost? My N10 was like a soft warm blanket and the N20 is more like a Vegas neon light show experience. Both present you with the musical info but in a different vocabulary. Personally I like the more detailed and analytical side of the audio spectrum but the N10 is very relaxing and listenable. To me the N20 sounds more like ROON now, not that it is a bad statement to be made. I only have a day of relearning my musical library on the calendar so I am sure there will be many more surprises.
    Oh God, don’t say that! N20 to me does extract more micro detail, but it still retains the analog sonic nature.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Bakoon Audio, Berkeley Audio Design, Block Audio, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Franco Serblin Loudspeakers, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Koetsu Cartridges, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, Vivid Audio Loudspeakers, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    704

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    Mike the N20 still retains the Aurender magic but with much more detail retrieval.
    Marty

  4. #4

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Oh God, don’t say that! N20 to me does extract more micro detail, but it still retains the analog sonic nature.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    I agree, and think the N20 sounds fantastic.

    Superb product.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    704

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    I hope I wasn’t misunderstood as saying the N20 does not sound fantastic. It does!!!


    Quote Originally Posted by Puma Cat View Post
    I agree, and think the N20 sounds fantastic.

    Superb product.
    Marty

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    I have a sort of similar experience when comparing my demo N200 unit with my own N100H. I like the N100H’s easy going fluid sound. The N200 is better but also sounds different by being more detailed whilst in my view losing somewhat of that organic fluid sound of the N100H. For example with the N100H I can listen for hours with no fatigue to internet radio whereas the N200, being much more honest, exposes the low bit rate stream more and that is not always so positive. Still have a week to decide on the N200 or just keep my N100H or look for 2nd hand N10.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    704

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    My progression was the N100H to a N10 and then my N20. Each step was an improvement and with improvement in audio is higher resolution typically. I think it is easy to mold our systems around the whole of all components to create synergy to our ears. When you add a new component to the mix I found I had to make adjustments to bring back the synergy. Once I did this I was rewarded with a better audio outcome. Easiest thing to try is moving your speaker position. If you have access to cables that is another way to meld synergy. For me it was speaker placement and a more neutral interconnect. Hope this helps.
    Marty

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    On your N10 and now N20 were you using the USB or coax output? I have the impression the coax output on my N200 sounds more to my liking by keeping very good timing while being more fluid and smooth. For a lack of a better wording via its coax output it sound less digital.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    704

    Re: Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

    I have always used the USB output since I have a large amount of DSD music. I have never tried the coax or AES option.
    Marty

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Subjective N10 vs N20 Opinion

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •