Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,011

    Aurender N20 Review

    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,812

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    Not surprised with this review. Have a friend with an N20 and his system sounds sublime. He upgraded from the N10 and is using the EMM top DAC. It’s a fabulous combo.
    _______________

    Mike

    Amplification: MBL 6010D, MBL 9008A Monos
    Analog: Kuzma R, Kuzma 4Point (11”), MSL Ultra Eminent EX
    Phono Pre: Pass XP-27
    Digital: Esoteric N01XD Esoteric K05
    Speakers: MBL 101E MKII
    Subwoofers: REL Carbon Specials
    Conditioner: Shunyata Triton 3
    Power Cables: Shunyata Sigma 1 & 2, Alpha 2, Delta and Venom
    ICs and SCs: Wireworld Platinum 8
    Rack: Artesania Exoteryc

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    East Bay, CA
    Posts
    2,325

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritmo View Post
    Not surprised with this review. Have a friend with an N20 and his system sounds sublime. He upgraded from the N10 and is using the EMM top DAC. It’s a fabulous combo.
    I've presently got an Aurender N20 here for review; it's very, very impressive. Superb sound quality. 👍

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    I'd like to reply to the N20 post even though it's been a couple of years since the last post. Mike, it was great seeing you at the Toronto Audiofest btw. I just want someone to clarify that by adding a high quality ethernet switch, for example, a Nordost Qnet/QSource, or Melco S10 to the N20 makes that much of a difference in sound quality wrt streaming Qobuz and/or listening to stored files on the Aurender. Are the improvements subtle, or drastic? Or is more wise to budget towards a DJM giga foil, upgraded power supply with high quality ethernet cable? Then take the extra money and start budgeting towards a master clock in the 6,000 range? Thank you kindly.
    Gene
    Gene

    Preamp: Spectral DMC-30SS series 2
    Amp: Spectral DMA-300SV
    Streamer: Aurender N20
    Dac: Metronome Le DAC 2
    Streaming: Ediscreation Fiber Box II Extreme/Ediscreation Firebird LPS
    Speakers: Vimberg Amea
    Cables: MIT 2C3D Level One speaker cable/Furutech NCF power cables/Flux-50 G NCF Power Filters

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,265

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Gene15352 View Post
    I'd like to reply to the N20 post even though it's been a couple of years since the last post. Mike, it was great seeing you at the Toronto Audiofest btw. I just want someone to clarify that by adding a high quality ethernet switch, for example, a Nordost Qnet/QSource, or Melco S10 to the N20 makes that much of a difference in sound quality wrt streaming Qobuz and/or listening to stored files on the Aurender. Are the improvements subtle, or drastic? Or is more wise to budget towards a DJM giga foil, upgraded power supply with high quality ethernet cable? Then take the extra money and start budgeting towards a master clock in the 6,000 range? Thank you kindly.
    Gene
    Hi Gene,


    I've done videos on my experimenting with DOZENS of switches and combo of switches from $27 to $8,000. I've tried everything from GigaFoil's to EXT1's. I've tried upgraded power cables, power conditioners and power supplies.

    At the end of the day there are too many variables between individual houses and components for there to be a blanket answer for you.

    I will say there is a clear different in the sound between switches cheap or expensive. In fact even though I am currently running an $8,000 switch, there is still a noticeable improvement by running a trio of 3 particular inexpensive switches by the wall, then running my 5m cable to my expensive switch where the system is located.

    No person can guarantee you any results without you trying in your home, and your system, to your ears.
    "We are all billionaires because of the huge piles sweet dough rolling in from our participation in the ongoing campaign to suck your collective brains through a stirrer-straw." - PTA Editorial Staff

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    Thank you Mike. That makes sense what you're saying. Forgot to mention that at the Toronto Audiofest, the room where you collaborated with Audio by Mark Jones sounded really dialed in with the Clarisys Audio speakers.
    Gene

    Preamp: Spectral DMC-30SS series 2
    Amp: Spectral DMA-300SV
    Streamer: Aurender N20
    Dac: Metronome Le DAC 2
    Streaming: Ediscreation Fiber Box II Extreme/Ediscreation Firebird LPS
    Speakers: Vimberg Amea
    Cables: MIT 2C3D Level One speaker cable/Furutech NCF power cables/Flux-50 G NCF Power Filters

  7. #7
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    30,011

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Gene15352 View Post
    Thank you Mike. That makes sense what you're saying. Forgot to mention that at the Toronto Audiofest, the room where you collaborated with Audio by Mark Jones sounded really dialed in with the Clarisys Audio speakers.
    Thanks! Great seeing you!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Berkeley Audio, Block Audio (distributor), Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Clarisys Audio Loudspeakers (distributor), Classe’ Audio, Degritter Record Cleaning Machines, Esoteric, Finite Elemente, FirstWatt, Focal Loudspeakers and Headphones, GigaFoil, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, Innuos, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kharma Loudspeakers and Electronics, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Nordost Cables, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables and Electronics, Shunyata Research, STAX, Stein Music Products, Stillpoints, Soulution, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    East Bay, CA
    Posts
    2,325

    Re: Aurender N20 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Gene15352 View Post
    I'd like to reply to the N20 post even though it's been a couple of years since the last post. Mike, it was great seeing you at the Toronto Audiofest btw. I just want someone to clarify that by adding a high quality ethernet switch, for example, a Nordost Qnet/QSource, or Melco S10 to the N20 makes that much of a difference in sound quality wrt streaming Qobuz and/or listening to stored files on the Aurender. Are the improvements subtle, or drastic? Or is more wise to budget towards a DJM giga foil, upgraded power supply with high quality ethernet cable? Then take the extra money and start budgeting towards a master clock in the 6,000 range? Thank you kindly.
    Gene
    Hi Gene,
    Yes, they really matter. Turns out "digital streaming" is susceptible to a slew of noise factors (including how they're powered) including low-source and high-source leakage impedance current, deterministic jitter, threshold jitter, phase noise and sources of noise that result in timing errors.
    They are also generally very sensitive to vibration, as this impacts their clocks.

    With respect to improvements provided by audio-grade Ethernet switches, I'd say the range of improvement range from "notable" to "significant" (not sure that "drastic" would be the right adjective).

    Other factors that are used with switches that impact their performance with audible effects are: their power supplies (SMPS are generally pretty bad as they are a source of low-source and high-source leakage impedance current, which cause threshold jitter), the power cords used to power them, and the Ethernet cables used with them.

    A great article about the factors that impact Ethernet switches for audio applications is by John Swenson, who designed Uptone Audio's EtherREGEN. My recommendation is to read this article thoroughly.

    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/06...f?v=1583429386

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Aurender N20 Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •