Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 101 to 120 of 120
  1. #101
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Intending to use Thunder for connecting Niagara 5000 and two Blizzard with Devialet 220 Pro monos. Hope that will work out well

  2. #102
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    13

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by markush View Post
    Intending to use Thunder for connecting Niagara 5000 and two Blizzard with Devialet 220 Pro monos. Hope that will work out well
    I tried both at home. The Thunder was more dynamic then the Blizzard, especially on power amps, but the tonal qualities of the Blizzard were better. Since the Thunder feeding the Niagara 5000 will allready give you an extra boost in dynamics and separation, this could work well. Without the Niagara I would go Tornado HC on the power amps

  3. #103
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Thanks! I haven’t had a chance to compare the cables but got a good offer so I think to go Thunder from wall to Niagara 5000 as well as Thunder each for the Devialet monos. You think that should be better than the two Blizzard ?

  4. #104
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    13

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by markush View Post
    Thanks! I haven’t had a chance to compare the cables but got a good offer so I think to go Thunder from wall to Niagara 5000 as well as Thunder each for the Devialet monos. You think that should be better than the two Blizzard ?
    it depends what your system needs, my amplifiers were quite fussy about tonal quality but needed dynamics as well, so I went with Tornado HC which are burning in as I type. As said the Thunder give more dynamics, and are better suited for power amps in this regard, but when I compared Thunder and Blizzard on preamp, I preferred the Blizzard because the timbre was more beautiful especially in the highs. I think you would compensate the loss in dynamics with the Niagara from what I read, but I never tried that in my system

  5. #105
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    I got two Devialet 440 Pro (which is two 220 Pro monos) - so think / Hope they will benefit from the Thunder High Current.

  6. #106
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    13

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by markush View Post
    I got two Devialet 440 Pro (which is two 220 Pro monos) - so think / Hope they will benefit from the Thunder High Current.
    They have switching power supplies or standard big transfos?

  7. #107

    AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Devialet use own produced switching power supplies


    Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

  8. #108
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Is this good or bad in view of the Thunder High Current?

  9. #109

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    You don‘t need the HC implicit.


    Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

  10. #110
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    I ordered it already )

  11. #111
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    13

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by markush View Post
    Is this good or bad in view of the Thunder High Current?
    I use Jeff Rowland 725 amps, they use analog amplification circuitry but have switching power supplies.
    I do not have a Niagara 5000, but when comparing Blizzard and Thunder on the power amps, I found they did need the extra dynamics of the Thunder on bass driven music. Switching power supply amps are very effecient but they actually need better powercords then amplifiers with normal power supplies, as the consumption of current from the net varies much more. So contradictory to what one might think because of low normal consumption of switiching power supplies, you actually do need a very good and dynamic powercord because the instanteneous current draw from the net of switching supplies could be comparatively much higher

  12. #112
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Very interesting to hear - thank you very much for your insights!

  13. #113
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    44

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Rnrmf View Post
    I've demo'd the Hurricanes at least twice, one of the times directly against the Dragons, trying to convince myself I could get away with the Hurricane in a spot or two of my system.




    Nope.
    That is the reason why I did not try the Dragons in my system. Two hurricanes is more than enough.
    Jan

    Dedicated room: Confidence Mansion
    Electronics: Trinnov Altitude32 | VAC Signature 200 IQ mono’s | Parasound Halo JC-1’s + A51 | Synology DS918+/DX517 (48TB) | Oppo BDP-105D / UDP-203 CM Stufe2
    Speakers: Von Schweikert VR10-MKII system | Dynaudio Confidence C4 | Velodyne DD-18
    Projection: JVC DLA-RS55 | Stewart LX123HST13
    Various: Artesania Exoteryc 3L + Aire racks | Schnerzinger Emi + Giga Piccolo A3 | PS Audio Stellar Power Plant 3 | iPad Pro 12.9” (2018) | Roon
    Cables: AudioQuest Huricane EC | Nordost Frey speakercable | AudioQuest Diamond RJ/E | AudioQuest Diamond HDMI


  14. #114
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    I hope to be able to report soon about the difference Niagara 5000 and Thunder cables made to my system

  15. #115
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Berlin, CT
    Posts
    250

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    I look back and probably should have gotten Dragons over Hurricane. Mike told me they are that much better. I heard Mikes MSB set up with Dragons and was BLOWN out of the water by it, lol. I ended up with Hurricane's throughout as Firebird wasn't out when I bought. He didn't have power or source then either. I was waiting to get them after hearing the prototypes with Garth a few years ago. Even with the clear jackets and not totally refunded yet, they were on another level than any cord I had ever heard.

    Listen to Mike when he tells you to do the upgrade, lol. .
    System:
    Vandersteen Quatro CT
    Ayre AX5/20
    The Memory Player with built in DAC and headphone amp built in on order
    AQ Niagara 1000 power device
    Audioquest William Tell bi wire speaker cable
    Wireworld 8 optical cable into the Empirical Audio Synchro Mesh from the TV and Blueray to reclock
    Wireworld Platnium 8 ethernet cables into the EMO 70e ethernet filter into The Memory Player from Eero mesh router
    All routers, cable box and synchro mesh powered by the Wyred4sound LPS box with separate supplies for each
    Audioquest power outlets and four dedicated power lines in the room
    ZMF Ori headphones with the Audioarts 15' Pono balanced cable for the QX5/20
    Empire Ears Phantom CIEM's
    Rhapsodio 2.98 mk2 gold plated silver cable for Phantom

  16. #116
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,841

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Ctsooner View Post
    I look back and probably should have gotten Dragons over Hurricane. Mike told me they are that much better. I heard Mikes MSB set up with Dragons and was BLOWN out of the water by it, lol. I ended up with Hurricane's throughout as Firebird wasn't out when I bought. He didn't have power or source then either. I was waiting to get them after hearing the prototypes with Garth a few years ago. Even with the clear jackets and not totally refunded yet, they were on another level than any cord I had ever heard.

    Listen to Mike when he tells you to do the upgrade, lol. .
    Hi Ctsooner,

    I did Dragon Source Power Cords on just my Select DAC and it made a monstrous improvement over the Hurricane Source Power Cords. The rest of my power cords are Hurricanes. The system sounds amazing!

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases, Femto 33 Clock, Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  17. #117
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Are you using them also in combination with a Niagara?

  18. #118
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,841

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by markush View Post
    Are you using them also in combination with a Niagara?
    I have Hurricane HC PC’s from the wall to my Niagara 5000’s and two Dragon Source PC’s on my MSB Select DAC. Just a stunning improvement in sound quality adding them to my source component. I may add more Dragons in the future if I can.

    Ken
    "No summit worth climbing is easily attained."
    --------------------------------------------
    Source: MSB Select II DAC with Two Mono Powerbases, Femto 33 Clock, Renderer V2 Digital Input Module and Roon Nucleus Plus
    Amps: Vandersteen M7-HPA Mono Amps
    Speakers: Vandersteen Model 7 Mk2
    Power: Two AudioQuest Niagara 5000’s with AudioQuest Dragon and Hurricane Power Cords

  19. #119

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpinist View Post
    Thank you! Yes, I replaced the two Hurricane Source Power Cords with two Dragon Source Power Cords on my MSB Select DAC. Please keep in mind that the Dragons are brand new out of the box today and are hardly broken in.

    Nevertheless they already sound magnificent. The treble is more airy with greater detail and extension, delivered with delicacy in a totally non-fatiguing fashion. The midrange provides great insight into the music with wonderful tonal shading and layering. The bass is articulate with just the right amount of texture. I found the Hurricane bass to be a bit overstated, somewhat overpowering vocals and piano on upright bass duets. The Dragon bass seems to be better balanced, blending seamlessly with midrange and treble.

    The Dragons provide more refinement, painting a musical portrait with smaller brush strokes compared to the Hurricane’s broad brush strokes. Lastly, imaging is far more three dimensional with instruments and vocals well-placed and floating in space. You can really hear the depth of the soundstage.

    Ken
    I couldn't have said it any better. I think you have made a very accurate description of what the Dragon power cable does in a system! I'm an ex-Hurricane HC owner and you've just nailed it! The Dragon is so much better...
    Triangle Magellan Concerto 2 < AQ Everest < Vitus Audio SS-010 Mk2 < AQ NRG-1000 < AQ WEL Signature XLR < Chord Qutest w UpTone JS-2 & AQ Dragon Source < SOtM tX-USBultra w 75Ohm Master Clock Input, Paul Hynes SR5-12 Turbo XL & AQ Dragon Source < AQ Diamond USB < Apple MacMini i5 w UpTone DC Conversion Kit & Squeezelite w Logitech Media Server < Gryphon PowerZone w AQ NRG-Wild < Solid Tech Hybrid < Ansuz Darkz D-TC, Darkz D2, Stillpoints Ultra SS, Omicron Harmonic Stabilizer & Gold SE < Furutech FT-SWS < Synergistic Research Blue Quantum Fuse

  20. #120
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    20

    Re: AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

    Though Dragon is pricewise really hefty.
    I still think Thunder & Hurricane deliver outstanding performance for a reasonable price. And especially together with a Niagara they fully unleash their potential.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

AudioQuest Niagra and Storm Power Cable Review

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •