PDA

View Full Version : AES and DSD

skolis
December 7, 2015, 01:33 PM
Not sure where to post this so I'll try here.....
I'm trying to verify something I was just told....
In the process of considering some AES interconnects, I've was told
that AES won't play DSD on EMM Labs DAC2X, and on alot of other DACs. USB Only for DSD.
REALLY!
Hard to believe - but I have no experience with these (still
sorting through a new config).
Can someone confirm or call BS on this?
thx,

Rod#S
December 7, 2015, 02:06 PM
That is my understanding, native DSD is typically limited to tranmission over USB only although some hardware does allow it I believe. I'm not sure which though. I don't think it matters for DoP transmission thus that would be available over AES.

audio.bill
December 7, 2015, 02:54 PM
Some DACs support DSD over SPDIF (coax or AES/EBU), but most that do only support DSD64 via this connection. DSD64 and above are generally supported over USB. Of course there are likely some exceptions to these generalities.

Julot
December 7, 2015, 05:48 PM
There is no satisfying way to do DSD over SPDIF or AES. Even DSD over USB is not pure DSD, but is transformed into DoP, processed like a PCM signal and then "put back" into DSD.

There is no standard for unadulterated DSD. Typically I2S input/output, carried on either RJ45 or HDMI plugs. Lengths need be short.

audio.bill
December 7, 2015, 07:55 PM