Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Amp Opinions?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,613

    Amp Opinions?

    Sound quality is subjective I know but I thought I'd throw this out for discussion.

    I currently use the Levinson 532h which is my sweet spot personally for amp sound, pretty much. I would like to have a high current amp but the next Levinson is $20k. The 532h uses banks of smaller capacitors for quick response but isn't actually high current like typical Levinson.

    When I say sweet spot, I like a quick amp with control but not sterile. Like control with micro/macro dynamics. Pass is too polite for example, although I do like Pass. Bryston is some dry and seems to lack the micro/macro I like. These are my opinions, both good amps. On paper D'Agostino would meet this but I have yet to hear the same characters personally as stated in reviews.

    Here's the question, is there any power amps under $10k that is high current and would be some upgrade from the 532h? Like a Levinson without the name. I know some may not even be a Levinson fan but this is all from my perspective, smile. Also, not meaning to start any arguments over amps but if I didn't give my opinion you wouldn't have a reference for a personal enough suggestion.
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  2. #2

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    AVM MA 8.2 perhaps.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ WyWires Platinum ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    108

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Constellation Inspiration perhaps. It might be a couple of grand above but it seems one of the unbelievable bargains in high end audio.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Turntable: VPI Prime - Hana SL cart - VPI ADS
    Phono preamp: ASR Basis Exclusive phono stage
    Preamp: VAC Amplification Signature MkIIa SE
    Amplifier: Bryston 4B3
    Speakers: Neat Acoustics SX1
    Power conditioning- Shunyata Research Triton v1
    Power cord- Shunyata Research/Nordost
    Interconnects- Transparent Audio Super Gen 5 XLR and tonearm cable / Audio Art IC3SE XLR
    Solid Tech Reference rack

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Iowa City, IA
    Posts
    179

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Parasound JC5
    Morgan

    ROOM
    21’4” x 12’10” x 8’8” w/GIK Acoustics treatments
    SPEAKERS KEF Blade 2
    AMPLIFICATION Pass Labs X250.8, Cary SLP-05 w/Ultimate Upgrade
    DIGITAL Marantz SA-10, Bluesound Node 2, Intel NUC Roon Core
    VINYL EAT C-Sharp, Hana SL, EAT E-Glo S w/LPS
    POWER AudioQuest Niagara 5000 on dedicated 20 amp/10 gauge circuit
    WIRES AudioQuest William Tell, Earth, Leopard, Tornado
    RESONANCE/ISOLATION Nordost Sort Kones - BC & AC, Herbie's Giant Decoupling Gliders

  5. #5
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,646

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Luxman M700u. With your speakers, you don’t need any more power.

    Frankly, if it was ME, based on your desired characteristics, I would look at a NAIM system. NAIM is super dynamic, super FAST, musical, 3D, never fatiguing.

    Since you have such efficient speakers, you could look at:

    SuperNAIT 3 with a HiCAP DR.

    Strongly recommend a NAIM source to go with it and don’t forget you need NAIM speaker cables!

    One last suggestion: SimAudio 760A


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,613

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kuoppis View Post
    AVM MA 8.2 perhaps.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Looks like $32k and I'm not sure if that's for a pair. I don't have it like that, LOL But if someone was to gift me a pair...……
    Thanks for the reply though.
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,613

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    I like Naim, really don't want to change most of the system. Sim, to me, has even more of that Canadian house sound than Bryston.

    I will look at the Luxman. I got the impression from comments Luxman leaned some polite. Does T+A have anything that fits the criteria?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Luxman M700u. With your speakers, you don’t need any more power.

    Frankly, if it was ME, based on your desired characteristics, I would look at a NAIM system. NAIM is super dynamic, super FAST, musical, 3D, never fatiguing.

    Since you have such efficient speakers, you could look at:

    SuperNAIT 3 with a HiCAP DR.

    Strongly recommend a NAIM source to go with it and don’t forget you need NAIM speaker cables!

    One last suggestion: SimAudio 760A


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  8. #8
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,646

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Nope. Nothing from T+A in your budget range.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Kuzma Turntables, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    2,869

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Might be worth looking at the two new Coda amplifiers. Terry London reviewed the #8 last year and the review of the newer #16 should be out shortly.

    https://hometheaterreview.com/coda-t...reo-amplifier/
    Main - JVC QL-Y7/Denon DL-301 Mk II, Gold Note PH-10, Nuprime CDT-8, Auralic Aries G1, Aqua La Voce S3, Supratek Chardonnay, Van Alstine Vision SET-400, Fritz Carrera Be, (2) Rythmik F12SE, Audio Envy IC's & PC's, Triode Wire Lab PC's, USB & SC's, PS Audio Stellar P3, PI Audio Uberbuss, Timbernation rack

    Family Room - Oppo UDP-203, Teac NT-505, Audia Flight FL Three S, Reynaud Abscisse Jubilee, (2) Rythmik F-12G, Audio Sensibility SC & IC's, Neotech PC's, SurgeX SA-1810

  10. #10

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    So what’s the matter with your current amp?
    Micro Seiki SX-8000 air bearing table, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, and Definitive Technology Ref subs.

  11. #11

    Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Peabody View Post
    Looks like $32k and I'm not sure if that's for a pair. I don't have it like that, LOL But if someone was to gift me a pair...……
    Thanks for the reply though.
    Of course there’s a significant difference in pricing for EU gear in the US, compared to Europe.

    In the EU they are 20K/ pair, and there’s also a newer slightly smaller sibling AVM Ovation MA 6.2 for 15K/pair (newer, even more favorably reviewed).


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ WyWires Platinum ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  12. #12

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    if you are patient and enjoy the hunt ...you can often find the Levinson No536s used for $15k pair or less used and they would go really well with your No526 Preamp! I've seen the No534 used for $10k or slightly under used. I own the No536s and they are really good amps.

    George
    Wilson Audio Alexx|Pair of BalancedForce212's
    ML No536|BAT Rex II Pre
    VPI Avenger Plus w/ Transfiguration Proteus/VTL TP6.5
    Esoteric D-02X|Esoteric P-02X|Aurender N100H
    MIT Oracle SC and IC
    Transparent Reference Power

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Berlin, CT
    Posts
    250

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    I"m with Mike on the Naim gear. I"ve always loved it for the price ranges it competes in. What most folks just don't seem to deal with is how components work together in a system. Levinson may sound great in your system and not as good in others. Same with Naim or anything else for that matter. It's why I need to work with dealers who have a nice assortment of gear. I've rarely gone into Mikes (when visiting family in Sarasota) and not seen totally different systems set up. The last time down, he showed me how great the Harbeth 40.2's were. Heck, I've heard them at friends houses and even at Walters (the distributor). I have always liked them, but not like Mike had them set up. WE could have listened for hours and hours, but I had a timeline due to family things. He was using top MSB gear and a full loom of AQ Dragon.

    I forgot what pre you are using? Will you change out to the same brand pre? Just things to keep in mind as we all tell you how great our own amps are etc... lol. .
    System:
    Vandersteen Quatro CT
    Ayre AX5/20
    The Memory Player with built in DAC and headphone amp built in on order
    AQ Niagara 1000 power device
    Audioquest William Tell bi wire speaker cable
    Wireworld 8 optical cable into the Empirical Audio Synchro Mesh from the TV and Blueray to reclock
    Wireworld Platnium 8 ethernet cables into the EMO 70e ethernet filter into The Memory Player from Eero mesh router
    All routers, cable box and synchro mesh powered by the Wyred4sound LPS box with separate supplies for each
    Audioquest power outlets and four dedicated power lines in the room
    ZMF Ori headphones with the Audioarts 15' Pono balanced cable for the QX5/20
    Empire Ears Phantom CIEM's
    Rhapsodio 2.98 mk2 gold plated silver cable for Phantom

  14. #14

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ctsooner View Post
    I"m with Mike on the Naim gear. I"ve always loved it for the price ranges it competes in. What most folks just don't seem to deal with is how components work together in a system. Levinson may sound great in your system and not as good in others. Same with Naim or anything else for that matter. It's why I need to work with dealers who have a nice assortment of gear. I've rarely gone into Mikes (when visiting family in Sarasota) and not seen totally different systems set up. The last time down, he showed me how great the Harbeth 40.2's were. Heck, I've heard them at friends houses and even at Walters (the distributor). I have always liked them, but not like Mike had them set up. WE could have listened for hours and hours, but I had a timeline due to family things. He was using top MSB gear and a full loom of AQ Dragon.

    I forgot what pre you are using? Will you change out to the same brand pre? Just things to keep in mind as we all tell you how great our own amps are etc... lol. .
    No doubt we all have our own biased opinions and mine is certainly no less biased than most I had suggested the Levinson amps as he already has the matching Levinson Preamp and the synergy of those components is quite good. To start swapping out everything close to his budget could lead to more of a lateral move than a definitive upgrade. Just my 2c and not worth much more!
    Wilson Audio Alexx|Pair of BalancedForce212's
    ML No536|BAT Rex II Pre
    VPI Avenger Plus w/ Transfiguration Proteus/VTL TP6.5
    Esoteric D-02X|Esoteric P-02X|Aurender N100H
    MIT Oracle SC and IC
    Transparent Reference Power

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Berlin, CT
    Posts
    250

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by gadawg View Post
    No doubt we all have our own biased opinions and mine is certainly no less biased than most I had suggested the Levinson amps as he already has the matching Levinson Preamp and the synergy of those components is quite good. To start swapping out everything close to his budget could lead to more of a lateral move than a definitive upgrade. Just my 2c and not worth much more!

    Dawg, I hope I didn't upset folks with my statement, but as we all know we bought our gear, because we love it. It works for us and most will recommend what we own. It's not a bad thing either as folks can follow peoples posts and what we like and don't like.

    I stated similar to you IRT keeping your electronics the same. Synergy is the most important thing for electronics. This is why I personally wish we had more active speakers. I missed the fact that he said he has the matching preamp. The only caution I have is that Levinson has changed their designers often over the years. It's mostly been by committee. If he gets a new amp, it probably isn't as similar to the older preamp, so the synergy may not be there. It's just something to think about as another variable.

    This is why it's so important to bet an amp into his system to see how it works.

    If I was in OP's situation, I'd think amp LAST. The Preamp is the most important piece of the puzzle. So many think that changing amps is the best way to go, when in fact, if you aren't getting what you want, look at the pre first. I was at Ayre last summer and visiting with friends there who talked about preamp over amp. WE then went into the listening area and they showed me. I've felt that all along and after that demonstration, to me, it's the reality.
    System:
    Vandersteen Quatro CT
    Ayre AX5/20
    The Memory Player with built in DAC and headphone amp built in on order
    AQ Niagara 1000 power device
    Audioquest William Tell bi wire speaker cable
    Wireworld 8 optical cable into the Empirical Audio Synchro Mesh from the TV and Blueray to reclock
    Wireworld Platnium 8 ethernet cables into the EMO 70e ethernet filter into The Memory Player from Eero mesh router
    All routers, cable box and synchro mesh powered by the Wyred4sound LPS box with separate supplies for each
    Audioquest power outlets and four dedicated power lines in the room
    ZMF Ori headphones with the Audioarts 15' Pono balanced cable for the QX5/20
    Empire Ears Phantom CIEM's
    Rhapsodio 2.98 mk2 gold plated silver cable for Phantom

  16. #16

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ctsooner View Post
    Dawg, I hope I didn't upset folks with my statement, but as we all know we bought our gear, because we love it. It works for us and most will recommend what we own. It's not a bad thing either as folks can follow peoples posts and what we like and don't like.

    I stated similar to you IRT keeping your electronics the same. Synergy is the most important thing for electronics. This is why I personally wish we had more active speakers. I missed the fact that he said he has the matching preamp. The only caution I have is that Levinson has changed their designers often over the years. It's mostly been by committee. If he gets a new amp, it probably isn't as similar to the older preamp, so the synergy may not be there. It's just something to think about as another variable.

    This is why it's so important to bet an amp into his system to see how it works.

    If I was in OP's situation, I'd think amp LAST. The Preamp is the most important piece of the puzzle. So many think that changing amps is the best way to go, when in fact, if you aren't getting what you want, look at the pre first. I was at Ayre last summer and visiting with friends there who talked about preamp over amp. WE then went into the listening area and they showed me. I've felt that all along and after that demonstration, to me, it's the reality.
    Hey ... I can't imagine anyone gettin upset with your post! Totally valid for sure! Of note and the reason I suggested he might want to consider the newer Levinson amps is that he has the newer matching preamp already that was designed by the same team led by Todd E who came to Harman from Krell several years ago and both his 526 and the 534 or 536 have the same general architecture. I had the 526 in my room for a while with the 536s and they do work really well. I just opted for a tube front end recently after trying several different preamps and found one that worked well with those amps. And I certainly agree that without the ability to do extensive testing you can often get best results matching gear. Cheers!

    George
    Wilson Audio Alexx|Pair of BalancedForce212's
    ML No536|BAT Rex II Pre
    VPI Avenger Plus w/ Transfiguration Proteus/VTL TP6.5
    Esoteric D-02X|Esoteric P-02X|Aurender N100H
    MIT Oracle SC and IC
    Transparent Reference Power

  17. #17

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ctsooner View Post

    ....

    If I was in OP's situation, I'd think amp LAST. The Preamp is the most important piece of the puzzle. So many think that changing amps is the best way to go, when in fact, if you aren't getting what you want, look at the pre first. I was at Ayre last summer and visiting with friends there who talked about preamp over amp. WE then went into the listening area and they showed me. I've felt that all along and after that demonstration, to me, it's the reality.
    If you are correct and one's preamp is just a switch box (just an analog bypass box), then the most important equipment is the DAC feeding the switch box (preamp).

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    13

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    I use a darTZeel NHB-108 which I am a huge fan of. A used one might not be to far outside your budget...

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,613

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    MEP, nothing wrong with my current amp, it replaced a Pass X250. It's not like I have to upgrade or unhappy. The JBL's seem to sound better with some volume to them, I was wondering if an amp with higher current would get them off the ground better at lower volumes. The 532h is a very good amp, differentially balanced, yet a different design than typical Levinson amps,, it's not exactly a high current amp. I find it to be nicely flat and accurate, it doesn't add anything, shows the difference in bass response between recordings etc. I'm just sort of exploring, so far it seems many of the complaints on pricing is warranted. Sometimes looking over the fence helps you realize your yard is fine, LOL

    Guys, the only thing I was exploring was a possible amp change. I love the 526, it has a much nicer sound than the 326, IMO. I do try to follow same brand and keep with brands that have synergy.

    I actually have a Coda CSX, it is a good amp if looking for solid state leaning toward a tube sound. In my system the 532h is better/preferred. My friend has a couple of the Coda Class A amps, I forgot the model, they are great amps, just don't think they are what I am looking for. Good suggestion though.

    I read a review on the Constellation 1.0, the reviewer had Levinson amps for comparison and Revel Salons. I didn't like his impressions on the 1.0 bass response but in the end it was his preferred amp to listen to. I'll have to track Constellation down at my next audio show.

    The Luxman M700u is worth a listen as well, good reviews. It doesn't look to be balanced though. It has XLR inputs but not differentially designed.
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  20. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    17,201

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by JeremyMTB View Post
    I use a darTZeel NHB-108 which I am a huge fan of. A used one might not be to far outside your budget...
    Welcome to the forum.
    Wharfedale Linton w/ stands, Avantgarde Duo XD, Klipsch RB-75, Klipsch RP-160M.

    Luxman 590AXII (incoming), Job INTegrated

    Conrad Johnson GAT2, Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2, Misho Myronov Wooden pre.

    Misho Myronov Wooden amp, First Watt SIT-3 (x 2 - one as backup), First Watt F7 (incoming), Job 250 Monos, Valvet E2se, NuForce STA200, AkitikA GT-102 amp, ASL Wave monos, Dennis Had 45 monos.

    RME Audio ADI-2 DAC FS, Lumin U1 mini, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, Audio Mirror Tubadour III NOS R2R Tube Dac w/ SE upgrades.

    Burmester 948, McIntosh MCLK12, Kimber Kable, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Berlin, CT
    Posts
    250

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by nicoff View Post
    If you are correct and one's preamp is just a switch box (just an analog bypass box), then the most important equipment is the DAC feeding the switch box (preamp).
    It's a heck of a lot more than a switch box as we all know. Even the best ever pre amps still add or subtract to the sound. If what you said was true, then it wouldn't matter what preamp you use, correct?

    In addition, if the DAC was more important, then I'd say it's the source since that's where it all starts. If it's not in the original signal...... I also trust the designers who also make and sell the amps and DAC's and streamers when they say it's the preamp. I've also heard the same when auditioning systems since the early 70's.
    System:
    Vandersteen Quatro CT
    Ayre AX5/20
    The Memory Player with built in DAC and headphone amp built in on order
    AQ Niagara 1000 power device
    Audioquest William Tell bi wire speaker cable
    Wireworld 8 optical cable into the Empirical Audio Synchro Mesh from the TV and Blueray to reclock
    Wireworld Platnium 8 ethernet cables into the EMO 70e ethernet filter into The Memory Player from Eero mesh router
    All routers, cable box and synchro mesh powered by the Wyred4sound LPS box with separate supplies for each
    Audioquest power outlets and four dedicated power lines in the room
    ZMF Ori headphones with the Audioarts 15' Pono balanced cable for the QX5/20
    Empire Ears Phantom CIEM's
    Rhapsodio 2.98 mk2 gold plated silver cable for Phantom

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Berlin, CT
    Posts
    250

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Guys, quick question....how do I change my signature? I can't find the link for some reason. Thanks.
    System:
    Vandersteen Quatro CT
    Ayre AX5/20
    The Memory Player with built in DAC and headphone amp built in on order
    AQ Niagara 1000 power device
    Audioquest William Tell bi wire speaker cable
    Wireworld 8 optical cable into the Empirical Audio Synchro Mesh from the TV and Blueray to reclock
    Wireworld Platnium 8 ethernet cables into the EMO 70e ethernet filter into The Memory Player from Eero mesh router
    All routers, cable box and synchro mesh powered by the Wyred4sound LPS box with separate supplies for each
    Audioquest power outlets and four dedicated power lines in the room
    ZMF Ori headphones with the Audioarts 15' Pono balanced cable for the QX5/20
    Empire Ears Phantom CIEM's
    Rhapsodio 2.98 mk2 gold plated silver cable for Phantom

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    2,869

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Under settings.
    Main - JVC QL-Y7/Denon DL-301 Mk II, Gold Note PH-10, Nuprime CDT-8, Auralic Aries G1, Aqua La Voce S3, Supratek Chardonnay, Van Alstine Vision SET-400, Fritz Carrera Be, (2) Rythmik F12SE, Audio Envy IC's & PC's, Triode Wire Lab PC's, USB & SC's, PS Audio Stellar P3, PI Audio Uberbuss, Timbernation rack

    Family Room - Oppo UDP-203, Teac NT-505, Audia Flight FL Three S, Reynaud Abscisse Jubilee, (2) Rythmik F-12G, Audio Sensibility SC & IC's, Neotech PC's, SurgeX SA-1810

  24. #24

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ctsooner View Post
    It's a heck of a lot more than a switch box as we all know. Even the best ever pre amps still add or subtract to the sound. If what you said was true, then it wouldn't matter what preamp you use, correct?
    ...,
    Actually, the manufacturer of the preamp says that in bypass mode their preamp is just like a connector wire. So I am using the manufacturer’s representation.

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Berlin, CT
    Posts
    250

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by nicoff View Post
    Actually, the manufacturer of the preamp says that in bypass mode their preamp is just like a connector wire. So I am using the manufacturer’s representation.
    I'm only talking about using a preamp as a preamp in a stereo configuration. I'm only discussing using the preamp as a stereo preamp and not bypassing it as that's not what a preamp is for in a stereo system. Home theater, sure, but not audio as we are discussion.
    System:
    Vandersteen Quatro CT
    Ayre AX5/20
    The Memory Player with built in DAC and headphone amp built in on order
    AQ Niagara 1000 power device
    Audioquest William Tell bi wire speaker cable
    Wireworld 8 optical cable into the Empirical Audio Synchro Mesh from the TV and Blueray to reclock
    Wireworld Platnium 8 ethernet cables into the EMO 70e ethernet filter into The Memory Player from Eero mesh router
    All routers, cable box and synchro mesh powered by the Wyred4sound LPS box with separate supplies for each
    Audioquest power outlets and four dedicated power lines in the room
    ZMF Ori headphones with the Audioarts 15' Pono balanced cable for the QX5/20
    Empire Ears Phantom CIEM's
    Rhapsodio 2.98 mk2 gold plated silver cable for Phantom

AudioShark - The Best High End Audio Discussion forum.

AudioShark forum is a leading forum site for High End Audio Discussion, Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater System Discussion, Best Home Stereo System Discussion, Home Theater Installation Discussion etc.

The AudioShark forum was created for sharing the passion of high-end Audio. We have Audiophiles from all over the world participating and sharing their knowledge. From novice to experts, you will find a friendly environment for discussing about High End Audio, Stereo System, Home Theater System, Home Stereo System, Home Theater Installation, Amplifiers, Speakers, Subwoofers, Integrated System, Acoustic treatments & Digital Room Corrections and many more.

At AudioShark, we also have incorporated an exciting Marketplace where members can peruse terrific buys on used gear, as well as meet dealers and discuss the purchase of new gear.

We are as crazy about this hobby as you are! So come on in and join us! Audioshark.org the Friendliest Audio Forum!

Industry Participation Disclosure : The owner and administrator of Audioshark is the owner of Suncoast Audio LLC in Sarasota Florida. Suncoast Audio has a full brick and mortar presence in Sarasota with several great show rooms with many world class brands. More information can be found at http://www.suncoastaudio.com

Audioshark is a community of like minded individuals. Audioshark welcomes participation from all manufacturers and owners of all brands and products. It is our belief that online forums provide a community of like minded audiophiles and music lovers to encourage the growth of this wonderful hobby.

Sincerely,
The Audioshark.org Team

Amp Opinions?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •