Amp Opinions? Amp Opinions?
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Amp Opinions?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,604
    Post Thanks / Like

    Amp Opinions?

    Sound quality is subjective I know but I thought I'd throw this out for discussion.

    I currently use the Levinson 532h which is my sweet spot personally for amp sound, pretty much. I would like to have a high current amp but the next Levinson is $20k. The 532h uses banks of smaller capacitors for quick response but isn't actually high current like typical Levinson.

    When I say sweet spot, I like a quick amp with control but not sterile. Like control with micro/macro dynamics. Pass is too polite for example, although I do like Pass. Bryston is some dry and seems to lack the micro/macro I like. These are my opinions, both good amps. On paper D'Agostino would meet this but I have yet to hear the same characters personally as stated in reviews.

    Here's the question, is there any power amps under $10k that is high current and would be some upgrade from the 532h? Like a Levinson without the name. I know some may not even be a Levinson fan but this is all from my perspective, smile. Also, not meaning to start any arguments over amps but if I didn't give my opinion you wouldn't have a reference for a personal enough suggestion.
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  2. Thanks gshelley thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4,634
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    AVM MA 8.2 perhaps.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “Life’s too short to listen to bad audio.”

    Big rig: Brinkmann Taurus DD TT + 12.1 arm + Lyra Etna Lambda SL MC + HRS M3X2/ Cardas Clear Beyond phono/ Stillpoints LPI/ Soulution 520 preamp with phono/ Synology NAS with Roon + HD Plex linear PSU + Shunyata HD/ AQ Vodka RJ45 + Aqvox Network Switch SE + AQ Diamond RJ45 into DAC/ Brinkmann Nyquist MK II/ Soulution 511/ WyWires Platinum ICs/ Semi-active Lansche Audio 4.2 LS/ Inakustik Reference LS 4004 AIR/ 2x Audioquest Thunder HD for LS/ Audioquest Niagara 5000/ Shunyata AlphaHC (x2)+Alpha+Alpha Analogue+Alpha Digital/ Finite Elemente Pagode/ Stillpoints Ultra SS.

    Small rig: Naim UnitiServe/ Curious USB/ Tidal/ Linn Klimax DS3/ Shunyata Power cable/ Pass Labs INT-60/ Acoustic Zen Silver Reference II/ HiD Diamond 8/ Harbeth 30.2 40th Anniversary/ Shunyata Venom EU7 & Venom 3 HD.

    HP rig: MacBookAir/ Tidal/ Auralic Gemini 2000/ Sbooster LPSU/ Audeze LCD-2 Classic + WyWires Red/ Shunyata HD/ Shunyata Hydra 2/ Shunyata Venom.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Constellation Inspiration perhaps. It might be a couple of grand above but it seems one of the unbelievable bargains in high end audio.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Turntable: VPI Prime - Hana SL cart - VPI ADS
    Phono preamp: ASR Basis Exclusive phono stage
    Preamp: VAC Amplification Signature MkIIa SE
    Amplifier: Bryston 4B3
    Speakers: Neat Acoustics SX1
    Power conditioning- Shunyata Research Triton v1
    Power cord- Shunyata Research/Nordost
    Interconnects- Transparent Audio Super Gen 5 XLR and tonearm cable / Audio Art IC3SE XLR
    Solid Tech Reference rack

  5. Likes Mr Peabody liked this post
  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Iowa City, IA
    Posts
    179
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Parasound JC5
    Morgan

    ROOM
    21’4” x 12’10” x 8’8” w/GIK Acoustics treatments
    SPEAKERS KEF Blade 2
    AMPLIFICATION Pass Labs X250.8, Cary SLP-05 w/Ultimate Upgrade
    DIGITAL Marantz SA-10, Bluesound Node 2, Intel NUC Roon Core
    VINYL EAT C-Sharp, Hana SL, EAT E-Glo S w/LPS
    POWER AudioQuest Niagara 5000 on dedicated 20 amp/10 gauge circuit
    WIRES AudioQuest William Tell, Earth, Leopard, Tornado
    RESONANCE/ISOLATION Nordost Sort Kones - BC & AC, Herbie's Giant Decoupling Gliders

  7. #5
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,616
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Luxman M700u. With your speakers, you don’t need any more power.

    Frankly, if it was ME, based on your desired characteristics, I would look at a NAIM system. NAIM is super dynamic, super FAST, musical, 3D, never fatiguing.

    Since you have such efficient speakers, you could look at:

    SuperNAIT 3 with a HiCAP DR.

    Strongly recommend a NAIM source to go with it and don’t forget you need NAIM speaker cables!

    One last suggestion: SimAudio 760A


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  8. Likes the professor, Mr Peabody liked this post
  9. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,604
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Kuoppis View Post
    AVM MA 8.2 perhaps.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Looks like $32k and I'm not sure if that's for a pair. I don't have it like that, LOL But if someone was to gift me a pair...……
    Thanks for the reply though.
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  10. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    1,604
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    I like Naim, really don't want to change most of the system. Sim, to me, has even more of that Canadian house sound than Bryston.

    I will look at the Luxman. I got the impression from comments Luxman leaned some polite. Does T+A have anything that fits the criteria?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Luxman M700u. With your speakers, you don’t need any more power.

    Frankly, if it was ME, based on your desired characteristics, I would look at a NAIM system. NAIM is super dynamic, super FAST, musical, 3D, never fatiguing.

    Since you have such efficient speakers, you could look at:

    SuperNAIT 3 with a HiCAP DR.

    Strongly recommend a NAIM source to go with it and don’t forget you need NAIM speaker cables!

    One last suggestion: SimAudio 760A


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Aurender ACS10 w/AQ Diamond,
    Mark Levinson #526 & 532h, JBL 4367's
    Clearaudio Performance DC w/Maestro cart
    All Clarus Crimson cabling, AC to binding post. Surgex
    HT: Marantz AV8003, Linn 5125, JBL SAM3ha, Revel s30,
    SVS PC13 Ultra
    Transparent, Analysis Plus & Tributaries. PS Audio filtering
    Sony XBR-75X940D & BDP

  11. #8
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    25,616
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Nope. Nothing from T+A in your budget range.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Aqua Hi-Fi, Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Boulder Amplifiers, Bowers & Wilkins (B&W), Bryston, Chord, EMM Labs, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Furutech, Fyne Audio Loudspeakers, GigaFoil, Gryphon Audio, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Hegel, HiFi Man, ISO Acoustics, Keces Power Supplies, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MSB Technologies, MySonicLabs Phono Cartridges, Naim Audio, Ortofon, Pass Labs, Quadraspire, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, SimAudio, Stein Music Products, Stenheim Loudspeakers, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, VAC, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries, WireWorld Cables.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  12. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida
    Posts
    2,862
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    Might be worth looking at the two new Coda amplifiers. Terry London reviewed the #8 last year and the review of the newer #16 should be out shortly.

    https://hometheaterreview.com/coda-t...reo-amplifier/
    Main - JVC QL-Y7/Denon DL-301 Mk II, Gold Note PH-10, Nuprime CDT-8, Auralic Aries G1, Aqua La Voce S3, Supratek Chardonnay, Van Alstine Vision SET-400, Fritz Carrera Be, (2) Rythmik F12SE, Audio Envy IC's & PC's, Triode Wire Lab PC's, USB & SC's, PS Audio Stellar P3, PI Audio Uberbuss, Timbernation rack

    Family Room - Oppo UDP-203, Teac NT-505, Audia Flight FL Three S, Reynaud Abscisse Jubilee, (2) Rythmik F-12G, Audio Sensibility SC & IC's, Neotech PC's, SurgeX SA-1810

  13. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,913
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amp Opinions?

    So what’s the matter with your current amp?
    Micro Seiki SX-8000 air bearing table, SME 312s arm, SME 3012R arn, Dynavector XV-1s cartridge, Lyra Etna SL cartridge, ARC Ref 3 phono stage, Otari MX-55 2 track R2R, Ampex 350 tape repros, Roon Nucleus Plus music server, PS Audio DSJ DAC, ARC Ref 6, ARC Ref 75 with KT-150s, JBL 4345 speakers, Viero Equilibro Level 3 speaker cables, and Definitive Technology Ref subs.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •