Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,924
    Post Thanks / Like

    Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    Shunyata has introduced a new type of power cord, the Zytron Alpha Digital, that in addition to providing the usual Shunyata goodness to power also acts as a filter to noise generated by digital gear. It is designed for digital file players, DACs, and CD players.


    "As the name implies, the Alpha Digital power cord was developed by Caelin Gabriel to target and measurably reduce the extreme high-frequency noise generated by all types of digital electronics, whether in audio or video applications. The noise reducing property of the Alpha Digital is so significant that this can be objectively measured using a Power Analyzer. More importantly, even a brief evaluation will yield an unmistakable, dramatic improvement in sound or video."


    Shunyata Research: Products: Signal Cables: Zitron Alpha Digital


    Two weeks ago I received a Zytron Alpha for my Bryston BDP-1 digital file player (a single purpose Linux based computer). Since at the same time I also purchased a Shunyata Cyclops power conditioner for my amps, along with an Anaconda power cable for the Cyclops, I installed the Alpha on my Blueray player. I wanted to evaluate the Cyclop's effect on my amps without having another variable in the equation. Last night I was comfortable enough with the two-channel sound to move the Alpha onto the Bryston in the two-channel system.


    Anyway, the only thing I can say here is WOW! This power cable is freaking, fracking, f**king awesome! I cannot believe the improvement I am hearing. I literally stayed up last night until 10 AM this morning listening to this cable. Previously, I had a Zytron Cobra on the Bryston, and it is no slouch, but the Alpha far exceeds it.


    I have to steal a phrase used in a review of the Bryston BDA-2 DAC where the reviewer stated the BDA-2 removed a 'digital haze' from the music, a haze that wasn't apparent until it was gone. While I also noticed that when I upgraded to the BDA-2, I have to say this Alpha cable takes that a step further. I spent hours last night listening to rock songs ripped from CDs of varying recording quality, and without exception they all sounded better. A lot better. There is a greatly reduced glare, and I am able to crank these tunes while not experiencing fatigue from listening at these high levels. Currently, I am in classical mode, and the instruments are just coming out of a deep, silent background. It's just amazing.


    I do have to admit I am a bit disappointed in that this once again points out that everything can be improved. I am at a pretty good level at this time with cabling and power, and really could not imagine it being much better. Wrong. This one cable has made an incredible positive improvement. So much so that I am going to order another for the DAC, and maybe the Blueray player.


    I admit I do sound like a broken record when it comes to praising Shunyata, but that is only because their gear works. I have never felt buyers remorse after spending money on their products since every one has been a step up. While it is possible other cable vendors might accidentally stumble onto a working product, I will continue putting my money into a company that uses science and solid engineering in their design, and has no problem with explaining how their cables work. There is no voodoo here, just solid engineering. From the low cost Venom and into the more expensive cables, each cable, and power conditioner, I have purchased has been amazing.


    Two thumbs up for the Zytron Alpha Digital power cord.
    Bud

    Lumin S1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    Bud, great stuff. I was just thinking about pc's today as one of my friends mentioned maybe an upgrade from my Z Cobras to the Pythons. This is something that gets my attention.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3,656
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    Bud, thank you for posting. Seems like Shunyata is on a hot streak!


    Allen

    Speakers: Magico S7
    Amp: CH Precision A1
    Preamp: Trinity Preamp
    Phono: Trinity Phono
    TT: Kronos Sparta, Helena arm, Airtight PC-1
    Cables: Various: Nordost, Shunyata, Unity Audio, Ansuz



  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast / N. Texas
    Posts
    3,135
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    This is great.

    Thank you for sharing.
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Lumin U1, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Gryphon Diablo 300 w DAC, Raidho D5, 2 Magico QSub15s, Shunyata Sigma IC/SC/PCs, Denali/Typhon.

    Workshop: Lumin U1/Ayre QX-5/20, Border Patrol Pre and Power, Volti Vittora w Volti subs, Triode Wire Labs IC/SC, Shunyata Triton V3/Sigma PCs.

    For Sale:

  5. #5
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    22,257
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    I would love to try this cable! Anything that can help improve digital....
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bryston, Chord, ClearAudio Turntables & Accessories, Constellation Audio, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Furutech, Gryphon Audio, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, JL Audio, KEF Loudspeakers, Kimber Kable, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, KR Audio Tube & Amps, Kronos, Lampizator, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MicroMega, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Ortofon, Pass Labs, PS Audio, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, Siltech, Solid Tech Racks, Sony, SRA, Stein Music, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, Tannoy Loudspeakers, Transfiguration Cartridges, Trenner & Friedl, Triode Corporation of Japan, VAC, Verity Audio Speakers, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,027
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    I'm ordering the Alpha for my Bryston BDP-2.
    _______________

    Mike

  7. #7
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    22,257
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    I received my Alpha Digital power cord (thank you Jock!!) about a week ago and I am beyond impressed with the Shunyata Alpha Digital power cord. It seemed to widen the sound stage - a lot - quieter backgrounds which has led to a nice softening (in a good way) of any digital edge. It just makes my DAC sound less mechanical and more musical. Very happy with this purchase. Two thumbs up!

    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bryston, Chord, ClearAudio Turntables & Accessories, Constellation Audio, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Furutech, Gryphon Audio, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, JL Audio, KEF Loudspeakers, Kimber Kable, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, KR Audio Tube & Amps, Kronos, Lampizator, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MicroMega, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Ortofon, Pass Labs, PS Audio, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, Siltech, Solid Tech Racks, Sony, SRA, Stein Music, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, Tannoy Loudspeakers, Transfiguration Cartridges, Trenner & Friedl, Triode Corporation of Japan, VAC, Verity Audio Speakers, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3,656
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    I received my Alpha Digital power cord (thank you Jock!!) about a week ago and I am beyond impressed with the Shunyata Alpha Digital power cord. It seemed to widen the sound stage - a lot - quieter backgrounds which has led to a nice softening (in a good way) of any digital edge. It just makes my DAC sound less mechanical and more musical. Very happy with this purchase. Two thumbs up!

    That's what I hear with my Anaconda. Awesome PC. Need to get an Alpha PC one day.


    Allen

    Speakers: Magico S7
    Amp: CH Precision A1
    Preamp: Trinity Preamp
    Phono: Trinity Phono
    TT: Kronos Sparta, Helena arm, Airtight PC-1
    Cables: Various: Nordost, Shunyata, Unity Audio, Ansuz



  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oregon Coast / N. Texas
    Posts
    3,135
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    I replaced a Zitron Anaconda with the Alpha Digital on my Linn Klimax and the difference was amazing. It was a total transformation. I haven't found any downside at all. I've had it about 3 weeks now.

    Simply amazing since it replaced a great cable three times the price. Shunyata could easily charge a lot more for the Alpha Digital.

    Designing the cable specifically for digital components is brilliant.

    I love a company that continues to make better and better cables and charge appropriately for them and not just charge more because they can. Truly reputable company. Thank you Caelin and Grant.


    Quote Originally Posted by socfan12 View Post
    That's what I hear with my Anaconda. Awesome PC. Need to get an Alpha PC one day.
    Jock

    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity, nothing else matters.

    ---------

    House: Lumin U1, Studer A80/Doshi V3, Gryphon Diablo 300 w DAC, Raidho D5, 2 Magico QSub15s, Shunyata Sigma IC/SC/PCs, Denali/Typhon.

    Workshop: Lumin U1/Ayre QX-5/20, Border Patrol Pre and Power, Volti Vittora w Volti subs, Triode Wire Labs IC/SC, Shunyata Triton V3/Sigma PCs.

    For Sale:

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,924
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review - Shunyata Zytron Alpha Digital power cord

    A few weeks ago I added an Alpha to my DAC (Bryston BDA-2) to complement the Alpha on my file player (Bryston BDP-1) I reviewed at the start of this thread. This Alpha did not have the knock-me-over sonic effect as did the first Alpha. Rather, it lowered the background noise even more. Music appears from nowhere, and the locations of instruments and vocals are more clearly delimited in the soundstage. Basically, what I experienced with Alpha 1 is now better with Alpha 2.


    Another benefit here is the ZCobra it replaced has moved into my HT/surround system, and replaced the Venom on that BDP-1.


    A drawback to these cables is they are making me wonder if my speakers (Aerial Acoustics 7T) are sufficient for this level of detail. I might be imagining it, but at loud levels I 'feel' I am hearing cabinet distortion in the background of the music. Now I have myself convinced I need to upgrade to Magico Q3 speakers. Thank god my rationale side is still momentarily in control.
    Bud

    Lumin S1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast