Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions - Page 2
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 96
  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    15,004
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Welcome to the forum, thank you for joining.
    Joe

    JBL L100 (orange), Luxman MQ-300, JBL 4312SE 70th Anniversary,
    Pass XA25, McIntosh MCLK12, Job INTegrated, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Revel Studio 2, JBL 4312D, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber Kables, Siltech, Cardas, Avanti Audio cables, Burmester 948, Linear Tube Audio MZ2, Bricasti M1SE, Naim Supernait 2, Lumin U1 mini.

  2. Thanks vinci92 thanked for this post
    Likes vinci92 liked this post
  3. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,234
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by vinci92 View Post
    As you can see in the picture, I already use an optical bridge: Two TP-Link MC200CM (Multi mode, not single mode MC210CS) with an optic duplex, allowing me to connect an isolated secondary router for my streamer from my HIFI dedicated electrical circuit and this without pollution = Optical conversion and back to Ethernet conversion.

    In my case, this new Lumin X1 optical port would allow me to eliminate my secondary network (and one TP-Link converter) for a purer sound.

    My only technical question: Do I really need a TL-SM311LM since my duplex cable is only one meter long?

    If I understand your network topology correctly, and if you buy an X1 in the future, yes you'd need the TL-SM311LM SFP (note: not tested yet) to be plugged into the X1 SFP port

    This way one of your MC200CM units can be eliminated. The other MC200CM to be used with X1 SFP needs to be changed from Force mode to Auto mode for connection to SFP. Your existing fiber cannot be used due to connector mismatch (and probably insufficient length). You would need a multi mode LC-SC duplex 50/125um fiber.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  4. Thanks vinci92 thanked for this post
    Likes vinci92 liked this post
  5. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Thank you very much for the valuable information. If I buy the X1, I'm going to proceed to a long-term comparison between my current configuration and the TL-SM311LM SFP with the LC-SC duplex 50 / 125um. I will post all my impressions on this in this thread.
    Home:

    • Source: Lumin X1 (Optic Fiber Network Connectivity Bridged) 4 LPS The Linear Solution, OCXO Router, CLONES Cisco SG112-24 MOD, Synology DS817+ NAS, Minimserver, Samsung 850 EVO 4TB SSD. For Screen Musical Showings Only: Chord 2Qute
    • Amp: Primaluna Dialogue Premium HP
    • Speakers: Focal Scala Utopia
    • Headphones: Sennheiser 800 HD-S
    • Cables: 22' Transparent Musicwave Ultra Speaker Cables, 2 Furutech Power Flux, Flux-50 NFC Filter, Lineflux RCA, Optic Wireworld Supernova 7, Lavricable Master Silver Cord, Bis Powerbar, 8 DC & AC iFi iPurifiers, 4 Wireworld Starlight Cat8 Eth Cables, IsoTek EVO3 Titan Power Block, Entreq Tellus II Ground Box
    • Other: 15 Absortion Panels, IsoAccoustic OREA Pucks & GAIA, 12 Shakti Stones, 4 HRS DPX Damping Plates.

    Cottage:

    • Source: Lumin D1, FMC Optically Bridged/ROON
    • Amp: Pathos TT Aniversary
    • Speakers: Cabasse Altura Bahia
    • Headphones: Astell&Kern T8iE MK2 & Chord Mojo
    • Cables: Bis Maestro RCA, XLO Signature 3-10 PC, 4 iPurifiers, OREA Pucks

  6. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by wklie View Post
    Is Lumin the first to support fiber optic network in a network streamer? I think practically it is, excluding DIY products. If I'm not mistaken, MSB and Bel Canto use fiber for proprietary signal connections but not standard fiber optic network. (If I'm wrong please feel free to correct me.)

    Note: Fiber optic network is totally different from TOSLINK - these are different things. Audiophiles typically do not use toslink because it usually results in jitter unless your DAC does a good job to reclock it.
    Sorry Peter, I hate to say this but Lumin may not be the first to do this. I bought a streamer from Mivera called Superstream 2 yrs back which had ST fiber port. Its not a DIY product but he stopped producing anymore units.

    Having said this, I am curious to know if the Transceivers are native to the MAC or does it go through an internal FMC ?

    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,234
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Thanks for the info. The SFP socket is directly connected to our network hardware, so the answer is native.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  8. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    100
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Hi,
    sorry my stupid question but i'm very "new" with streamer&music server....
    Peter can you plaese say me as is to be connected the Mini 1x 10/100/1000Base to the router? i need 2 pcs.? what gove me this "operation" really in my system?
    thank you very much for your understanding..
    b rgds

  9. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,234
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    I'm sure the question is not stupid, but I'm not sure I understand your question. Anyway, to upgrade from S1 to X1 it's a drop-in replacement with no other required changes, including your existing Ethernet setup.

    Only if you want to try the optical network, and your WiFi router has 1000Mbps gigabit Ethernet port, then you can try the configuration in post #3. With the X1, you only need one FMC and one SFP, not two. The router is connected to the FMC via an Ethernet cable, and the FMC is connected to the SFP plugged into X1 via a duplex fiber.
    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

  10. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    Quote Originally Posted by wklie View Post

    Only if you want to try the optical network, and your WiFi router has 1000Mbps gigabit Ethernet port, then you can try the configuration in post #3. With the X1, you only need one FMC and one SFP, not two. The router is connected to the FMC via an Ethernet cable, and the FMC is connected to the SFP plugged into X1 via a duplex fiber.
    Or better yet, get a switch with a SFP slot

    https://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Swit...+with+sfp+port

  11. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    I try to be sure about the configuration... Is it possible to know were the TL-SM311LS sould be connected (into the MC210CS ok into the X1)? Thank you!
    Home:

    • Source: Lumin X1 (Optic Fiber Network Connectivity Bridged) 4 LPS The Linear Solution, OCXO Router, CLONES Cisco SG112-24 MOD, Synology DS817+ NAS, Minimserver, Samsung 850 EVO 4TB SSD. For Screen Musical Showings Only: Chord 2Qute
    • Amp: Primaluna Dialogue Premium HP
    • Speakers: Focal Scala Utopia
    • Headphones: Sennheiser 800 HD-S
    • Cables: 22' Transparent Musicwave Ultra Speaker Cables, 2 Furutech Power Flux, Flux-50 NFC Filter, Lineflux RCA, Optic Wireworld Supernova 7, Lavricable Master Silver Cord, Bis Powerbar, 8 DC & AC iFi iPurifiers, 4 Wireworld Starlight Cat8 Eth Cables, IsoTek EVO3 Titan Power Block, Entreq Tellus II Ground Box
    • Other: 15 Absortion Panels, IsoAccoustic OREA Pucks & GAIA, 12 Shakti Stones, 4 HRS DPX Damping Plates.

    Cottage:

    • Source: Lumin D1, FMC Optically Bridged/ROON
    • Amp: Pathos TT Aniversary
    • Speakers: Cabasse Altura Bahia
    • Headphones: Astell&Kern T8iE MK2 & Chord Mojo
    • Cables: Bis Maestro RCA, XLO Signature 3-10 PC, 4 iPurifiers, OREA Pucks

  12. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,234
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lumin X1 Fiber Optic Network Discussions

    The TL-SM311LS is an SFP module and looks like this:



    The SFP is to be plugged into the Lumin X1. See the top-left part of the below image. The silver socket with some circular holes is the SFP socket. You see the SFP module (TL-SM311LS) inside the socket, and a silver part of the SFP module that extends outside the socket with an extraction lever. The SFP connects to a duplex fiber with a LC connector (blue). The other end of the fiber (not shown) is connected to a MC210CS.

    Peter Lie
    LUMIN Firmware Lead

 

 
Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast