Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.

Do I need a DAC or a new spinner?

I've been running the Oppo BDP-95 for a couple years now. Love the flexibility it provides for all sorts of disc-playing formats. However, I find that I tire of it's "digital" sound after even short listening sessions. I believe it uses the Sabre ES9018 chipset.

Can anyone recommend a "more analog sounding" DAC for under $2k that I could partner with the Oppo BDP-95? From what I understand, the Oppo has limitations on what it can output (PCM is really it) via it's optical or SPDIF interfaces.

I would use any new external DAC for CD listening only since I don't have a library of downloaded hi-rez files. Owning a handful of SACD's, I understand the Oppo outputs SACD via HDMI which most all DAC's I've found do not have, so that's not important for me to use.

Perhaps it makes sense to just find a different spinner with better on board DAC? I'm looking for a DAC that sounds as analog as the Lumin products do for streaming. Is this possible within my budget?
    Avanti Audio

arc sp-11 or ls27 | arc d130 | vpi classic 2 w/periphery ring w/Si3N4 bearing & sapphire thrust plate & 2x jmw 10.5i | phoenix engineering eagle & road runner | ortofon cadenza bronze, miyajima zero mono | sentec eq11 w/ Sylvania 5751 TMBP & CBS 7318 | auditorium a23 | canton ref 9 dc | 2x m&k v125 | oppo bdp-95 | chord qutest | lumin d1 & sbooster | avanti audio vivace cables

Re: Do I need a DAC or a new spinner?

Musical Paradise or maybe Border Patrol both under $1k.
    Main - JVC QL-Y7/Denon DL-301 Mk II, Gold Note PH-10, Jays CDT3 Mk3 , Auralic Aries G2.2, Holo May KTE, Supratek Cabernet, Kinki Studio EX-B7 monoblocks, Verity Audio Otello, (2) Rythmik F12SE, Audio Envy IC, SC & PC's, Triode Wire Lab PC's, Inakustik USB and I2S, (2) Puritan Audio Labs PSM-156 with Groundmaster City, Timbernation rack