Raidho X1 Review - Page 4
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 45
  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    I understand there are limitations, but I don't think I'm really pushing them. Yesterday I found another track with the same issue.
    It's called True from the True album of Yuri Honing Acoustic quartet. With these quiet songs (but low frequencies) it's very audible thus annoying...

  2. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    I have Raidho C-1.1s with a Devialet D200 and I have occasional problems when SAM is enabled. Some tracks have the occasional 'clunk' sound. It's similar to that sound you get if you hit a microphone attached to a PA. Usually tracks with extreme low frequencies are problematic (that may just be SAM protection kicking in) but also less bassy tracks - for instance Paul Simon 'Hearts and Minds' does it. With SAM off there's no problem, which makes me think the SAM profile may not be quite right. I'm also sceptical whether it's actually better with SAM on with the C-1.1s - there's not really a lot in it, but a tiny bit better with SAM on with most tracks.

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Burb of Chi-town
    Posts
    647
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Is the Sam you're using for the X1 or the C1.1? Did you get the stands for the X1 or are you using the stands from the C1.1? FWIW when I met Lars and Mike after the RMAF they mentioned doing an upgrade for the C1.1 to the C1.2. Same upgrade as the D series with the diamond driver. Since you have the same occasional with the C1.1 it makes me think Sam is pushing the driver a bit too hard.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rufus McDufus View Post
    I have Raidho C-1.1s with a Devialet D200 and I have occasional problems when SAM is enabled. Some tracks have the occasional 'clunk' sound. It's similar to that sound you get if you hit a microphone attached to a PA. Usually tracks with extreme low frequencies are problematic (that may just be SAM protection kicking in) but also less bassy tracks - for instance Paul Simon 'Hearts and Minds' does it. With SAM off there's no problem, which makes me think the SAM profile may not be quite right. I'm also sceptical whether it's actually better with SAM on with the C-1.1s - there's not really a lot in it, but a tiny bit better with SAM on with most tracks.
    George

    Aavik U300 - Raidho D3.1's in Walnut burl with black trim - Naim unitiserve 2tb - Ansuz DTC digital cable with power box - Ansuz Mainz D-TC with 1 Ansuz D-TC and 1 Ceramic V2 power cords - Ansuz Ceramic V2 speaker cables - Ansus X Ethernet - pARTicular Novus full suspension rack.

  4. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Hi, I should've made it clearer, I'm using the C-1.1 SAM profile with the C-1.1s and have the correct stands for them. I was just throwing my experience in there in case there was any similarity with the X-1 problem that Roestano has, who I'd thoroughly recommend trying the same tracks with SAM switched off to see if that narrows down the issue.

    SAM isn't perfect for all speakers. There have been some instances where owners report worse performance with SAM on, which might suggest some profiles aren't quite right, possibly differing components in speakers or whatnot. These instances are fairly rare though.

  5. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Hi Rufus, thnx for the info. My thoughts were also to lower SaM profile for instance at 50%. The fact is with Sam on they perform better in the low and high end. Even the dealer was impressed who uses the Aavik.
    Will report when tested without Sam.


    Quote Originally Posted by Rufus McDufus View Post
    Hi, I should've made it clearer, I'm using the C-1.1 SAM profile with the C-1.1s and have the correct stands for them. I was just throwing my experience in there in case there was any similarity with the X-1 problem that Roestano has, who I'd thoroughly recommend trying the same tracks with SAM switched off to see if that narrows down the issue.

    SAM isn't perfect for all speakers. There have been some instances where owners report worse performance with SAM on, which might suggest some profiles aren't quite right, possibly differing components in speakers or whatnot. These instances are fairly rare though.

  6. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Try it with SAM off too, just to confirm whether there's still clicking noises with it fully off. The SAM percentage alters the low frequency boost but even at 0% the SAM phase correction is still active (the phase correction is either on or off).
    I tend to use a low SAM percentage, usually about 10%, with the C-1.1s as it's a bit boomy with anything higher. The C-1.1s do have a powerful bass for their size though.

    [edit] though if one speaker is worse regardless of how it's connected to the amp left/right-wise then it sounds more likely to be the speakers, unless there's something to do with the position or stand making one speaker worse, which sounds unlikely.

  7. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Switched SAM off and indeed the issue is not audible, unless you stick your ear in the woofer. It seems SAM overdrives the units. Disadvantage is a lot less bass. So it now comes down to find a setting for my room, when the bass is still full without overdriving the woofer.
    One last question: I noticed the screws on the frontpanel had some turns left to tighten. Read somewhere one should tighten after burning in. Or is it supposed to be loose?

  8. #38
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    22,005
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Turn off the wifi on the Devialet as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bryston, Chord, ClearAudio Turntables & Accessories, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Furutech, Gryphon Audio, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, KEF Loudspeakers, Kimber Kable, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, KR Audio Tube & Amps, Kronos, Lampizator, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MicroMega, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Ortofon, Pass Labs, PS Audio, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, Siltech, Solid Tech Racks, SRA, Stein Music, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, Tannoy Loudspeakers, Transfiguration Cartridges, Trenner & Friedl, Triode Corporation of Japan, VAC, Verity Audio Speakers, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  9. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    And stream via cable? I read that AIR is the best quality....no???

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    Turn off the wifi on the Devialet as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #40
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    22,005
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Roestano View Post
    And stream via cable? I read that AIR is the best quality....no???
    Try it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bryston, Chord, ClearAudio Turntables & Accessories, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Furutech, Gryphon Audio, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, KEF Loudspeakers, Kimber Kable, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, KR Audio Tube & Amps, Kronos, Lampizator, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MicroMega, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Ortofon, Pass Labs, PS Audio, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, Siltech, Solid Tech Racks, SRA, Stein Music, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, Tannoy Loudspeakers, Transfiguration Cartridges, Trenner & Friedl, Triode Corporation of Japan, VAC, Verity Audio Speakers, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

 

 
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast