Raidho X1 Review - Page 3
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 45
  1. #21
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    13,920
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Have you tried either swapping the speakers or the cables to see if the problem follows the speaker? That should give you a hint where the problem is. If both speakers end up doing it, you could be overloading them.


    Quote Originally Posted by Roestano View Post
    Just got my X1s in and they sound great. But there is one soundtrack Interstellar that i have an issue with. It seems too fast for the woofers. There is a ticking sound like there is a piece of paper hitting the woofer. The right speaker makes this sound louder then the other. Does anyone experience the same problem?
    just try track Dreaming of the chase. Looking forward to your response..maybe its a defect on mine?
    Joe

    McIntosh MCLK12, Luxman C900u, Job INTegrated, Accuphase A-36, PS Audio BHK preamp, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, Revel Ultima Studio 2, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, PS Audio DirectStream DAC with Bridge II, Linear Tube Audio MZ2 - MicroZOTL2.0 Preamplifier.

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Yes, when switched places the sound remains the same for each speaker. So one woofer seems a little better in this situation. They both have the issue but only one is clearly audible. I'm sure it's not broken and will not be an issue in 98% of the music. But I cant help that the speaker is not perfect at this price point.
    That said, I wonder if returning the speaker will have better result? That's why Im curious wether anybody here has the same 'issue' with the Interstellar soundtrack

  3. #23
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    13,920
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    Is that song, Dreaming of the Crash?
    Joe

    McIntosh MCLK12, Luxman C900u, Job INTegrated, Accuphase A-36, PS Audio BHK preamp, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, Revel Ultima Studio 2, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, PS Audio DirectStream DAC with Bridge II, Linear Tube Audio MZ2 - MicroZOTL2.0 Preamplifier.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    yes, but other tracks also provide the problematic frequency in the low end

  5. #25
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    13,920
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    I think your speakers are fine. I just played that track and it has some powerful bass. Either you need a little more power or you are certainly overdriving your speakers, I'm sorry to say.

    I think you need bigger woofers or a subwoofer with proper crossover to handle that kind of music.

    Remember, those X-1's can't push that kind of air/volume from the smaller woofers.



    Quote Originally Posted by Roestano View Post
    yes, but other tracks also provide the problematic frequency in the low end
    Joe

    McIntosh MCLK12, Luxman C900u, Job INTegrated, Accuphase A-36, PS Audio BHK preamp, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, Revel Ultima Studio 2, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, PS Audio DirectStream DAC with Bridge II, Linear Tube Audio MZ2 - MicroZOTL2.0 Preamplifier.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    I have the devialet 220 pro driving them with SAM (low to medium volume), so that should not be the problem. Plus the issue is related to one of the pair. True, it is an extreme track. But what is your experience? Did your woofers have any 'mechanical' sounds?
    Thanks for the effort!

  7. #27
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    13,920
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    I'm using JBL 4367 at the moment with 15" woofers and an Accuphase A-36 amp with 30wpc class A. I get more bass than I deserve from that combo. I don't have Raidho speakers but am very familiar with their sound. Once you get over a certain SPL, you can experience what you are hearing. I never pushed Raidhos when I was loaned a pair and don't play loud anyway. I think you are reaching the limits of that combo. The fact that only one speaker does it could just be the way that it responds. Can you take them to your dealer to hear them on his system?
    Joe

    McIntosh MCLK12, Luxman C900u, Job INTegrated, Accuphase A-36, PS Audio BHK preamp, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, Revel Ultima Studio 2, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, PS Audio DirectStream DAC with Bridge II, Linear Tube Audio MZ2 - MicroZOTL2.0 Preamplifier.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    I think you are right. The sound is not high volume but the woofers still move quite extreme. When I use low volume and I damp the rubber rings a bit, the sound almost disappears leaving me to think that the rubbers make the sound. Come to think of it, my previous speakers made a familiar sound.

  9. #29
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    13,920
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    You can't escape physics.
    Joe

    McIntosh MCLK12, Luxman C900u, Job INTegrated, Accuphase A-36, PS Audio BHK preamp, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, Revel Ultima Studio 2, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, PS Audio DirectStream DAC with Bridge II, Linear Tube Audio MZ2 - MicroZOTL2.0 Preamplifier.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Austin, TX & Suburban Chicago
    Posts
    754
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Raidho X1 Review

    See RH's comments in his review of the beauty of this small box vs dynamic range.

    http://www.theabsolutesound.com/arti...1-loudspeaker/
    Le Roy

    Austin, Tx : Soulution 520 preamp, 501 mono blocks, 541 SACD/560 DAC w/ Network Streaming, Raidho D3.1, Lumin U1, Lampi Big 7 SE, Uptone Audio Modded Mac Mini w/ MMK fanless kit & JS-2 LPS, Regen, Ansuz Diamond Loom, Oppo 105D, QNAP TS-451+

    Chicagoland : Soulution 725 preamp, 711 stereo amp, 541 SACD/560 DAC w/ Network Streaming, Raidho D5.1, Naim UnitiServe 2TB, Ansuz d-tc Loom (complete), Teac X1000 R2R, QNAP TS-451+

    Foundation:
    Raidho Rack system, Ansuz (3) Mainz D8 Distribution, 20 amp dedicated outlets via subpanel

  11. Thanks joeinid thanked for this post
 

 
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast