Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    12,331
    Post Thanks / Like

    Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    Joe

    Job INTegrated, Triode Corporation TRX-M845 Monoblocks, Ayre MX-R Twenty monos, Accuphase A-36, Jolida Fusion 3502, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, Nord One UP NC500MB monos, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, Musical Paradise MP-D2 AK4490 XMOS BALANCED DAC DSD DOP 384Khz.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    127
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    Quote Originally Posted by joeinid View Post
    Some interesting philosophical questions he brings up, what is truth and neutrality in music reproduction.

    I'm beyond pleased with my STP-SE and likely will never need another linestage. Very interested to hear how the Level 2 upgrades compare.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
    Digital: LH Labs Source (someday...) + LH Labs Geek Pulse SFi
    Analogue: Audio Technica OC9ML/ii + Technics 1200SL + Nikko Beta 40 (phono only)
    Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE
    First Watt F6
    Focal 816VW Special Edition

  3. Likes joeinid liked this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    922
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    Impressive build quality and execution, especially considering the value offered at the price!

  5. Likes audiophil, joeinid liked this post
  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    922
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    Surprised to read that it's not truly passive though at the lower volume settings, which is how I've always heard it described. Nice of Srajan to point out that it uses discrete buffers on either side of its stepped attenuator matrix level control, which makes it technically an active (possibly zero gain) line stage in my book.

  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL 'The Hammock'
    Posts
    2,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    I think its their second review, here is the first one back in 2009 http://6moons.com/audioreviews/wyred2/preamp.html
    Chris

    (2 Chl): Vincent SP-331MKII , Pass xa30.5, W4S STP-SE ,Bryston BCD-1, Lumin D1 , Vapor Audio Breeze, VPI Classic 1, Manley Chinook, Dynavector DV20x2L.exaSound e22. ( computer) Win7, Synology DS413 NAS , ATI2002, Quicksilver LS, , KEf 201/2, Rythmik F12se. Cables: Acoustic Zen: GE Triton 2's, Denon4311, OPPO105.,

  8. Thanks joeinid thanked for this post
  9. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    12,331
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    My STP-SE is absolutely a stunning value. I love mine too.

    I am also very curious about the stage 2 upgrades, , not that I need them, , but have definitely wanted them for a long time.
    Joe

    Job INTegrated, Triode Corporation TRX-M845 Monoblocks, Ayre MX-R Twenty monos, Accuphase A-36, Jolida Fusion 3502, Cary 300B SE, JBL 4367, Falcon LS3/5a, Sonus Faber Stradivari, JBL 4312D, Klipsch Palladium P17-b, Klipsch RP-160M, Klipsch RB-75, KEF LS50, Nord One UP NC500MB monos, ModWright Ultimate Sony XA-5400ES, ASL Wave monos, Kimber RCA and XLR cable, VPI Classic 3, VPI SDS, Lyra Kleos, Burmester 948, Metric Halo LIO-8, Musical Paradise MP-D2 AK4490 XMOS BALANCED DAC DSD DOP 384Khz.

  10. Likes audiophil liked this post
  11. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL 'The Hammock'
    Posts
    2,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    Quote Originally Posted by joeinid View Post
    My STP-SE is absolutely a stunning value. I love mine too.

    I am also very curious about the stage 2 upgrades, , not that I need them, , but have definitely wanted them for a long time.
    I feel the same way about the "enhancement Stages" but I've never read what these upgrades provide for the music you hear, vs just being a whole lot better components.
    Chris

    (2 Chl): Vincent SP-331MKII , Pass xa30.5, W4S STP-SE ,Bryston BCD-1, Lumin D1 , Vapor Audio Breeze, VPI Classic 1, Manley Chinook, Dynavector DV20x2L.exaSound e22. ( computer) Win7, Synology DS413 NAS , ATI2002, Quicksilver LS, , KEf 201/2, Rythmik F12se. Cables: Acoustic Zen: GE Triton 2's, Denon4311, OPPO105.,

  12. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    922
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    I may be able to help you guys out considering the optional upgrades. I've had some passive line stages in the past (in my younger and more vulnerable years...) and I found the upgrade from Dale or Caddock resistors to Vishays to be quite significant. I experienced an enhanced level of transparency along with a much more seductively smooth and relaxed sound from the change, well worth the expense for an audiophile!

  13. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Palm Coast, FL 'The Hammock'
    Posts
    2,196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    Quote Originally Posted by audio.bill View Post
    I may be able to help you guys out considering the optional upgrades. I've had some passive line stages in the past (in my younger and more vulnerable years...) and I found the upgrade from Dale or Caddock resistors to Vishays to be quite significant. I experienced an enhanced level of transparency along with a much more seductively smooth and relaxed sound from the change, well worth the expense for an audiophile!
    Chris

    (2 Chl): Vincent SP-331MKII , Pass xa30.5, W4S STP-SE ,Bryston BCD-1, Lumin D1 , Vapor Audio Breeze, VPI Classic 1, Manley Chinook, Dynavector DV20x2L.exaSound e22. ( computer) Win7, Synology DS413 NAS , ATI2002, Quicksilver LS, , KEf 201/2, Rythmik F12se. Cables: Acoustic Zen: GE Triton 2's, Denon4311, OPPO105.,

  14. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Solana Beach, CA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Review: Wyred4Sound's STP-SE ....

    I have to agree about the Vishays. I have tried them in several different amps now, and am quite shocked at the large improvements, especially in transparency. At least as big a change as going from a cheap no name polypropylene capacitor to a good teflon cap (but the Vishays also sound more "natural" which teflon caps often don't to me). Can't imagine that the Vishays wouldn't make a significant improvement.
    Analog source: AMG Viella 12; Ortofon Anna cartridge
    Digital source: Totaldac d1-six-tube DAC, Totaldac server
    Pre amp: VAC Master with phono
    Amps: VAC 200iQ
    Speakers: Magico M3 with MPods
    Cables: Synergistic Research
    Power products: Synergistic Research Power Cell and Transporter Ultra

  15. Thanks audio.bill thanked for this post
 

 
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast