BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews - Page 3
Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,924
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by James Tanner - Bryston View Post
    Hi All,

    Here's a link to a folder containing user's manuals which I hope to keep reasonably up to date as Chris continues to make changes to the firmware. Let me know if there is information you think is missing or if particular explanations are unclear. Thanks all!

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/54y93ha7j...MAC9kgHf8CKAia
    At the end where it explains the front panel, it does not show how to turn the display off. Many people, like myself, despise lights on stereo, and HT, gear. I hope this upgrade does not break that function.
    Bud

    Lumin S1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  2. #22
    Audioshark
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    22,270
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    I have to admit, every time I hear the BDP/BDA setups at friends homes, I really enjoy it. If I didn't own a Lumin already, I would get the BDA-2/BDP-2 combo. Very musical and no computer required.
    My Systems: http://www.audioshark.org/showthread...481#post158481

    "We can hear everything we measure, but we can't measure everything we hear. Let your ears be your guide."

    Dealer for: Audio Research, Aurender, AudioQuest Cables & Power Products, Avantgarde Acoustics, Avid HiFi, Ayre Acoustics, Berkeley Audio Design, Bryston, Chord, ClearAudio Turntables & Accessories, Constellation Audio, Esoteric, FirstWatt, Focal Headphones, Harbeth Loudspeakers, Furutech, Gryphon Audio, iFi Audio, ISO Acoustics, JL Audio, KEF Loudspeakers, Kimber Kable, KL Audio Record Cleaning Machines, KR Audio Tube & Amps, Kronos, Lampizator, Lumin, Luxman, Magico Loudspeakers, MBL Speakers & Electronics, MicroMega, MIT Cables, MSB Technologies, Ortofon, Pass Labs, PS Audio, Quadraspire, Rega Turntables, Roon Labs, Shunyata Research, Siltech, Solid Tech Racks, Sony, SRA, Stein Music, Stillpoints, T+A Electronics, Tannoy Loudspeakers, Transfiguration Cartridges, Trenner & Friedl, Triode Corporation of Japan, VAC, Verity Audio Speakers, Vicoustics, Viva Audio, VPI Industries.

    https://suncoastaudio.com/
    Phone: 941-932-0282
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Suncoast-Au...1105178279194/

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    GTA Canada
    Posts
    773
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike View Post
    I have to admit, every time I hear the BDP/BDA setups at friends homes, I really enjoy it. If I didn't own a Lumin already, I would get the BDA-2/BDP-2 combo. Very musical and no computer required.
    Yes, two fantastic products from a fantastic company, bravo Bryston.


    Acoustical Systems, AMG, Audeze, Audio Desk, Audioquest, Auralic, Aurender, Avari custom phono preamps, Benz Micro, Bryston, CH Precision, Chord Electronics, Constellation Audio, Dynaudio, Focal, Grado Labs, Ikeda, JL Audio, Kimber, Kondo, Kronos, Kubala Sosna, Lyra, Luxman, Magico, Massif Audio Design, Musical Surroundings, Nordost, PS Audio, Shunyata, Sugden, Tenor, Tannoy, Vertere, VPI

    www.audiobymarkjones.ca

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    381
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Jones View Post
    Yes, two fantastic products from a fantastic company, bravo Bryston.
    +1 I started with the BDP-1, and graduated to the BDP-2. Very happy with both units. I change/chase the SOTA dacs to stay on top of the latest improvements. An easy system to deal with. I am having some issues with the newer large 3.0 flash drives though (Winten 3.0 drive.....128gb I believe). Maybe Mr. Tanner can chime in with some help in this matter. Otherwise, its been smooth sailing for several years.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,924
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    I upgraded my BDA-2 to an Auralic Vega DAC in anticipation of the new BDP firmware letting us play DSD files. Other than not being able to handle DSD, the BDA-2 is a great DAC, and is in my spare stereo/HT setup.
    Bud

    Lumin S1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1,783
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    MEMO: To All Bryston Customers
    SUBJECT: BDA-2 and BDP-2 Review

    July 2014

    Hi Folks,

    Review on the Bryston BDP-2 Digital Player and BDA-2 DAC combo.


    av2day.com » Blog Archive » Bryston BDP-2 Digital Media Player & BDA-2 DAC combo: ?Should I upgrade??


  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,924
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    James, when are you going to tell us how to get the Manic Moose upgrade? I try to read this and AA, and I do not remember seeing this published. Probably, a new thread specifically for this would be best. Thanks.
    Bud

    Lumin S1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1,783
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    <a href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/nf2uiwywmqe4yis/BDP%20Manic%20Moose%20Update.pdf">Firmware Install Instructions</a><br><br>

    If the above method doesn't work, try repeating it, <a href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/6demrr8wcn43gom/firmware20140430alt.bin">but with this file instead</a><br><br>
    <a href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/cyffqtuz9uw9qxl/Manic%20Moose%20Manual-S2.04_2014_06_19.pdf">User's Manual for Firmware Build from June 19</a><br><br>

    If the above instructions just don't work for installing Manic Moose,<a href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/705xrtxd1xulcw5/BDP%20Manual%20Manic%20Moose%20Install.pdf"> you can force it with these instructions.</a>Or call

    Bryston support for further assistance.

    gdayton@bryston.com

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,924
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    Quote Originally Posted by James Tanner - Bryston View Post
    <a rel="nofollow" href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/nf2uiwywmqe4yis/BDP%20Manic%20Moose%20Update.pdf">Firmware Install Instructions</a><br><br>

    If the above method doesn't work, try repeating it, <a rel="nofollow" href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/6demrr8wcn43gom/firmware20140430alt.bin">but with this file instead</a><br><br>
    <a rel="nofollow" href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/cyffqtuz9uw9qxl/Manic%20Moose%20Manual-S2.04_2014_06_19.pdf">User's Manual for Firmware Build from June 19</a><br><br>

    If the above instructions just don't work for installing Manic Moose,<a rel="nofollow" href="https://www.dropbox.com/s/705xrtxd1xulcw5/BDP%20Manual%20Manic%20Moose%20Install.pdf"> you can force it with these instructions.</a>Or call

    Bryston support for further assistance.

    gdayton@bryston.com
    Thanks. I managed to decipher those links.
    Bud

    Lumin S1
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD
    Pass XP-22 pre, X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers, SPOD spikes

    Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR source, Denali 2000 (2) for amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

    Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers
    Three 20 amp circuits.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1,783
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: BDA2 and BDP2 Reviews

    MEMO: To All Bryston Customers
    SUBJECT: Bryston BDP-2 Digital Player

    July 2014

    The Bryston won every A/B test with the expensive Audio Aero Player using the same (also expensive) DAC!

    Capture2.JPG

    Hidden away in Ste Sauveur, I am here with Jim from Tenor Audio listening off centre stage — and not missing three-dimensional imagery.

    A newly installed (connected) Bryston BDP-2 Digital player on the shelf; Audio Aero player preamp and WLM crossovers also visible.

    Nice stuff here . . . .

    Ernie Fisher
    Inner Ear Magazine

 

 
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast